Apple Watch Series 7 models will begin arriving to customers and launch in stores this Friday, October 15, and ahead of time, reviews have now been shared by media outlets and YouTube channels. In addition to rounding up Apple Watch Series 7 video reviews and unboxings, we've highlighted some impressions from written reviews below.

Apple Watch Series 7 Rainbow Crop Blue
Key features of the Apple Watch Series 7 include larger displays with 41mm and 45mm case sizes, enhanced durability with IP6X-rated dust resistance, and up to 33 percent faster charging with a USB-C fast charging cable included in the box. There are also new aluminum case color options, such as midnight, starlight, and green.

Here are some impressions of the Apple Watch Series 7's key features:

Larger Displays

The Verge's Dieter Bohn said that while the Series 7's larger display sizes are welcomed, it isn't enough to justify an annual upgrade:

When Apple first made the screen bigger way back on the Apple Watch Series 4, I thought it made an appreciable difference in the experience and would even be worth upgrading for. Here, on the Series 7, I just think the screen is really nice and looks better, but isn't enough to justify an upgrade.

The Verge has a well-produced video review as always:


TechCrunch's Brian Heater agreed the larger Series 7 is not a radical departure compared to the Series 6, which came in 40mm and 44mm sizes:

It's not a radical departure, generation over generation. And certainly something like 12% larger buttons on the calculator aren't enough to sell anyone on an upgrade. The truth is that the nature of wearables generally prohibits designers from making too radical a design change because the product needs to fit on your body. The earliest smartwatches suffered from large designs that prohibited wearability among a wide swath of users.

Faster Charging

Engadget's Cherlynn Low said she appreciated the Series 7's faster charging speeds compared to her Apple Watch SE:

[It] charges faster, and in about 10 minutes, I got close to 10 percent capacity. It reached almost 100 percent in under an hour with the new cable that Apple includes in the box. Meanwhile, the Apple Watch SE only got to about 60 percent in an hour.

New Colors

MobileSyrup's Patrick O'Rourke said the Series 7's new green aluminum case option is a nice throwback to the iPhone 11 Pro in Midnight Green:

Green is the standout new hue. It's understated but still eye-catching and, more importantly, is a throwback to the great-looking 'Midnight Green' iPhone 11 colour from a few years ago.

As we previously reported, however, some customers are unhappy with the new Series 7 color options. In particular, for the aluminum models, some customers are disappointed that Apple replaced Silver and Gold with a champagne-like Starlight color.

Final Takeaways

CNET's Lisa Eadicicco feels the Series 7 is an iterative upgrade over the Series 6:

To put it bluntly, the Series 7 doesn't feel like the type of generational upgrade we've come to expect from Apple's smartwatches in years past. But that's not necessarily a snub against it.

The Series 7 feels more like a refined version of a watch we already love -- the Series 6 -- rather than a major upgrade. And since it's the same price as its predecessor, the Series 7 is a promising option for first-time Apple Watch buyers or those upgrading from an older watch.

The Verge's Dieter Bohn agreed:

If you have one of those older Apple Watches, I don't think there's anything here that should compel an upgrade. All the new features are very nice but not necessary. If there is something that's bothering you about your current watch, then by all means go for it if you can afford it. Also, while the Series 3 is still kicking around for cheap, I don’t think it's a great buy anymore. The Apple Watch SE is a better value.

More Reviews

Related Roundup: Apple Watch Series 8
Buyer's Guide: Apple Watch (Neutral)
Related Forum: Apple Watch

Top Rated Comments

adamjackson Avatar
17 months ago
This year's review cycle has taught me that I really only want reviewers to compare previous models more than 12 months old. I don't care how the Series 7 compares to Series 6. Tell me why I, a series 3,4,5 owner should upgrade? Same for the iPhones 13. Tell me why the 2-3 year old model will be better suited upgraded.

Only Jason Snell did this in a meaningful way - https://sixcolors.com/post/2021/09/the-iphone-13-an-upgraders-guide/

Because, if I'm being more cynical....of course the series 7 isn't worth upgrading from a series 6. This isn't Apple's target anyway. They want series 3 and 4 owners to upgrade. so what's better from a series 3 to a 7? Can a professional reviewer lay that out?
Score: 54 Votes (Like | Disagree)
contacos Avatar
17 months ago
Skipping that one and waiting for one with additional health features. Does not make much sense to upgrade from my Series 6
Score: 20 Votes (Like | Disagree)
tom.humphrey Avatar
17 months ago
Looking forward to the watch series 8
Score: 19 Votes (Like | Disagree)
chucker23n1 Avatar
17 months ago
"CNET's Lisa Eadicicco feels the Series 7 is an iterative upgrade over the Series 6:"

You don't say.

Apple never claimed this was a massive upgrade, nor does it have to be. Almost nobody upgrades their Apple Watch every year. It's not like the Series 6 is suddenly a bad product.

