New in OS X: Get MacRumors Push Notifications on your Mac

Resubscribe Now Close

Facebook Rolling Out New iOS Photo Sync Feature

Facebook is slowly rolling out a new Photo Sync feature to its iOS users that automatically uploads all photos taken on the iPhone to a private photo album on Facebook. The idea is to make it easier and faster for users to share photos with their friends.


TechCrunch has more on how it works:
Here’s how Facebook Photo Sync works, at least for those lucky enough to be in the test. You go to the Photos app in the Facebook For iOS app’s sidebar navigation or the photos section of your Timeline and scroll to the bottom. There you may find an option to check out Photo Sync and then enable it, as seen in this photo sent in by tipster YoloFahad (an Instagrammer-extraordinaire).

Facebook will then automatically upload photos you shoot to an unpublished album only you can see. From there you can authorize which photos you want posted.
Facebook's support site has much more about Photo Sync, as well. Facebook is using background uploads within the Facebook iOS app to move the photos, not anything special with location APIs or Apple's iOS 6 Facebook integration.

The app is very clear that all photos uploaded automatically are marked as private and cannot be viewed by others until specifically shared by the user. Users get 2 GB of complimentary photo storage.

Top Rated Comments

(View all)

25 months ago
No thanks.
Rating: 57 Votes
25 months ago
Big fat emphatic NO from me. I trust Facebook even less than i do Google!
Rating: 47 Votes
25 months ago
Based off of facebook's history, I'd never do this. People have deleted photos that stayed live on facebook's servers for YEARS afterwords, though not shown to the user if you saved the original URL you can still see and view the image.

Last thing I want is a picture uploaded to facebook that I can never delete and have no control over.
Rating: 41 Votes
25 months ago
Go on people, sell your souls.
Rating: 29 Votes
25 months ago
Doesn't FB own all images uploaded to them?

Sounds like a bad idea....
Rating: 25 Votes
25 months ago
Dumb. Give them my photos to their server and then select which ones are viewable to friends? No, how about I keep all my photos and maybe post some which I choose...
Rating: 25 Votes
25 months ago
Seriously no thanks. If its not optional, and if its "on" automatically instead of "off", then I'm uninstalling FB from my phone.
Rating: 23 Votes
25 months ago
Google+ was way ahead on this. Too bad no one uses G+ or i'd leave Facebook immediately.
Rating: 22 Votes
25 months ago
Photostream does me fine.
Rating: 17 Votes
25 months ago


The app is very clear that all photos uploaded automatically are marked as private and cannot be viewed by others until specifically shared by the user.

Article Link: Facebook Rolling Out New iOS Photo Sync Feature (http://www.macrumors.com/2012/11/19/facebook-rolling-out-new-ios-photo-sync-feature/)


Until Facebook changes their terms on you. Because they've NEVER done that before...
Rating: 14 Votes

[ Read All Comments ]