It's been nearly one year since Apple cancelled the AirPower wireless charging mat, which would have allowed you to place your iPhone, Apple Watch, and AirPods anywhere on the mat to wirelessly charge each device. In the subsequent months, numerous third-party companies have stepped forward in an attempt to reproduce this product, and now Zens has released its own take on an AirPower-like device: the Zens Liberty 16 Coils Wireless Charger.

zens review 1
Zens' charger features 16 overlapping charging coils, letting you place any two Qi-enabled devices anywhere on the mat to charge them. It supports a total output of 30W, Apple Fast Charge, a USB-A port for wired charging of a third device (or attaching the Apple Watch USB stick accessory), and a USB-C power adapter.

zens review 3
Zens sent me both the Liberty Fabric Edition and the Liberty Glass Edition, which are the same product with different finishes on the Qi surface of the mat. The Fabric Edition sports a woolen upholstery textile that's made of 90 percent wool, ensuring the back of your devices won't be scratched, while the Glass Edition has a see-through surface that showcases the 16 charging coils.

zens review 5
In terms of their design, I preferred the subtlety of the Fabric Edition over the Glass Edition, which stands out far more. Both Liberty Wireless Chargers have a rubberized outer shell and sturdy bases with large footprints (8.8 inches long x 5.3 inches wide). The textile on top of the Fabric Edition lends the device a luxurious feel and look, which is good given that these are high-end chargers that exceed $140.

Charging times across the board aligned with typical Qi wireless charging estimates. My iPhone 11 Pro Max was topped off at 100% consistently every night I used the Zens Liberty charger, and I never faced any mysterious disconnects or interruptions in my time with the accessory.

zens review 12
As with any wireless charger, charging times are not as fast as using a Lightning or USB-C cable, but Zens' accessory is perfect for trickle charging at your desk or overnight near your bed. Similarly, the USB Stick performed as expected for an Apple Watch charger, with performance on par with Apple's own Magnetic Charging Dock.

After a few days, the Zens Liberty charger quickly replaced my previous Belkin Qi mat next to my bed. Zens' promise of "freedom of placement" on the mat turned out to be entirely accurate, allowing me to throw down my ‌iPhone 11 Pro Max‌ in nearly any orientation without having to worry about landing on the Qi "sweet spot," which is something I constantly fussed with on the Belkin charger.

zens review 8
The nearly 9-inch mat is large enough to hold two Max-sized iPhones, but I mainly used mine to charge up my ‌iPhone 11 Pro Max‌ and AirPods Pro on the Qi base. While the Liberty charger doesn't quite meet the promise of AirPower's three-device Qi charging, what it provides for two devices is a reliable and frictionless wireless charging experience, with the added bonus of charging your Apple Watch with an accessory you can purchase separately.

zens review 16
This MFi certified Apple Watch USB Stick is a tiny dongle with an Apple Watch charging puck attached to the end, allowing you to charge your Apple Watch through any USB-A port. When connected to the Zens Liberty Wireless Charger on a special port at the back of the Qi mat area, the dongle turns into a little upright stand that can charge your Apple Watch in Nightstand Mode.

Bottom Line

The Zens Liberty Wireless Charger is a solid ‌AirPower‌ alternative that provides dependable wireless charging to any two Qi-compatible devices like the ‌iPhone‌ 11, AirPods, and more.

zens review 10
Of course, the ability to freely place your devices anywhere on the mat and the high-quality design mean you'll pay a premium for the accessory.

How to Buy

The Liberty Fabric Edition costs $139.99 (€139.99), while the Glass Edition costs $179.99 (€179.99). Both models come with a three-year extended warranty. The Apple Watch USB Stick is available separately for $39.99 (€39.99).

Note: MacRumors received the Zens Liberty Fabric Edition, Zens Liberty Glass Edition, and Zens Apple Watch USB Stick for the purposes of this review. No other compensation was received.

Tag: ZENS

Top Rated Comments

mnsportsgeek Avatar
35 months ago

That protruding Apple Watch charging point is the deal breaker for me...it’s not a true alternative to Apple’s original concept and therefore not worth the price they’re asking for.

Go back to the drawing boards and make it a flat all-in-one!
nobody will. Apple Watch uses a proprietary charging standard. It’s probably one of the reasons AirPower failed.

I actually prefer this solution so the watch can be used in nightstand mode.
Score: 10 Votes (Like | Disagree)
donster28 Avatar
35 months ago
That protruding Apple Watch charging point is the deal breaker for me...it’s not a true alternative to Apple’s original concept and therefore not worth the price they’re asking for.

Go back to the drawing boards and make it a flat all-in-one!
Score: 4 Votes (Like | Disagree)
now i see it Avatar
35 months ago
there's no such thing as an "AirPower alternative" any more than there's a perpetual motion machine alternative
Score: 4 Votes (Like | Disagree)
PickUrPoison Avatar
35 months ago
Seems like a solid offering. If AirPower had come out at $140, this forum would have flipped out. It’ll be interesting to see what reaction this one gets.
Score: 3 Votes (Like | Disagree)
I7guy Avatar
35 months ago

How can it be an “alternative” to something that doesn’t even exist? Please redo this misleading headline.
The vaporware AirPower is the benchmark by which all other chargers that claim to do the same thing are measured by.
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
deeddawg Avatar
35 months ago

It is. But this product delivers what I would want, I can ‘multi-charge’ three devices at once versus just one at a time like most wireless chargers offer.
If you don't need the "place anywhere" aspect, Ikea sells a three device charger for $40 ('https://www.ikea.com/us/en/p/nordmaerke-triple-pad-for-wireless-charging-white-cork-00423919/').

