Hands-On With Apple's New 13-Inch MacBook Pro

Apple on Monday announced the launch of a new 13-inch MacBook Pro with updated 10th-generation processors for higher-end machines and new scissor switch Magic Keyboards across the lineup.


We picked one up to check out what's new and to see how it compares to other machines in Apple's notebook lineup. Read on to see what we thought and whether it's worth a purchase.

Design wise, the 13-inch 2020 MacBook Pro looks identical to the 2019 model because Apple has made no external changes with the exception of the new keyboard. It continues to use the same 13.3-inch size chassis, which is disappointing as there were rumors of a swap to an updated 14.1-inch design.

macbookpro1
That 14.1-inch MacBook Pro might still come at some point in the future, but for now, Apple is continuing to sell the same old 13.3-inch model alongside the 16-inch MacBook Pro.

We bought the base model machine, which means it's still using Intel's 8th-generation processors. The higher-end 13-inch MacBook Pro models that start at $1,799 have faster and newer 10th-generation processors.

macbookpro2
Based on benchmarks, the $1,799 MacBook Pro with a 2.0GHz Core i5 10th-generation Intel chip is about 16.5 percent faster than the $1,299 base model that we have here, which features a 1.4GHz quad-core Core i5 8th-generation processor.

Apple added support for up to 32GB RAM and a 4TB SSD in the 2020 MacBook Pro refresh, but again, those features are limited to the most expensive machines. The base model can only be upgraded to 16GB RAM and a 2TB SSD.

macbookpro3
So basically, what's new in the base model MacBook Pro is the keyboard. It now features the same Magic Keyboard that Apple first introduced in the 16-inch MacBook Pro. The Magic Keyboard uses scissor-style switches instead of the old butterfly-style switches, which were notoriously unreliable and unpopular with users.

Apple's butterfly keyboards led to the initiation of a massive repair program, and though Apple tried time and time again to fix the butterfly keyboard with different band-aid methods, nothing worked, and the only way to get a more reliable keyboard was to go back to the scissor switch design.

macbookpro5
The Magic Keyboard of the 13-inch MacBook Pro should be much more reliable than the keyboards of prior models that still had butterfly switches. With the release of the 13-inch MacBook Pro, Apple has now officially eliminated the butterfly keyboard from its entire notebook lineup.

Design wise, the Magic Keyboard features a physical escape key and inverted T arrow keys, but it continues to feature a Touch Bar and Touch ID for biometric authentication. When it comes to feel, the Magic Keyboard isn't too far off from the butterfly keyboard that it's replacing with good key travel and a solid feel under the fingers.

It's worth noting that higher-end MacBook Pro models with four Thunderbolt 3 ports can now support the 6K Pro Display XDR, but the lower-end models with just two Thunderbolt 3 ports are limited to one 5K or two 4K displays.

macbookpro4
Unless you're planning to shell out at least $1,799 for a new 13-inch MacBook Pro, this refresh is somewhat disappointing because the more affordable, lower-end models don't get anything but a refreshed keyboard design. At a $1,799 starting price and up to $3,500 for the upgrades, some users might be better off checking out one of the 16-inch MacBook Pro models unless size is a concern.

Those interested in portability and the lower-end specs of the more affordable MacBook Pro will want to take a good look at the MacBook Air, which may be a better value.

Related Roundups: MacBook Pro 13", MacBook Pro 16"

Top Rated Comments

Zdigital2015 Avatar
9 months ago
Sorry MacRumors, but the recommendation of checking out the 16” instead of the 13” misses the point completely. The $1799 version of the 13” matches with the $2399 version of the 16” and the $1999 version matches with the $2799 16”.

The difference in cost is $600 and $800, respectively. That’s a huge delta for most users who are simply going to buy what Apple offers without adding BTO options.

For $600, I get 2 more cores, a larger display, a discrete GPU, better microphones and speakers. That’s it. For $600. Which may be of value to some, but not others. The price delta is not insignificant.

For $800, I get 4 more cores, a larger display, a more powerful discrete GPU, better microphones and speakers. That’s it. For $800. That is no small drop in the bucket.

You are being incredibly disingenuous when you state the 13” MacBook Pro goes to $3500 with upgrades, but don’t give me the price for the corresponding 16” model as though I wouldnt want to upgrade it as well. By the way, the price difference between a loaded 13” and an equivalent 6-core is still $400 and between the loaded 13” and the 8-core is $600.

