Hands-on With Boss Audio's Latest CarPlay Receiver (With Exclusive Deal for MacRumors Readers)

by

A couple of months ago, Boss Audio debuted its latest aftermarket CarPlay receiver, the BVCP9685A, offering a relatively low-cost way to add wired CarPlay (and Android Auto) to your existing vehicle.

The BVCP9685A is a double DIN unit with a 6.75-inch capacitive screen and a vertical strip of capacitive touch controls along the left side. With an external microphone and support for steering wheel controls and backup camera input when paired with proper auxiliary wiring, the BVCP9685A can integrate with much of the existing technology in your vehicle.


Boss Audio sent me a demo unit of the BVCP9685A to test out, and I've come away pretty impressed with its ability to deliver ‌CarPlay‌ functionality at a budget price point, which is currently even lower with an exclusive 5 percent discount code for MacRumors readers.

boss carplay box
The BVCP9685A demo unit I received is a relatively self-contained package, hooked up to a standard AC power plug and a small external speaker. That makes it easy to test out the unit without needing to install it in a vehicle, which can be a bit tricky depending on your level of experience and the types of connections you need to make.

boss carplay rear
On the flip side, the demo unit doesn't give you the full experience, so this is more of a hands-on look than a complete review as I haven't been able to test its sound quality with a full car speaker setup, integration with steering wheel controls and rear camera, and some other features.

Overview

Boss's BVCP9685A offers a relatively clean look dominated by the large screen, although it does have a bit of a bottom bezel where there is some Boss branding and the model number. A strip to the left of the screen offers persistent access to capacitive mute, volume, Siri, and home buttons. The buttons are a little on the small side in a tradeoff with maximizing the size of the main screen.

boss carplay main
The 6.75-inch, 800x480 screen is bright and fairly crisp, although it doesn't quite match the higher resolutions seen on some other more expensive systems. The touch buttons along the left side can be set to just about any color of the rainbow or allowed to cycle through a range of colors automatically, and separate color and brightness options can be set for day and night modes.

boss carplay color settings
The main interface of the BVCP9685A consists of a set of tiles that offer access to the system's functions like radio, ‌CarPlay‌, Android Auto, Bluetooth hands-free calling, rear camera, and media player functions over Bluetooth, USB or an RCA AV connection on the rear of the unit. Small tiles also offer access to settings and an equalizer.

The overall look certainly isn't as polished as some infotainment systems, but if you're a ‌CarPlay‌ user you'll likely be spending much of your time in there anyway.

The radio app offers a large display of the current station and a couple of sets of forward and backward buttons to help navigate between stations on the dial and via presets. Other options let you switch between AM and FM, stereo and mono, local and distant station optimization, and more.

boss carplay radio
It's fairly easy to operate, although some of the options aren't necessarily intuitive such as the way tapping the option icons toggles indicators elsewhere on the display rather than simply changing a label on the icon itself. Tuning buttons also aren't explicitly labeled, although you'll quickly learn how they work once you start using them.

boss carplay bt
Playing media from an external device such as via Bluetooth is a similar affair, although I think the look of the media player screen is a bit better than the radio screen, with full track, artist, and album information as well as clear play/pause, track skip, and shuffle buttons along the bottom.

CarPlay

‌CarPlay‌ and Android Auto require a wired connection on the BVCP9685A, which many users prefer considering they want to charge their phones while in the car, but for those who prefer wireless ‌CarPlay‌ that's starting to become more widely available in aftermarket units, you'll need to look elsewhere.

boss carplay home
The BVCP9685A includes a pair of USB ports on short cables, one for ‌CarPlay‌/Android Auto and one limited to charging and media playback, so you'll need to make sure you connect your Lightning cable to the right one. Once you're up and running with ‌CarPlay‌, you'll find the usual experience with access to the default Apple apps, compatible third-party apps, and a dedicated Boss icon to take you out of ‌CarPlay‌ and back to the Boss system.

boss carplay now playing
The screen is definitely smaller than some built-in infotainment systems that can go up to 8 inches or more, but within the limitations of the double DIN size standard, Boss has done a pretty good job of maximizing screen space. A few competitors have pushed their screen sizes to 7 inches by using skinny hardware buttons along the bottom of the unit, but Boss gets pretty close to that size while keeping buttons along the left where they're closest to the driver.

Overall, the ‌CarPlay‌ interface looks good on the BVCP9685A, with Maps being where you would most likely notice the difference compared to systems with larger screens, due to the mapping field of view and the various informational overlays. ‌CarPlay‌ is relatively responsive on the BVCP9685A, accurately registering taps and swipes.

boss carplay maps
In addition to the Boss icon on the ‌CarPlay‌ home screen, you can also use the main capacitive home/back button in the lower left corner of the BVCP9685A to jump out of ‌CarPlay‌ and over to the Boss system. That button can take you back into ‌CarPlay‌, but only if it's the immediately previous screen you were on. If you switch over to the Boss system and then fiddle with radio settings, for example, you'll need to get back to the Boss home screen and then tap the ‌CarPlay‌ tile there to return to ‌CarPlay‌.

