There are hundreds of Qi wireless charging options available on the market, many of which feature the same no-frills plain black circle or square design. You can, for example, find dozens of inexpensive wireless chargers on Amazon at prices as low as $10, but if you're looking for a more thoughtful, unique design you may need to spend a bit more.

I've been taking a look at some of the wireless charging options that stand out from the crowd, and over the last few weeks, I've been testing iOttie's 7.5W iON Wireless Fast Charging Pad Plus and 7.5W iON Wireless Fast Charging Pad Mini.

iottiesidebyside

iON Mini in gray on left, iON Plus in beige on right

Both the iON and the iON Mini are rectangle-shaped wireless chargers that are about as wide as the iPhone X. The Mini is about an inch shorter than the standard iON, and it's also thinner because the iON has an extra cutout in the middle that's meant to allow for better airflow.

ottieionchargersstacked
Neither charger takes up too much space on a desk given the rectangular shape that can fit easily against a flat surface or in a corner, but the larger iON does take up more area, both horizontally and vertically.

The two chargers are wrapped in a heathered linen fabric in colors that include gray, beige, red, and black, and this design is attractive and looks nicer sitting on a desk or a bedside table than a standard black charger. At the top of each charger there's a silicone ring for holding the iPhone in place while it charges.

ottieionminisize
Underneath the fabric, the body of the iON chargers is made from a lightweight plastic material. It's not the most high-quality material, but it does make these nice and light in case you want to bring them along on a trip or tuck them into a bag for a commute to the office.

ottieionpluscord
I liked the rectangle shape of the chargers because it matched the iPhone and it was easy to position the iPhone in the right way to charge without needing to fuss with finding the right spot for the coils to match up. That can be a hassle with some of the larger wireless chargers on the market.

ottieionpluscharging
There is a middle cutout in the bigger iON charger to reduce heat, and this version also has an extra USB-A port so you can plug another accessory in to charge it at the same time. iOttie says that this cutout on the iON Plus is meant to keep it cooler when charging, but I'm not sure that it added much aside from extra height.

ottieionthickness
Small LEDs on the front let you know when the iPhone is in the correct position, and these LEDs are little enough that they're not too noticeable in a dark room.

At the bottom of the iON chargers, there are four silicone feet to keep the charger itself secured on a desk, table, nightstand, or other flat surface. A USB-C to USB-A cable plugs into the back of each charger, and when connected to the included QC 2.0 charger, 7.5W charging speeds are available.

ottieionplusbottom
The iPhone X, iPhone 8, and iPhone 8 Plus can all charge at a maximum of 7.5W, but to reach these speeds, a 15W+ power adapter is required. While designed for iPhone, iOttie's iON chargers will work with Qi-based Android devices.

I did two charging tests with each of the iON chargers, draining my iPhone X to 1 percent battery life and then giving it an hour to charge while in Airplane mode to make sure nothing was draining the battery. The ambient temperature in the room was about 73 degrees, a factor that will impact wireless charging times due to the complexities of temperature regulation when it comes to wireless charging.

iottieminiwithiphone
With the larger iON Plus charging pad, it went from 1 percent to 39 percent in an hour both times. This is in line with what I've seen from other 7.5W wireless chargers during the summertime when indoor temperatures are warmer. I have seen some faster charging speeds by a percent or two, but it does appear the iON Plus is charging at 7.5W as advertised.

ottieionplussize
Speeds were a little bit slower with the iON Mini charging pad, coming in at 32 percent and 37 percent. It's likely my iPhone wasn't seated quite right on the charging pad during the first test, which just speaks to how important it can be to make sure things are lined up.

A 37 percent charge is still not too far off of other 7.5W wireless charging speeds that I've seen, though it is getting closer to 5W wireless charging speeds.

ottieionplusports
Compared to other 7.5W wireless chargers, that middle air vent on the iON Plus doesn't seem to add much of an edge, but the bigger version did charge faster than the iON Mini, perhaps because of the promised airflow improvements.

Bottom Line

My favorite of the two iON wireless chargers from iOttie was the Mini, because I preferred its more compact size and its pocketability. It fits into a pocket or takes up little room in a purse or bag, so it's a better travel choice.

