Got a tip for us? Share it...

MacSlash Domain

From MacSlash.com



To our users:



You have probably noticed by now that the URL www.macslash.com now points to a generic Dotster page. We are attempting to get in touch with Dotster, but they have been unable or unwilling to reply. We are not certain at this time whether the situation is malicious or not (i.e., squatting), but without word from Dotster, we have nothing else to go on. If the domain has not been stolen, then it has been registered in bad faith. We're an established business and media presence, and anyone who registered it, no matter how innocently, is a squatter.



In the interim, we have registered www.macslash.net, and are hoping that will be up by tomorrow or Friday. We would like to thank Charlie Ruggiero and John Painter, who are helping to set up alternative domains (macslash.org and macslash.info, respectively).



For more information and updates, please email us at macslash@earthlink.net or call Ben Stanfield, Executive Editor, 270-881-0680. Thanks to everyone who has contacted us already.



We are hoping to have this issue resolved ASAP. We apologize for the inconvenience.



Sincerely,

The MacSlash crew

Top Rated Comments

(View all)

127 months ago
From MacSlash.com

You have probably noticed by now that the URL www.macslash.com now points to a generic Dotster page. We are attempting to get in touch with Dotster, but they have been unable or unwilling to reply. We are not certain at this time whether the situation is malicious or not (i.e., squatting), but without word from Dotster, we have nothing else to go on. If the domain has not been stolen, then it has been registered in bad faith. We're an established business and media presence, and anyone who registered it, no matter how innocently, is a squatter.

In the interim, we have registered www.macslash.net, and are hoping that will be up by tomorrow or Friday. We would like to thank Charlie Ruggiero and John Painter, who are helping to set up alternative domains (macslash.org and macslash.info, respectively).

For more information and updates, please email us at macslash@earthlink.net or call Ben Stanfield, Executive Editor, 270-881-0680. Thanks to everyone who has contacted us already.

We are hoping to have this issue resolved ASAP. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,
The MacSlash crew
Rating: 0 Positives / 0 Negatives
127 months ago
I had two domains squatted. I registered them through a service and instead of having my domain registered to me as the form stated, and billed to me, they registered the domains themselves and later offered to sell them back to me for "costs" in this case about $370 each less than 2 months later. The original offer was a fee slightly reduced from network solutions prices. I did not know how to respond or resolve it since domains seem to have no clear oversight authority except for nameing conventions. If there is someone with authority to correct this sort of fraud, post it.

Rocketman
Rating: 0 Positives / 0 Negatives
127 months ago
I have contacted Ben Stanfield of macslash.com and have offered to help him recover his domain name free of charge for all of the good information that he has provided. We should be able to get him back up and running fairly soon.

Patrick Fletcher
Fletcher & Associates
http://www.internetdisputes.org
Rating: 0 Positives / 0 Negatives
127 months ago

Originally posted by Rocketman
If there is someone with authority to correct this sort of fraud, post it.


I dunno what you consider authority, but go have a look at www.fraud.org and report them (if they're a business) to www.bbb.org . You can also contact the FBI on matters of financial crimes (including fraud).
Rating: 0 Positives / 0 Negatives
127 months ago

Originally posted by pwfletcher
I have contacted Ben Stanfield of macslash.com and have offered to help him recover his domain name free of charge for all of the good information that he has provided. We should be able to get him back up and running fairly soon.

Patrick Fletcher
Fletcher & Associates
http://www.internetdisputes.org



That's very generous of you. Good luck.
Rating: 0 Positives / 0 Negatives
127 months ago
Whois says it is registered to:

Vicente Peiro Crespo
Chiva , 23 , 27
Valencia, Valencia 46018
ES

Administrative Contact:
Peiro Crespo, Vicente merc-net@merc-net.com
Chiva , 23 , 27
Valencia, Valencia 46018
ES
34-963847753

Technical Contact:
Peiro Crespo, Vicente merc-net@merc-net.com
Chiva , 23 , 27
Valencia, Valencia 46018
ES
34-963847753

Created on: 28-MAY-02
Expires on: 28-MAY-03
Last Updated on: 28-MAY-02
Rating: 0 Positives / 0 Negatives
127 months ago
~ Pwfletcher. I commend and applaud your action taken to help.
Get those men and right the wrong. We are all behind you in this, I am sure.
Good Luck, I am certain we will all be lookign forward to hearing its outcome!
Rating: 0 Positives / 0 Negatives
127 months ago
For more tools to find out about the situation, run on over to Phaster.Com.
Rating: 0 Positives / 0 Negatives
127 months ago
if that name is so important, then you should have registered it a long time ago. I'm tired about hearing people moan & groan because they were too stupid to register it in the first place or upset because someone beat them too it. Next time you start a business, why don't you register the domain before you announce what your company or product will be called.
Rating: 0 Positives / 0 Negatives
127 months ago

Originally posted by foofan
if that name is so important, then you should have registered it a long time ago. I'm tired about hearing people moan & groan because they were too stupid to register it in the first place or upset because someone beat them too it. Next time you start a business, why don't you register the domain before you announce what your company or product will be called.


foofan I gues you have no clue what Macslash.com is. They have been up and running for ages using www.macslash.com and someone comes along and hijacks it. Try getting informed before you open your mouth and make an ass of yourself next time.
Rating: 0 Positives / 0 Negatives

[ Read All Comments ]