Review: Philips Hue Vintage-Style Filament Bulbs Are Perfect for Accent Lighting

by

Signify, the company behind the Philips Hue line of lights, recently introduced new filament bulbs, which are designed to look like vintage filament-style light bulbs.

These bulbs, which come in three sizes, are the first bulbs in the Philips Hue lineup that are meant to be used with or without a lamp shade, making them perfect for decorative-style lamps that are meant to have naked bulbs.


There's a Standard A19 bulb that's in the shape of a traditional lightbulb, an Edison ST19 bulb that's elongated and without the rounder bulb shape, and there's the Globe G25 bulb, the largest of the three, which looks like a larger version of the Standard A19.


Though designed to look like vintage filament bulbs, the Hue Filaments are LED bulbs and not incandescent bulbs so they don't get hot at all when in use. You can touch the naked bulb and not feel a thing besides a bit of warmth.

The filaments inside the Hue Filament bulbs are arranged in an attractive spiral shape, with all of the bulbs in different sizes using the same internal design.


All three of the Filament bulbs from Hue are white light only, which means colors are not supported. The default color is a soft, warm yellow, which is ideal for accent lighting and dimmer indoor lighting. For those familiar with the white lighting spectrum, these are 2100K bulbs.

There's just the one yellow shade with no option to change the white light temperature, but the Filament bulbs can be dimmed or brightened to adjust the lighting that is put off. The bulbs can get surprisingly bright, which allows them to light up a room when you're using a few.


Each of the bulbs measures in at 530 lumens, so these are not as bright as your average 60-watt bulb. For comparison's sake, some of the standard Hue bulbs are upwards of 800 lumens, so don't expect the same maximum brightness levels (though you probably wouldn't want that much brightness from a bulb without a lamp shade).

In a naked lamp that's at eye level, a full brightness Filament bulb is impossible to look at, so I appreciated the ability to dim the bulbs down from their maximum brightness. I'm using one of the bulbs in a little monster lamp that I have and at low light, it works perfectly.


Since these are mostly designed to be used without a lamp shade, the Filament bulbs are probably best used at dimmer light, but in a ceiling lamp or up hung up above, the brighter lights will work well and will put off a decent amount of light.

These bulbs are part of the Philips Hue Bluetooth line, which means you can directly control them using the Philips Hue Bluetooth app even if you don't have a Hue Bridge. If you do have a full Hue setup with a bridge, these bulbs are also compatible, and the bridge, of course, adds HomeKit so you can control the Filament bulbs with Siri.

I didn't extensively test these on a standalone basis with the Bluetooth app because I do have an existing Hue setup, but I did try them out with the Bluetooth app and found the control to work well, though response times are bit slower compared to a bridge connection.


Offering the option to connect to the newest Hue bulbs with Bluetooth is a great move by Philips because now people can experience Hue bulbs and control their lights without committing to an entire setup.

As with all Hue bulbs that are able to connect to the Hue Bridge, the Filament bulbs can be used in ‌HomeKit‌ scenes and automations alongside other ‌HomeKit‌ products, and can be controlled either through the Hue app or Apple's own Home app.

Bottom Line

If you've been waiting for a Hue bulb that's able to work in a lamp without a lamp shade, the Filaments are the bulbs for you.

The vintage look is perfect for a naked lamp, and the soft white light works well without a lamp shade. The spiral design is attractive, ‌HomeKit‌ support is included, and if you don't have a Hue Bridge, you can still control these and use dimming and on/off functionality over Bluetooth.


The bulbs are versatile, look fantastic, put off a good amount of light for a decorative bulb, and are an excellent addition to the Hue family. In the future, I'd love to see colored bulbs in this style or adjustable shades of white, but I'm not familiar with the technical details or what would be required for Signify to ultimately release such a product.

For now, though, these are a great option for those who need a more decorative bulb than the traditional Hue offerings.

How to Buy

The Hue Filament Smart Bulbs can be purchased from the Best Buy at the current time. The A19 model is priced at $24.99, the Edison ST19 is priced at $27.99, and the Globe G25 is priced at $32.99.

Top Rated Comments

(View all)
Avatar
8 months ago
I picked one up, it’s okay, but actually it’s a bit too bright and the colour temperature is a tad too high for the application I had in mind, I was really looking forward to replacing an incandescent bulb which looks attractive but gets hot and burns more watts than most of the rest of the house lights.


