There are hundreds of Qi wireless charging options available on the market, many of which feature the same no-frills plain black circle or square design. You can, for example, find dozens of inexpensive wireless chargers on Amazon at prices as low as $10, but if you're looking for a more thoughtful, unique design you may need to spend a bit more.

I've been taking a look at some of the wireless charging options that stand out from the crowd, and over the last few weeks, I've been testing iOttie's 7.5W iON Wireless Fast Charging Pad Plus and 7.5W iON Wireless Fast Charging Pad Mini.

iottiesidebyside

iON Mini in gray on left, iON Plus in beige on right

Both the iON and the iON Mini are rectangle-shaped wireless chargers that are about as wide as the iPhone X. The Mini is about an inch shorter than the standard iON, and it's also thinner because the iON has an extra cutout in the middle that's meant to allow for better airflow.

ottieionchargersstacked
Neither charger takes up too much space on a desk given the rectangular shape that can fit easily against a flat surface or in a corner, but the larger iON does take up more area, both horizontally and vertically.

The two chargers are wrapped in a heathered linen fabric in colors that include gray, beige, red, and black, and this design is attractive and looks nicer sitting on a desk or a bedside table than a standard black charger. At the top of each charger there's a silicone ring for holding the iPhone in place while it charges.

ottieionminisize
Underneath the fabric, the body of the iON chargers is made from a lightweight plastic material. It's not the most high-quality material, but it does make these nice and light in case you want to bring them along on a trip or tuck them into a bag for a commute to the office.

ottieionpluscord
I liked the rectangle shape of the chargers because it matched the iPhone and it was easy to position the iPhone in the right way to charge without needing to fuss with finding the right spot for the coils to match up. That can be a hassle with some of the larger wireless chargers on the market.

ottieionpluscharging
There is a middle cutout in the bigger iON charger to reduce heat, and this version also has an extra USB-A port so you can plug another accessory in to charge it at the same time. iOttie says that this cutout on the iON Plus is meant to keep it cooler when charging, but I'm not sure that it added much aside from extra height.

ottieionthickness
Small LEDs on the front let you know when the iPhone is in the correct position, and these LEDs are little enough that they're not too noticeable in a dark room.

At the bottom of the iON chargers, there are four silicone feet to keep the charger itself secured on a desk, table, nightstand, or other flat surface. A USB-C to USB-A cable plugs into the back of each charger, and when connected to the included QC 2.0 charger, 7.5W charging speeds are available.

ottieionplusbottom
The iPhone X, iPhone 8, and iPhone 8 Plus can all charge at a maximum of 7.5W, but to reach these speeds, a 15W+ power adapter is required. While designed for iPhone, iOttie's iON chargers will work with Qi-based Android devices.

I did two charging tests with each of the iON chargers, draining my iPhone X to 1 percent battery life and then giving it an hour to charge while in Airplane mode to make sure nothing was draining the battery. The ambient temperature in the room was about 73 degrees, a factor that will impact wireless charging times due to the complexities of temperature regulation when it comes to wireless charging.

iottieminiwithiphone
With the larger iON Plus charging pad, it went from 1 percent to 39 percent in an hour both times. This is in line with what I've seen from other 7.5W wireless chargers during the summertime when indoor temperatures are warmer. I have seen some faster charging speeds by a percent or two, but it does appear the iON Plus is charging at 7.5W as advertised.

ottieionplussize
Speeds were a little bit slower with the iON Mini charging pad, coming in at 32 percent and 37 percent. It's likely my iPhone wasn't seated quite right on the charging pad during the first test, which just speaks to how important it can be to make sure things are lined up.

A 37 percent charge is still not too far off of other 7.5W wireless charging speeds that I've seen, though it is getting closer to 5W wireless charging speeds.

ottieionplusports
Compared to other 7.5W wireless chargers, that middle air vent on the iON Plus doesn't seem to add much of an edge, but the bigger version did charge faster than the iON Mini, perhaps because of the promised airflow improvements.