You have to center the devices on any of the three spots, so not as nice... but it is also $100 cheaper.

Your views on wireless charging and the Qi standard seem pretty dated. It definitely ain't about trickle charging.
I also think folks who haven't used Qi charging don't realize the potential paradigm shift.

Cable charging is always a conscious act - you must be intentional about it since it requires the additional action of plugging in the cable.

With a couple Qi pads placed in your usual spots where you'd set your phone down anyway, charging becomes more unintentional. I find this most apparent at the office - with cables I'd usually not bother plugging in since I am so often leaving my desk for meetings or whatever. With a Qi pad where I lay my phone, it's always charged at the end of the day -- without my taking any distinct action.

And at 7.5W charging capability on an iphone, that's faster than the included 5W brick anyway.
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)

Popular Stories

iOS 16

Apple Releases iOS 16.0.2 With Bug Fixes for iPhone 14 Pro Camera Vibration, Copy/Paste Issue and More

Thursday September 22, 2022 1:04 pm PDT by
Apple today released iOS 16.0.2, addressing a number of bugs that iPhone 14 owners have been experiencing since the new devices launched. iOS 16.0.2 comes two weeks after the launch of iOS 16, and it follows iOS 16.0.1, an update made available to iPhone 14 owners on launch day. The update is available for all iPhones that are capable of running iOS 16. The iOS 16.0.2 update can be...
maxresdefault

Video Review: Four Days With the iPhone 14 Pro Max

Wednesday September 21, 2022 7:49 am PDT by
Apple on Friday released the new iPhone 14 models, and MacRumors videographer Dan picked one up on launch day. He's been using the iPhone 14 Pro Max non-stop since it came out, and over on the MacRumors YouTube channel, has shared his initial thoughts on the day-to-day experience with the latest iPhone. Subscribe to the MacRumors YouTube channel for more videos. Dan's mini review highlights...
iPad Pro Big Ol Logo

Five Features Rumored for the New iPad Pro Expected Next Month

Wednesday September 21, 2022 1:36 am PDT by
Rumors suggest Apple will announce new 11-inch and 12.9-inch iPad Pro models as soon as next month. The new iPads will be the first update to the iPad Pro series since April 2021 and will be an overall incremental upgrade that brings new capabilities and functionality to the highest-end iPad. According to reports, Apple is planning an event for October to announce the new iPad Pro models, a...
ios 16 lock screen feature

Some iOS 16 Users Complain About Slow Spotlight Search and Battery Drain

Wednesday September 21, 2022 4:25 am PDT by
It's been nine days since Apple released iOS 16 to the public, bringing major changes to the Lock Screen, Messages, Maps, and more. In the days following the release, some users have encountered several issues on their iPhones, ranging from slow system performance to battery drain. In the past few days, iPhone 14 Pro users have shared specific bugs related to Apple's latest high-end iPhones, ...
Dynamic Island For Android Users Feature

Android App Copying iPhone 14 Pro's Dynamic Island Released on Play Store

Thursday September 22, 2022 7:57 am PDT by
A copycat version of the iPhone 14 Pro's Dynamic Island has arrived on Android's Google Play Store in the form of an app called "dynamicSpot." The app, still in beta, offers customers several different experiences at the top of their smartphones. In its current form, dynamicSpot offers playback control for songs, timers, battery status, and more features coming soon, according to the app's...
facebook meta

Meta Sued Over Tracking iPhone Users Despite Apple's Privacy Features

Thursday September 22, 2022 5:12 am PDT by
Meta is facing a new proposed class action lawsuit that accuses it of tracking and collecting the personal data of iPhone users, despite features and policies made by Apple which are meant to stop that same type of tracking. In August, it was revealed that with the Facebook and Instagram apps, Meta can track all of a user's key taps, keyboard inputs, and more, when using the in-app browser....
apple watch ultra reddit 1

Lucky Customer Gets New Apple Watch Ultra Two Days Early

Wednesday September 21, 2022 2:03 pm PDT by
With millions of devices shipping out to customers with every Apple launch, there's occasionally someone who gets lucky and gets a new product ahead of schedule. This time around, Redditor playalisticadillac received an Apple Watch Ultra from AT&T two days before the official debut, sharing some images on the social media site. The images include an unboxing and comparisons to the...
new airpods pro ear tips

Apple Explains Why Second-Generation AirPods Pro Ear Tips Are Incompatible With Original AirPods Pro

Thursday September 22, 2022 3:12 pm PDT by
Apple today explained why the new silicone ear tips for the second-generation AirPods Pro are not officially compatible with the original AirPods Pro. In an updated support document, Apple said the original AirPods Pro ear tips have "noticeably denser mesh" than the second-generation ear tips. Apple did not provide any additional details, but the mesh density could result in acoustical...