I don't care how much money you have, spending $25+ on a freaking light bulb is just wrong. Buy a "dumb" led bulb and donate the other $20+ to your favorite charity. Simply obscene, from my point of view.

I pay a little more so I get better products and the talented people who make them can earn a wage instead of waiting for a charity handout from you.
Score: 15 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Avatar
8 months ago


I don't care how much money you have, spending $25+ on a freaking light bulb is just wrong. Buy a "dumb" led bulb and donate the other $20+ to your favorite charity. Simply obscene, from my point of view.

I don't care how much money you have, spending $1,000+ on a freaking iPhone is just wrong. Buy a "dumb" phone and donate the other $900+ to your favourite charity. Simply obscene, from my point of view.
Score: 13 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Avatar
8 months ago


You must be an American that thinks all 7.5 billion people on the planet live like the US middle-class.

I don't think these light bulbs are meant for the billions of people with living standards below that of the US middle class.


So tacky.. only trend following normies with garbage taste and an underdeveloped sense of personal aesthetics think these are cool or look good. The only thing that’ll look worse to people in 20yrs are stainless steel appliances

Stainless steel appliances have been in style for decades now, but surely this fad will go away any day now...
Score: 5 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Avatar
8 months ago

I’d actually be very curious to know what the standby drain is from these as well.

I’m working on convincing my wife to approve a Hue purchase and this is her #1 concern.

Article from last year...

“With the Philips Hue bulb, the wattage display on the Kill A Watt unit steadily hovered between 0.0 watts and 0.3 watts—it uses up so little electricity that the Kill A Watt was barely registering anything at all, but it was still registering something.

But for the sake of data and doing some math, let’s average it out and say that the bulb pulls 0.15 watts of power when it’s on “standby.” To figure out how much that’s costing you on your electric bill, we first need to convert that wattage into kilowatt-hours (kWh).

Long story short, it would take roughly 6,600 hours before a Hue bulb uses up 1 kWh of power in standby mode (or 9.17 months). Depending on where you live, the cost for a single kWh of power differs, but for me it costs 15 cents. Therefore, a Hue bulb in standby mode costs around 1.6 cents per month—at least in my area.”


https://www.howtogeek.com/341872/do-smart-bulbs-use-up-electricity-even-when-they’re-off/

Once you’ve set them up to sunrise and sunset timers, as well as other timers, you never really have to touch a light switch. Which also means no more forgetting to turn a light off.

I run 21 Hue lights in my home varying from the play bars behind the tv to the basic bulbs outside. My electric bill went down once I started using them. So much so that I have 16 of those 21 lights on every single night 20 minutes before sunset until midnight when they shut off except for the 4 that I leave on outside and 3 I keep on inside until sunrise.


As for the bulb costs, some are super expensive (the play bars I bought 3 of were $200) but Ive been getting the basic white ones from $11 to $13. Far from expensive.
Score: 4 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Avatar
8 months ago


I don't care how much money you have, spending $25+ on a freaking light bulb is just wrong. Buy a "dumb" led bulb and donate the other $20+ to your favorite charity. Simply obscene, from my point of view.

While I do think you have a point I'm curious who decides what price is reasonable for different products to have? I mean there's should be a fair amount of engineering and design that has gone into those bulbs and they will probably last a long time.

I do give to charity and absolutely think we should take more care of each other on this planet, but I could definitely sacrifice and give away a lot more without suffering too much… So, what is okay for me as a ”middle class” person to buy and how much can it cost? ?
Score: 3 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Avatar
8 months ago
Gorgeous. They should make this style in candle shapes. Hue lightbulbs look wired in candelabras.
Score: 3 Votes (Like | Disagree)

Top Stories

Apple's First MacBook Pro With a Retina Display Will Become 'Obsolete' in 30 Days

Monday June 1, 2020 7:50 am PDT by
If you are still hanging on to a Mid 2012 model of the 15-inch MacBook Pro with a Retina display, and require a new battery or other repairs, be sure to book an appointment with a service provider as soon as possible. In an internal memo today, obtained by MacRumors, Apple has indicated that this particular MacBook Pro model will be marked as "obsolete" worldwide on June 30, 2020, just over...

