Instagram Adds Option to Delete Account in iOS App to Comply With App Store Rules - MacRumors
Skip to Content

Instagram Adds Option to Delete Account in iOS App to Comply With App Store Rules

Instagram this week implemented support for a new option that allows an Instagram account to be deleted directly within the Instagram app. Instagram is now in compliance with an updated App Store Guideline that requires all apps that offer account creation to also offer account deletion.

Instagram Feature 2
Apple told developers that apps offering account creation must also support account deletion starting on June 30, 2022, so Instagram waited for the deadline to add the feature.

According to Apple's guidelines, apps must make it easy for users to find the account deletion option, and it is insufficient for an app to offer to temporarily disable or deactivate an account. An account must be able to be deleted, along with all personal data.

delete instagram account
As noted by TechCrunch, prior to now Instagram users had to log into a web browser on a desktop computer or a mobile device to delete their accounts. There was also an in-app option for deactivating account, but as mentioned up above, Apple is requiring full account deletion options.

Instagram accounts can be deleted in the Instagram app by opening up the settings, selecting account, and choosing the delete account option. Instagram lets users choose between deleting or deactivating their account, with the delete option removing all content permanently.

There is a 30-day period in which you can change your mind about deleting your account because Apple's guidelines allow for a delay before an account is permanently removed. Those who log back into Instagram after requesting deletion will be able to stop the deletion.

In a statement to TechCrunch, Instagram said that it wanted to "give people more ways to control their experience and time spent on Instagram," without mentioning that it is an Apple requirement.

Popular Stories

Meta

Meta Agrees to Limit Teens' Time on Facebook and Instagram, Calls on TikTok and YouTube to Match

Wednesday August 26, 2026 3:28 pm PDT by
Meta today said it will implement major changes to Facebook and Instagram's child safety features as part of a settlement agreement with almost all U.S. states. Here's what will change for users under 18 on Instagram and Facebook if the agreement is approved. Time Limit - Teens will have a two-hour daily time limit on Facebook and Instagram, though it can be overridden by a parent. The...
iPhone 18 Pro Dark Cherry Feature

iPhone 18 Pro Reportedly Starts With 256GB of Storage

Thursday September 3, 2026 9:22 am PDT by
While the iPhone 17 Pro has double the base storage compared to the iPhone 16 Pro, there will apparently be no further increase this year. Taiwanese research firm TrendForce today again reported that the iPhone 18 Pro models will start with 256GB of storage, like the iPhone 17 Pro models. Minimum storage capacities by model:iPhone 16 Pro: 128GB iPhone 17 Pro: 256GB iPhone 18 Pro...
Dynamic Island iPhone 18 Pro Feature

iPhone 18 Pro Prices Estimated Ahead of Apple Event Next Week

Thursday September 3, 2026 3:41 am PDT by
Less than a week before Apple debuts new iPhone 18 Pro models, research firm TrendForce has estimated the prices of the devices based on the latest hardware cost environment. TrendForce's price estimates compared to last year's models look like this: Model Starting Price Model Starting Price Change iPhone 17 Pro $1,099 iPhone 18 Pro $...

Top Rated Comments

sniffies Avatar
55 months ago
Sure, the frontend side of things may be deleted, but the backend (including all your data) is never fully purged, especially by the companies like Facebook. And there's nothing you or anyone can do about it. Unless their servers are seized by FBI and intentionally destroyed, your data will live on forever. You'll have to pry those servers from Zuck's cold, dead hands.
Score: 21 Votes (Like | Disagree)
55 months ago

and it is insufficient for an app to offer to temporarily disable or deactivate an account. An account must be able to be deleted, along with all personal data.
You gotta know that ain’t gonna happen on the backend.
Score: 11 Votes (Like | Disagree)
antiprotest Avatar
55 months ago


and it is insufficient for an app to offer to temporarily disable or deactivate an account. An account must be able to be deleted, along with all personal data.
You gotta know that ain’t gonna happen on the backend.

Yeah I assume

"deactivated" means "not deleted, but suspended and visible to you," and

"deleted" means "not deleted, but suspended and hidden from you."
Score: 10 Votes (Like | Disagree)
contacos Avatar
55 months ago

Sure, the frontend side of things may be deleted, but the backend (including all your data) is never fully purged, especially by the companies like Facebook. And there's nothing you or anyone can do about it. Unless their servers are seized by FBI and intentionally destroyed, your data will live on forever. You'll have to pry those servers from Zuck's cold, dead hands.
That would be illegal under GDPR but for some reason they only seem to go after small players, so who knows
Score: 8 Votes (Like | Disagree)
55 months ago

Wish they had an app delete button in the App Store update list
They do. Swipe left on the app…
Score: 5 Votes (Like | Disagree)
55 months ago
How about an option to delete Instagram, the company?
Score: 5 Votes (Like | Disagree)