Bottom Line

My favorite of the two iON wireless chargers from iOttie was the Mini, because I preferred its more compact size and its pocketability. It fits into a pocket or takes up little room in a purse or bag, so it's a better travel choice.

The Mini was the slower charger of the two, but when I wirelessly charge my device, I'm generally doing so over the course of the day (or overnight) to keep it topped up, making charging speed less of a factor. I suspect many people who use wireless charging are using it in a similar manner, given that even the fastest wireless chargers can't compete with faster wired charging methods.

iottieminipoweradapter
The larger iON Plus version is ideal as a desktop charger if you want to add a little height to your iPhone while it's charging to keep it up and out of the way, and both chargers look nice and function well.

iOttie's chargers are not as cheap as some options on Amazon, but if you're looking for a nicer aesthetic for your accessories, these are worth taking a look at.

How to Buy

The iON Wireless Fast Charging Pad Plus can be purchased from iOttie for $54.95. It's also available on Amazon.com for $40 to $50.

The iON Wireless Fast Charging Pad Mini can be purchased from iOttie for $44.95. It's also available on Amazon.com for $30 to $40.

Note: iOttie provided MacRumors with the iON Wireless Fast Charging Pad Mini and Plus for the purpose of this review. No other compensation was received.

Top Rated Comments

bmunge Avatar
46 months ago
Do these have batteries in them to operate wirelessly? I don’t get why they are so thick and look like a wallet... you can get much more attractive options for cheaper.
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
calstanford Avatar
46 months ago
Is this an ad?
Cuz those charging plates are 3x as thick as basically anything else you can buy for no reason
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
samh004 Avatar
46 months ago
Do these have batteries in them to operate wirelessly? I don’t get why they are so thick and look like a wallet... you can get much more attractive options for cheaper.
I like the look and was thinking how lovely these chargers would be on a trip... and then realised they don't have batteries in them. If they did, I'd be very interested!

I really want to know what phone case that is. I like it! And iOttie makes some pretty cool products!
Looks like a standard Apple case in "Ultra Violet".

Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)
H3LL5P4WN Avatar
46 months ago
Actually, not shabby at all. I prefer the looks of the mini, but it seems the experience is better with the fullsize.
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)
macduke Avatar
46 months ago
For some reason I just assumed these had a battery in them until I started reading the comments. Why are they so freaking thick? There is nothing useful about these at all. The design isn't even that good and they're expensive. If you're going to make them this thick at least put a battery or speaker in there! I can't believe that they are basically saying "We didn't want to hire a thermal engineer, so we just shoved some coils into a fat enclosure wrapped in cloth and called it design." But can that be true? What I don't understand is that this is coming from iOttie, and I have their really nice iPhone mount that has wireless charging and it works great! It's one of my favorite things from the past year. What is the deal guys? And FYI, a lot of the negative reviews are from people who don't read the directions. You're supposed to adjust the height to match your phone's charging sweet spot so it starts charging every time you pop it in. Make the adjustment once or twice per year and it's good to go.

Just get an Anker charging pad for $20 on Amazon and be done with it. The thing is about a quarter inch thin and black, supports faster charging, works fine with cases, isn't really fussy about positioning (within reason, I get it 95% of the time when laying it down, wish the pad was a bit bigger but it's fine), and the ugly blue lights in the photo only slowly pulse a few times to indicate it has connected to the phone and then they go away quickly. https://www.amazon.com/Anker-Wireless-Qi-Certified-PowerPort-Fast-Charging/dp/B01KJL4XNY/
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)

Popular Stories

maxresdefault

Review: M1 Max MacBook Pro After Three Months

Wednesday January 19, 2022 11:30 am PST by
It's now been a few months since the M1 Pro and M1 Max MacBook Pro models launched in October, and MacRumors video editor Dan Barbera has been using one of the new machines since they debuted. Over on the MacRumors YouTube channel, Dan has shared a three month review of his MacBook Pro to see how it has held up over time and how it's changed his workflow. Subscribe to the MacRumors YouTube ...
iphone se 2020 top