Tim Cook Addresses George Floyd's Death and Ensuing Protests and Riots as Apple Temporarily Closes Some U.S. Stores

Sunday May 31, 2020 8:04 pm PDT by
Amid unrest in numerous U.S. cities following last week's killing of George Floyd by police in Minneapolis, Apple CEO Tim Cook has shared an internal memo with employees (via Bloomberg) addressing the pain that many are feeling and urging others to commit "to creating a better, more just world for everyone." Cook also announced that Apple is making donations to several groups challenging...

Apple Doubles the Price of RAM Upgrade on Entry-Level 13-Inch MacBook Pro

Saturday May 30, 2020 4:00 pm PDT by
Apple today doubled the price for upgrading the RAM on the entry-level 13-inch MacBook Pro, with customers in the United States now being charged $200 to move from 8GB to 16GB compared to the previous $100 upgrade price. Similar increases are seen in other countries, such as moving from €125 to €250 in Germany and from £100 to £200 in the United Kingdom. Current pricing on RAM upgrade for ...

Apple Releases iOS and iPadOS 13.5.1 With Fixes for Recent 'unc0ver' Jailbreak Vulnerability

Monday June 1, 2020 9:58 am PDT by
Apple today released iOS and iPadOS 13.5.1, minor updates that come a little over a week after the release of iOS and iPadOS 13.5, major updates that brought the Exposure Notification API, FaceTime changes, mask-related unlocking updates and more. The iOS and iPadOS 13.5.1 updates are available on all eligible devices over-the-air in the Settings app. To access the updates, go to Settings >...

iOS 14 Again Said to Be Compatible With All iPhones Able to Run iOS 13

Monday June 1, 2020 2:08 pm PDT by
iOS 14 will be compatible with all iPhones and iPod touch models able to run iOS 13, according to information shared today by Israeli site The Verifier. The compatibility data was allegedly found in a leaked version of iOS 14 and confirmed by what The Verifier says is a "trusted source from the system development process." iOS 13 is compatible with the iPhone 6s and later, with a full...

Apple Releases macOS Catalina 10.15.5 Supplemental Update With Security Fix

Monday June 1, 2020 10:56 am PDT by
Apple today released a supplemental update for macOS Catalina 10.15.5, the fifth update to the macOS Catalina operating system that was released in October 2019. The supplemental update comes a week after the release of the macOS Catalina 10.15.5 update. ‌macOS Catalina‌ 10.15.5 is a free update that can be downloaded from the Mac App Store using the Update feature in the System...

Mockups Depict iPhone 12 Lineup Sizes, Relocated SIM Tray

Monday June 1, 2020 1:22 pm PDT by
A series of 3D printed iPhone 12 mockups designed based on leaked schematics and info from Apple's supply chain was today shared by Japanese site Mac Otakara, giving us a first look at what we can expect from the 2020 iPhone lineup. Rumors have suggested Apple will release four iPhone 12 models in 2020: A 5.4-inch iPhone 12, a 6.1-inch iPhone 12, a 6.1-inch iPhone 12 Pro, and a 6.7-inch...

6.1-inch 'iPhone 12' Production to Begin in July Ahead of Other 2020 Models

Monday June 1, 2020 2:36 am PDT by
Volume production of Apple's forthcoming 6.1-inch "iPhone 12" models will start in July-August ahead of the rest of the company's flagship iPhone lineup this year, according to a new report by DigiTimes. Apple is widely rumored to be launching four new ‌iPhone‌ models in the usual September or October timeframe, although supply constraints and delays in production ramp-up could cause a...

Apple Releases tvOS 13.4.6 for Fourth and Fifth-Generation Apple TV Models

Monday June 1, 2020 9:56 am PDT by
Apple today released tvOS 13.4.6, a minor update to the tvOS operating system that runs on the fourth and fifth-generation Apple TV models. tvOS 13.4.6 comes a little over a week after the release of tvOS 13.4.5. tvOS 13.4.6, a free update, can be downloaded over the air through the Settings app on the Apple TV by going to System > Software Update. Apple TV owners who have automatic software ...

Apple Music Joins Music Industry's Blackout Tuesday Awareness Campaign

Tuesday June 2, 2020 1:31 am PDT by
Apple Music has cancelled its Beats 1 radio schedule for Blackout Tuesday and is suggesting that listeners tune in to a radio stream celebrating the best in black music. Blackout Tuesday is a campaign organized by the music industry to support Black Lives Matter after Minneapolis citizen George Floyd was killed by police in the course of his arrest. On launching Apple Music, many users...