It would be nice if the editors writing these so-called “reviews” actually thought about what they are writing and that they work for MACrumors and not PCPeopleWhoSecretlyWorkAtMacRumors. Even if you think the 16” is a better value, stating it in an objective manner would go a long way from the lazy writing I see here. The rest of the review is just a mess and could use a pass by a decent editor.
Score: 37 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Zdigital2015 Avatar
9 months ago


The Macbook Air has been known to have cooling issues due to some weirdness about the placement of a heat pipe or something (I'm not that hardware savvy, you'd have to google it up or search on the forums) that makes it under perform when doing some heavy tasks. The Pro would be better for heavy users instead.

There is no heat pipe between the MBAs CPU and the fan, that’s the problem. I don’t know what idiot engineer at Apple thought that was acceptable engineering, but it isn’t. Hitting the T-Junction doing anything more than basic stuff is either intentional sabotage to push people to the iPad Pro or to the 13” MacBook Pro OR its just lazy engineering. Once upon a time, users would buy a MacBook Air and as their workflow evolved, they found out it was way more capable than initially thought and they began creating wonderful things. Apple still hasn’t gotten the MBA back to its glory days, but I digress.


bezels are still thick. Apple is smoking crack when they say any of their products are edge to edge.

No, its the Thin Bezel Cult™ that is smoking crack. We’re not talking 2012-215 MBA bezels, these are fine and serve a purpose. Well, they serve two, one of which is to annoy the hell out of the Thin Bezel Cult™, which I’m popping popcorn now to enjoy heads popping everywhere.
Score: 18 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Zdigital2015 Avatar
9 months ago


Can you open it up? See if SSD is removable? I still have hope.

SSD hasn’t been removable for 5 years. Let it go.
Score: 14 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Zdigital2015 Avatar
9 months ago
I humbly submit my anecdotal postulation that the Thin Bezel Cult™ acolytes are the very same people who whine constantly that their laptop is for serious work and that it is not a fashion statement or an art piece and that Apple is spending too much time on the look of their computers.

Agree or Disagree?


If something happens to my motherboard I lose all my data! Yay!

Thats why you make sure and have a backup strategy to preserve your data...because that S*** can happen to anybody at any time, under any circumstances. RIGHT? Say right.
Score: 14 Votes (Like | Disagree)
MrGimper Avatar
9 months ago


I humbly submit my anecdotal postulation that the Thin Bezel Cult™ acolytes are the very same people who whine constantly that their laptop is for serious work and that it is not a fashion statement or an art piece and that Apple is spending too much time on the look of their computers.

Agree or Disagree?

I do wonder what percentage of bezel-haters actually hate the bezel through free will, and how many are socially programmed to just hate bezels. I love my 10.5" iPad Pro coz I can hold it comfortably without my thumbs covering the screen, and I love my MacBook bezels as I can adjust the screen angle without getting my fingers all over the screen.
Score: 10 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Zdigital2015 Avatar
9 months ago


I do wonder what percentage of bezel-haters actually hate the bezel through free will, and how many are socially programmed to just hate bezels. I love my 10.5" iPad Pro coz I can hold it comfortably without my thumbs covering the screen, and I love my MacBook bezels as I can adjust the screen angle without getting my fingers all over the screen.

Its a marketing bullet point to make people think they have this cutting edge device and that bezels mean “old tech”. I mean, Apple does it too, they just look better doing it. Heres my anecdotal experience:

A former coworker bought the 12” iPad Pro and first, I couldn’t pick the damn thing up without scraping the naked aluminum across his desk because they have square edges, second, I could not hold the thing securely without my fingers being in the way. I love the design, but I bought the 2017 12.9” 512GB when B and H had them on blowout. I still want an 11” Pro, but I am ambivalent about the both the edges and the no bezels.

I know at some point my 2017 is going to have to be replaced, but I much prefer the meaty bezels that allow me to carry it securely and not smudge the screen and the tapered edges that allow me to actually pick the damn thing up when its not in a case.
Score: 10 Votes (Like | Disagree)

Top Stories

16inchmacbookpromain

Kuo: New MacBook Pro Models to Feature Flat-Edged Design, MagSafe, No Touch Bar and More Ports