Wrap-up

As an entry-level ‌CarPlay‌ receiver, the Boss BVCP9685A looks like a solid way to bring your iPhone to the dashboard in your existing vehicle. It doesn't include features seen on more (in some cases much more) expensive models like SiriusXM tuner support, a wireless microphone, a DVD/CD drive, or built-in navigation, but if what you primarily need is ‌CarPlay‌ you may not be interested in many of those missing features.

The BVCP9685A is currently priced at $239.99 on Amazon, but the exclusive MacRumors discount available through this link knocks $12.00 off of that through May 22. Boss is also currently offering a $35.00 on-page or in-cart coupon that is stackable with the MacRumors discount, bringing the final price down to just $192.99.

That's a fantastic price for a ‌CarPlay‌ aftermarket head unit, but do keep in mind when budgeting that depending on your install situation, you may need to pick up some extra equipment like wiring harnesses and perhaps pay for professional installation if you're not comfortable with cracking open your dashboard yourself.

Note: Boss provided MacRumors with a loaner demo unit of the BVCP9685A for the purpose of this review. No other compensation was received. MacRumors is an affiliate partner with Amazon. When you click a link and make a purchase, we may receive a small payment, which helps us keep the site running.

Related Roundup: CarPlay

Top Rated Comments

jermy4 Avatar
20 months ago
$192.99 is a heck of a deal for a CarPlay receiver
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
vertical smile Avatar
20 months ago
I looked into the Boss CP head unit not too long ago.

I would purchase it today for an old truck of mine, but I really hate not having a volume knob.

A strip to the left of the screen offers persistent access to capacitive mute, volume, Siri, and home buttons. The buttons are a little on the small side in a tradeoff with maximizing the size of the main screen.

They are not mechanical/physical buttons? That sucks too.....

The price tag is tempting, but I really hate the touch screen buttons for a head unit.
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)
vicviper789 Avatar
20 months ago
No physical buttons = no go but now I’m about to drop $300 on a unit I didn’t think I’d want :(
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)
cube Avatar
20 months ago

For this price, I think I’d be stupid to pass it up.

Now to look up the required parts to fit this on Crutchfield...

They don't seem to have it. I think they usually lag a bit.
[doublepost=1558188173][/doublepost]

No physical buttons = no go but now I’m about to drop $300 on a unit I didn’t think I’d want :(

More like $1200 for a proper one.
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)
vertical smile Avatar
20 months ago

I remember when Boss Audio first came onto the scene. They were the welfare brand in car audio. Their amps were always rated for outrageous outputs. We used to joke and say that they'd only output their ratings ILS (if lightning strikes). Lol. Has that changed?

While I never used a Boss Audio head unit nor amp, I own this Boss Audio sub ('https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0014L8TVG/ref=ppx_od_dt_b_asin_title_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1'). I am extremely impressed with it considering how much it cost.

6 years ago, I was trying to find a decent shallow subwoofer to fit a custom 10" sub enclosure that I made to fit behind the passenger side seat of my MR2, but there was hardly any that were shallow enough, or they were really expensive.

The Boss Audio sub was really cheap, and had next-day shipping at the time, so I decided to give it a try, and go with something else if it didn't perform well enough.

It end up exceeding my expectations, so much so that it is still in my MR2 6 years later. It punches pretty well, so much that it could make a passenger's back feel like it is getting a very violent massage. I usually the subs down when there is a passenger with me.

I should mention that I am not an audiophile, and the MR2 cab is kind of small with two firewalls in the front and rear, so it doesn't take much to fill the space with sound.

My phone's going to be plugged in whether the Car Play connection requires it or not. :p

I understand this, but I wouldn't mind having wireless CP. You can still charge your phone if you need to even with wireless CP, but having it wireless, give the user the option of whether to plug in or not.

I'm hoping I can keep using the controls on the steering wheel with it, though; plus have the backup camera auto-engage when I shift into reverse, as is currently the case.

This is probably not an issue with the many different adapters out there.

You can use Crutchfield.com to see what you need for your car. I have purchased from them a few times, and while they are not always the cheapest, they are very helpful with planning the job. Sometimes I find some decent deals on there though.
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)
FreakinEurekan Avatar
20 months ago

Some people may complain about the "wired" requirement, but given that I'm generally running Waze when I'm driving and that constant GPS connection chews through the battery like crazy - that doesn't seem like a big deal. My phone's going to be plugged in whether the Car Play connection requires it or not. :p

I was right there with you, until I got the iPhone X and a car cradle with built in Qi charger. Now, I want wireless :/
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)

Top Stories

14

Apple Releases iOS 14.2.1 With Fix for Text Message Bug and iPhone 12 Mini Lock Screen Issues