The Mini was the slower charger of the two, but when I wirelessly charge my device, I'm generally doing so over the course of the day (or overnight) to keep it topped up, making charging speed less of a factor. I suspect many people who use wireless charging are using it in a similar manner, given that even the fastest wireless chargers can't compete with faster wired charging methods.

iottieminipoweradapter
The larger iON Plus version is ideal as a desktop charger if you want to add a little height to your iPhone while it's charging to keep it up and out of the way, and both chargers look nice and function well.

iOttie's chargers are not as cheap as some options on Amazon, but if you're looking for a nicer aesthetic for your accessories, these are worth taking a look at.

How to Buy

The iON Wireless Fast Charging Pad Plus can be purchased from iOttie for $54.95. It's also available on Amazon.com for $40 to $50.

The iON Wireless Fast Charging Pad Mini can be purchased from iOttie for $44.95. It's also available on Amazon.com for $30 to $40.

Note: iOttie provided MacRumors with the iON Wireless Fast Charging Pad Mini and Plus for the purpose of this review. No other compensation was received.

Top Rated Comments

bmunge Avatar
42 months ago
Do these have batteries in them to operate wirelessly? I don’t get why they are so thick and look like a wallet... you can get much more attractive options for cheaper.
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
calstanford Avatar
42 months ago
Is this an ad?
Cuz those charging plates are 3x as thick as basically anything else you can buy for no reason
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
samh004 Avatar
42 months ago
Do these have batteries in them to operate wirelessly? I don’t get why they are so thick and look like a wallet... you can get much more attractive options for cheaper.
I like the look and was thinking how lovely these chargers would be on a trip... and then realised they don't have batteries in them. If they did, I'd be very interested!

I really want to know what phone case that is. I like it! And iOttie makes some pretty cool products!
Looks like a standard Apple case in "Ultra Violet".

Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)
H3LL5P4WN Avatar
42 months ago
Actually, not shabby at all. I prefer the looks of the mini, but it seems the experience is better with the fullsize.
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)
macduke Avatar
42 months ago
For some reason I just assumed these had a battery in them until I started reading the comments. Why are they so freaking thick? There is nothing useful about these at all. The design isn't even that good and they're expensive. If you're going to make them this thick at least put a battery or speaker in there! I can't believe that they are basically saying "We didn't want to hire a thermal engineer, so we just shoved some coils into a fat enclosure wrapped in cloth and called it design." But can that be true? What I don't understand is that this is coming from iOttie, and I have their really nice iPhone mount that has wireless charging and it works great! It's one of my favorite things from the past year. What is the deal guys? And FYI, a lot of the negative reviews are from people who don't read the directions. You're supposed to adjust the height to match your phone's charging sweet spot so it starts charging every time you pop it in. Make the adjustment once or twice per year and it's good to go.

Just get an Anker charging pad for $20 on Amazon and be done with it. The thing is about a quarter inch thin and black, supports faster charging, works fine with cases, isn't really fussy about positioning (within reason, I get it 95% of the time when laying it down, wish the pad was a bit bigger but it's fine), and the ugly blue lights in the photo only slowly pulse a few times to indicate it has connected to the phone and then they go away quickly. https://www.amazon.com/Anker-Wireless-Qi-Certified-PowerPort-Fast-Charging/dp/B01KJL4XNY/
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)

Top Stories

studio buds family

Beats Studio Buds Debuting Today With Active Noise Cancellation, Stemless Design, and More for $150

Monday June 14, 2021 8:00 am PDT by
We've seen a lot of teasers about the Beats Studio Buds over the past month since they first showed up in Apple's beta software updates, and today they're finally official. The Beats Studio Buds are available to order today in red, white, and black ahead of a June 24 ship date, and they're priced at $149.99. The Studio Buds are the first Beats-branded earbuds to truly compete with AirPods...
affinity designer contour tool

Serif Updates Affinity Photo, Designer, and Publisher With New Tools and Functions

Thursday February 4, 2021 1:58 am PST by
Serif today announced across-the-board updates for its popular suite of Affinity creative apps, including Affinity Photo, Affinity Designer, and the Apple award-winning Affinity Publisher for Mac, all of which were among the first professional creative suites to be optimized for Apple's new M1 chip. "After another year which saw record numbers of people switching to Affinity, it's exciting to...
maxresdefault