New iPhone SE Likely to Launch in April Based on Production Timeframe

Wednesday January 19, 2022 6:44 am PST by
Apple suppliers will begin producing display panels for the third-generation iPhone SE this month, with final assembly of the device likely to start in March, according to information shared by display industry consultant Ross Young. Based on this production timeframe, Young believes the third-generation iPhone SE is likely to launch in the second half of April, or perhaps in early May at...
AirPods 3 New Firmware Feature

Apple Updates AirPods 3 Firmware to Version 4C170

Tuesday January 18, 2022 11:46 am PST by
Apple today released a new 4C170 firmware update for the AirPods 3, an update from the prior 4C165 that was made available in December. Apple does not offer details on what's included in new firmware updates for the AirPods‌, so we don't know what improvements or bug fixes the new firmware brings. There is no standard way to upgrade the ‌AirPods‌‌ software, but firmware is...
iPad Air Feature 2 green

New Apple Products Filed in Regulatory Database, Likely Including New iPhone SE and iPad Air

Tuesday January 18, 2022 6:11 am PST by
Apple today filed unreleased iPhone and iPad models in the Eurasian Economic Commission database, as spotted by French blog Consomac. The filings likely represent the rumored third-generation iPhone SE, fifth-generation iPad Air, and potentially more. The unreleased iPhone models have the identifiers A2595, A2783, and A2784, while the unreleased iPad models have the identifiers A2588, A2589, ...
iphone 5g mmwave

U.S. Airlines Warn of 'Catastrophic' Crisis With Impending 5G Rollout, AT&T and Verizon Agree to Delay Around Airports

Tuesday January 18, 2022 10:35 am PST by
Verizon and AT&T's upcoming rollout of new C-Band 5G technology could cause chaos and lead to widespread delays of passenger and cargo flights, major U.S. airlines said on Monday in a letter sent to the White House National Economic Council, the FAA, and the FCC (via Reuters). "Unless our major hubs are cleared to fly, the vast majority of the traveling and shipping public will essentially...
microsoft office icons

Microsoft Releases Office for Mac Update With Full Apple Silicon Support in Excel

Tuesday January 18, 2022 4:15 am PST by
Microsoft has released a new version of its Office for Mac productivity suite that includes an updated Excel app with 100% native support for Apple silicon machines. According to the release notes accompanying version 16.57, Excel will now run natively on Macs powered by Apple's M1-series processors without having to use the Rosetta 2 translation layer, which means anyone using a Mac with an ...
appleeducation

Apple's US Education Store Now Requires Institution Verification to Buy Discounted Products

Wednesday January 19, 2022 2:22 am PST by
Apple is now requiring that customers in the United States verify that they're active students, teachers, or staff members at an educational institution in order to access education discounts on products. Previously, little verification was needed for customers to purchase products through Apple's education store in the United States. Apple's education stores offer models of the iPad and Mac ...
iPhone 14 Mock pill and hole thumb

ProMotion Now Expected to Remain Exclusive to iPhone 14 Pro Models, Not Expand to Entire Lineup

Sunday January 16, 2022 8:56 am PST by
Continuing the tradition set with the iPhone 13 Pro, only the highest-end iPhone 14 models will feature Apple's ProMotion display technology, according to a respected display analyst. Ross Young, who on multiple occasions has detailed accurate information about Apple's future products, said in a tweet that ProMotion will not be expanded to the entire iPhone 14 lineup and will remain...
Beyond iPhone 13 Better Blue Face ID

Rumored iPhone 14 Pro Feature Delayed Until Next Year

Wednesday January 19, 2022 3:00 am PST by
Apple's long-rumored under-display Face ID technology will not be coming to the iPhone 14 Pro, according to recent reports. Based on the latest rumors, it now looks unlikely that the 6.1-inch iPhone 14 Pro and 6.7-inch iPhone 14 Pro Max will feature Face ID technology under the display as several reports claimed over the past year. Display industry consultant Ross Young, who often reveals ...