Thursday November 19, 2020 10:16 am PST by
Apple today released iOS 14.2.1, a bug fix update that comes two weeks after the launch of iOS 14.2 and is available for Apple's new iPhone 12 models. The iOS 14.2.1 update can be downloaded for free and it is available on all eligible devices over-the-air in the Settings app. To access the new software, go to Settings > General > Software Update. According to Apple's release notes, iOS...
maxresdefault

CrossOver Allows x86 Windows Apps to Run on Apple M1 Macs

Wednesday November 18, 2020 6:07 pm PST by
Codeweavers posted a blog post and video tonight showing off CrossOver running on an Apple M1 MacBook Air. This video shows Team Fortress 2 running on a new M1 MacBook Air: CrossOver is software (based on Wine Project) that runs Microsoft Windows apps on the Mac by translating Windows APIs into their Mac equivalents. The Codeweavers team was able to run the current version of CrossOver on...
m1 mac mini vignette

Apple Lists M1-Based Mac Mini Logic Boards With 10 Gigabit Ethernet in Internal Parts Ordering System

Friday November 20, 2020 9:32 am PST by
While the new Mac mini with the M1 chip is only available with Gigabit Ethernet, Apple has listed multiple M1-based Mac mini logic boards with 10 Gigabit Ethernet in an internal parts list for Apple Authorized Service Providers. For every Mac mini logic board with Gigabit Ethernet in the parts list, obtained by MacRumors, there is a corresponding logic board with 10 Gigabit Ethernet:...
Walmart November Deals Hero

Black Friday Spotlight: Walmart Will Have AirPods Pro Down to Lowest Price of $169, and More Apple Deals

Thursday November 19, 2020 8:05 am PST by
We've been tracking early Black Friday deals in our dedicated Black Friday Roundup, and in an effort to prepare our readers for the big shopping event we're highlighting sales store-by-store in the lead-up to November 27. Note: MacRumors is an affiliate partner with Walmart. When you click a link and make a purchase, we may receive a small payment, which helps us keep the site running. Next ...
iOS14AntitrackFacebookSadfeature

Apple Confirms Commitment to App Tracking Transparency in Letter Condemning Facebook's Data Collection [Updated]

Thursday November 19, 2020 11:58 am PST by
Apple in iOS 14 is planning to introduce a new App Tracking Transparency feature that will let users know when companies want to track them across apps and website. Following outcry from developers like Facebook and ad networks unprepared for the change, Apple delayed the implementation of the anti-tracking functionality until early 2021. Eight civil society organizations recently sent a...
new m1 chip

Craig Federighi: Native Windows on M1 Macs is 'Really up to Microsoft'

Friday November 20, 2020 11:57 am PST by
Following the release of the M1 Macs Apple executives have been doing interviews with a range of publications, and today, Ars Technica published another interview with software engineering chief Craig Federighi, hardware technologies lead Johny Srouji, and marketing VP Greg Joswiak. Much of the interview focuses on topics that the three have already covered in prior discussions, but there is ...
iphone 12 green glow

Apple Investigating Display Issues With iPhone 12 Models, Including Flickering and Green/Gray Glow

Wednesday November 18, 2020 11:20 am PST by
In an internal document obtained by MacRumors, Apple has acknowledged an issue with some iPhone 12 displays exhibiting flickering, a green or gray glow, or other unintended lighting variations under some conditions. In the document, shared with Apple Authorized Service Providers this week, Apple says that it is aware of customer reports related to this issue and is investigating. Apple has...
iOS14

Apple Releases Revised Version of iOS 14.2 for iPhone 12 Owners

Wednesday November 18, 2020 3:55 pm PST by
Apple appears to have released a revised version of iOS 14.2 that's available to those who have an iPhone 12 device and who have not previously installed the iOS 14.2 update. It's not clear why Apple has released a new version of iOS 14.2, but it may include minor bug fixes, perhaps for installation issues. The updated software has a build number of 18B111, while the original release has a...
app store 15 percent feature

App Store Fee Cut Attracts Criticism From Major Developers Like Spotify and Epic

Wednesday November 18, 2020 8:39 am PST by
A number of industry players, including Spotify, Epic Games CEO Tim Sweeney, and Basecamp CTO David Heinemeier Hansson, have today criticized Apple's move to launch a new App Store Small Business Program that will halve App Store fees for small business owners and independent developers (via The Verge). After Apple announced the new program, Spotify released a statement saying that it...
macbookpro13large

Apple Offers Instructions on What to Do if macOS Big Sur Causes Installation Errors on 2013 and 2014 MacBook Pro

Thursday November 19, 2020 6:12 pm PST by
Following the release of macOS Big Sur last week, a number of 2013 and 2014 MacBook Pro owners found that the update bricked their machines. Affected users saw their Macs get stuck displaying a black screen after attempting to install the new software. Apple has now addressed this issue in a new support document that provides instructions on what to do if macOS Big Sur can't be installed on...