I'm betting >90% of people looking to buy a Series 7 are either new to the Apple Watch, or are coming from a Series 5, 4, 3, or SE. All of those will find it to be a perfectly fine upgrade.

I don't know why reviewers have such a hard time focusing on what most people care about: how does it compare to my current product? (OK, that's a lie. I know why: because they're sad their shiny new tech toy isn't as shiny and new as they were hoping.)

What people really need is something more like the Six Colors upgrader's guide ('https://sixcolors.com/post/2021/09/the-iphone-13-an-upgraders-guide/'). Unfortunately, while Apple's compare page for the iPhone is pretty good, the one for the Watch is bad.
Score: 17 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Shanesan Avatar
17 months ago
As a Series 2 owner, the larger display and faster charging (as well as everything from series 4-6) will be a very welcome upgrade.
Score: 15 Votes (Like | Disagree)
haunebu Avatar
17 months ago
Apple does the bare minimum in 2021, again. Both iPhone and Apple Watch releases are hardly upgrades at all.
Score: 13 Votes (Like | Disagree)

Popular Stories

iPhone trade in

Apple Adjusts Trade-In Values for iPhones, Macs, and More

Wednesday January 25, 2023 9:40 am PST by
After announcing new Mac and HomePod models last week, Apple adjusted its trade-in values for select devices in the United States. iPhone trade-in values decreased by up to $80, and most Android smartphones also went down. Mac trade-in values remained unchanged or increased by up to $40 depending on the model, while some Apple Watch models increased in value and others decreased. Trade-in...
iphone 15 pro wifi 6e

Internal Apple Document From Leaker 'Unknownz21' Confirms Wi-Fi 6E Will Be Limited to iPhone 15 Pro Models

Friday January 27, 2023 10:01 am PST by
Multiple rumors have suggested that the next-generation iPhone 15 models will adopt the Wi-Fi 6E standard that Apple has already introduced in the iPad Pro and MacBook Pro, and now a leaked document appears to confirm Apple's plans. Sourced from researcher and Apple leaker Unknownz21 (@URedditor), the document features diagrams of the iPhone 15's antenna architecture. D8x refers to the...
iPhone 14 Pro Purple Side Perspective Feature Purple

iPhone 15 Expected to Feature Wi-Fi 6E Like Latest Macs and iPad Pro

Wednesday January 25, 2023 5:39 pm PST by
The iPhone 15 will support Wi-Fi 6E, according to a research note shared this week by Barclays analysts Blayne Curtis and Tom O'Malley. The analysts did not specify whether the feature will be available on all models or limited to the Pro models. Apple has added Wi-Fi 6E support to a handful of devices so far, including the latest 11-inch and 12.9-inch iPad Pro, 14-inch and 16-inch MacBook...
maxresdefault

Hands-On With the New M2 Max MacBook Pro

Thursday January 26, 2023 12:14 pm PST by
New 14-inch and 16-inch MacBook Pro models with the latest M2 Pro and M2 Max chips are available in Apple retail stores and are already in the hands of customers, and we picked up one of the new M2 Max machines to answer all of the questions MacRumors readers considering a purchase might have. Subscribe to the MacRumors YouTube channel for more videos. Yesterday, we asked MacRumors fans on...
Mac Pro 2019 Apple

Mac Pro Enthusiasts Raise Concerns Over Upgrade Limitations of Apple Silicon

Thursday January 26, 2023 6:30 am PST by
The new Mac Pro coming later this year is expected to feature the same spacious modular design as the 2019 model, but with fresh concerns over its lack of upgradeability surfacing, some users are beginning to wonder what the transition away from Intel architecture actually means for Apple's most powerful Mac. The current Intel Mac Pro that Apple sells is popular with creative professionals...
iOS 16

iOS 16.3 for iPhone Launching Next Week With These 4 New Features

Friday January 20, 2023 11:43 am PST by
In a recent press release, Apple confirmed that iOS 16.3 will be released to the public next week. The software update will be available for the iPhone 8 and newer and includes a handful of new features, changes, and bug fixes. Below, we've recapped bigger features in iOS 16.3, including support for physical security keys as a two-factor authentication option for Apple ID accounts, worldwide ...
iPhone 14 Pro Purple Side Perspective Feature Purple

iPhone 15 Pro Rumored to Have These 8 Features

Friday January 27, 2023 2:11 pm PST by
Apple's next-generation iPhone 15 Pro and iPhone 15 Pro Max are expected to be announced in September as usual. Already, rumors suggest the devices will have at least eight exclusive features not available on the standard iPhone 15 and iPhone 15 Plus. An overview of the eight features rumored to be exclusive to iPhone 15 Pro models:A17 chip: iPhone 15 Pro models will be equipped with an A17...