Craig Federighi and Greg Joswiak Discuss iPadOS 15, macOS Monterey, Privacy, Shortcuts on Mac, and More

Saturday June 12, 2021 6:12 am PDT by
As is tradition, Apple executives Craig Federighi and Greg Joswiak joined Daring Fireball's John Gruber in an episode of The Talk Show to discuss several announcements that Apple made over this weeks WWDC, including iPadOS 15, macOS Monterey, and a large focus around privacy. Federighi kicks off the conversation discussing the common architecture, now thanks to Apple silicon, across all of...
M1X MBP Feature

Leaker: Upcoming MacBook Pro to See Price Hike Over Current Model, Equal Performance Across 14 and 16-Inch Sizes

Tuesday August 24, 2021 5:28 am PDT by
The upcoming 14-inch MacBook Pro is set to be more expensive than the current 13-inch MacBook Pro and both the 14 and 16-inch models will offer the same performance, according to the leaker known as "Dylandkt." The leaker shared the information on Twitter, explaining that both of the upcoming MacBook Pro models, expected to come in 14 and 16-inch sizes, will feature the same performance due...
youtube apple tv

YouTube Discontinuing 3rd-Generation Apple TV App, AirPlay Still Available

Wednesday February 3, 2021 3:09 pm PST by
YouTube is planning to stop supporting its YouTube app on the third-generation Apple TV models, where YouTube has long been available as a channel option. A 9to5Mac reader received a message about the upcoming app discontinuation, which is set to take place in March.Starting early March, the YouTube app will no longer be available on Apple TV (3rd generation). You can still watch YouTube on...
General Apps Messages

Android iMessage Competitor Puts Pressure on Apple

Friday July 30, 2021 3:15 am PDT by
Google and the three major U.S. carriers, including Verizon, AT&T, and T-Mobile, will all support a new communications protocol on Android smartphones starting in 2022, a move that puts pressure on Apple to adopt a new cross-platform messaging standard and may present a challenge to iMessage. Verizon recently announced that it is planning to adopt Messages by Google as its default messaging...
YouTube Picture in Picture Feature

YouTube Premium Subscribers Can Now Use iOS Picture-in-Picture: Here's How

Wednesday August 25, 2021 3:55 am PDT by
Google has rolled out picture-in-picture support as an "experimental" feature for YouTube premium subscribers, allowing them to watch video in a small window when the app is closed. If you're a premium YouTube subscriber looking to try out picture-in-picture, follow these steps: Launch a web browser and sign into your YouTube account at YouTube.com. Navigate to www.youtube.com/new. Scroll...
iPhone 13 Dummy Thumbnail 2

Kuo: iPhone 13 to Feature LEO Satellite Communications to Make Calls and Texts Without Cellular Coverage

Sunday August 29, 2021 7:39 am PDT by
The iPhone 13 will feature low earth orbit (LEO) satellite communication connectivity to allow users to make calls and send messages in areas without 4G or 5G coverage, according to the reliable analyst Ming-Chi Kuo. In a note to investors, seen by MacRumors, Kuo explained that the iPhone 13 lineup will feature hardware that is able to connect to LEO satellites. If enabled with the relevant...
twitterqrcode

Twitter Introduces QR Codes for Sharing and Following Accounts

Wednesday November 16, 2016 4:13 pm PST by
Twitter today introduced Snapchat-style QR codes, which are designed to make it easier to find and follow friends on the social network. Each Twitter QR code is unique to an individual Twitter user, so when scanned, it'll bring up the person's account. To access your Twitter QR code, you'll need the official Twitter app for iOS. In the app, go to your profile, tap on the gear icon, and select...
macOS Monterey on MBP Feature

Apple Seeds Sixth Beta of macOS Monterey to Developers

Monday August 30, 2021 1:11 pm PDT by
Apple today seeded the sixth developer beta of macOS Monterey, the newest version of the macOS operating system. The sixth beta comes three weeks after Apple released the fifth macOS Monterey beta. Registered developers can download the beta through the Apple Developer Center and once the appropriate profile is installed, betas will be available through the Software Update mechanism in...