Thursday January 14, 2021 9:32 pm PST by
Apple is working on two new MacBook Pro models that will feature significant design changes, well-respected Apple analyst Ming-Chi Kuo said today in a note to investors that was obtained by MacRumors. According to Kuo, Apple is developing two models in 14 and 16-inch size options. The new MacBook Pro machines will feature a flat-edged design, which Kuo describes as "similar to the iPhone 12" ...
iphone x camera close

iOS 14.4 Will Introduce Warning on iPhones With Non-Genuine Cameras

Thursday January 14, 2021 8:07 am PST by
In the second beta of iOS 14.4 seeded to developers and public testers this week, MacRumors contributor Steve Moser has discovered code indicating that Apple will be introducing a new warning on iPhones that have had their camera repaired or replaced with aftermarket components rather than genuine Apple components. "Unable to verify this iPhone has a genuine Apple camera," the message will...
prototype iphone 12 pro

Prototype iPhone 12 Pro Shown Off in Photos

Wednesday January 13, 2021 3:39 pm PST by
Developer Giulio Zompetti, who often shows off prototype versions of Apple devices, today highlighted a prototype version of the iPhone 12 Pro. The iPhone 12 Pro is running an operating system called SwitchBoard, a nonUI version of the iOS 14 update that Apple uses internally. We've seen SwitchBoard on prototype devices before, as Apple uses it to test new features. Zompetti's prototype...
foldable iPhone concept feature

Apple Testing In-Display Fingerprint Sensor for iPhone 13, Foldable iPhone Also in the Works

Friday January 15, 2021 1:46 pm PST by
Apple has started "early work" on an iPhone that has a foldable display, according to a new report from Bloomberg's Mark Gurman. Though testing of a foldable iPhone has begun, Apple has not committed to releasing a device that has a foldable display. Development has not yet expanded beyond a display and Apple does not have full foldable iPhone prototypes in its labs. Like foldable...
Apple TV Ray Light 2 Triad

Apple Extends Free Apple TV+ Trials Until July

Friday January 15, 2021 10:50 am PST by
Apple is once again planning to extend its free Apple TV+ trial subscriptions, this time until July. When Apple TV+ launched in November 2019, Apple offered free Apple TV+ subscriptions to those who purchased a new Apple device in or after September 2019. Those free subscriptions were set to expire in November 2020, but in October 2020, Apple announced that it was extending free trials...
macbook pro 16 inch thunderbolt

Bloomberg: Next-Generation MacBook Pro to Offer Improved Displays, Faster Charging Over MagSafe

Thursday January 14, 2021 11:36 pm PST by
Following today's report from analyst Ming-Chi Kuo outlining major changes for the next-generation MacBook Pro models coming in the third quarter of this year, Bloomberg's Mark Gurman has weighed in with his own report corroborating some of the details but seemingly differing a bit on others. First, Gurman shares more details on the return of MagSafe charging to the MacBook Pro, indicating...
Hue module dimmer switch

Philips Hue Announces New Wall Switch Module, Dimmer Switch, and Outdoor Light Bar

Thursday January 14, 2021 3:11 am PST by
Philips Hue has announced a new wireless dimmer switch module that lets Hue bridge owners directly control the smart lighting from their standard wall switches. The new Philips Hue wall switch module is the ideal addition to any Philips Hue set up. Installed behind existing light switches, it allows users to turn their existing switch into a smart switch and ensures their smart lighting is...
pat gelsinger intel

Incoming Intel CEO Derides Company's Inability to 'Deliver Better Products' Than Apple's M1 Chip

Friday January 15, 2021 6:17 am PST by
Incoming Intel CEO Pat Gelsinger has said that the company must "deliver better products" than Apple, which he described as a "lifestyle company," and says that Intel's best days are "in front of it" (via The Oregonian). Speaking at an Intel all-hands meeting yesterday, Gelsinger derisively implied that Apple is merely a "lifestyle company," so Intel must be able to surpass its technology: ...
mac pro mini feature

Apple Working on Two New Mac Pro Desktops, One of Which Will Be Reminiscent of Power Mac G4 Cube

Friday January 15, 2021 10:23 am PST by
Apple is developing two versions of the Mac Pro to succeed the Mac Pro that was first released in December 2019, according to a new report from Bloomberg. The first updated Mac Pro is a direct successor to the current Mac Pro and it will use the same design. It may also be equipped with Intel processors rather than Apple silicon chips, and it could be one of the sole machines in the Mac...
pioneer carplay wc5700nex

The Best Apple-Related Accessories at CES 2021

Wednesday January 13, 2021 1:16 pm PST by
CES 2021 is taking place digitally this year, and it hasn't been as exciting as in past years because many vendors have opted out. That said, some companies are still showing off some interesting Apple-related accessories that are coming out this year and that will be of interest to Mac, iPad, and iPhone users. Subscribe to the MacRumors YouTube channel for more videos. Pioneer Wireless...