Hands-On With Apple's New 13-Inch MacBook Pro

Apple on Monday announced the launch of a new 13-inch MacBook Pro with updated 10th-generation processors for higher-end machines and new scissor switch Magic Keyboards across the lineup.

Subscribe to the MacRumors YouTube channel for more videos.

We picked one up to check out what's new and to see how it compares to other machines in Apple's notebook lineup. Read on to see what we thought and whether it's worth a purchase.

Design wise, the 13-inch 2020 ‌MacBook Pro‌ looks identical to the 2019 model because Apple has made no external changes with the exception of the new keyboard. It continues to use the same 13.3-inch size chassis, which is disappointing as there were rumors of a swap to an updated 14.1-inch design.


That 14.1-inch ‌MacBook Pro‌ might still come at some point in the future, but for now, Apple is continuing to sell the same old 13.3-inch model alongside the 16-inch ‌MacBook Pro‌.

We bought the base model machine, which means it's still using Intel's 8th-generation processors. The higher-end 13-inch ‌MacBook Pro‌ models that start at $1,799 have faster and newer 10th-generation processors.


Based on benchmarks, the $1,799 ‌MacBook Pro‌ with a 2.0GHz Core i5 10th-generation Intel chip is about 16.5 percent faster than the $1,299 base model that we have here, which features a 1.4GHz quad-core Core i5 8th-generation processor.

Apple added support for up to 32GB RAM and a 4TB SSD in the 2020 ‌MacBook Pro‌ refresh, but again, those features are limited to the most expensive machines. The base model can only be upgraded to 16GB RAM and a 2TB SSD.


So basically, what's new in the base model ‌MacBook Pro‌ is the keyboard. It now features the same Magic Keyboard that Apple first introduced in the 16-inch ‌MacBook Pro‌. The Magic Keyboard uses scissor-style switches instead of the old butterfly-style switches, which were notoriously unreliable and unpopular with users.

Apple's butterfly keyboards led to the initiation of a massive repair program, and though Apple tried time and time again to fix the butterfly keyboard with different band-aid methods, nothing worked, and the only way to get a more reliable keyboard was to go back to the scissor switch design.


The Magic Keyboard of the 13-inch ‌MacBook Pro‌ should be much more reliable than the keyboards of prior models that still had butterfly switches. With the release of the 13-inch ‌MacBook Pro‌, Apple has now officially eliminated the butterfly keyboard from its entire notebook lineup.

Design wise, the Magic Keyboard features a physical escape key and inverted T arrow keys, but it continues to feature a Touch Bar and Touch ID for biometric authentication. When it comes to feel, the Magic Keyboard isn't too far off from the butterfly keyboard that it's replacing with good key travel and a solid feel under the fingers.

It's worth noting that higher-end ‌MacBook Pro‌ models with four Thunderbolt 3 ports can now support the 6K Pro Display XDR, but the lower-end models with just two Thunderbolt 3 ports are limited to one 5K or two 4K displays.


Unless you're planning to shell out at least $1,799 for a new 13-inch ‌MacBook Pro‌, this refresh is somewhat disappointing because the more affordable, lower-end models don't get anything but a refreshed keyboard design. At a $1,799 starting price and up to $3,500 for the upgrades, some users might be better off checking out one of the 16-inch ‌MacBook Pro‌ models unless size is a concern.

Those interested in portability and the lower-end specs of the more affordable ‌MacBook Pro‌ will want to take a good look at the MacBook Air, which may be a better value.

Related Roundup: MacBook Pro

Top Rated Comments

(View all)
Avatar
4 weeks ago
Sorry MacRumors, but the recommendation of checking out the 16” instead of the 13” misses the point completely. The $1799 version of the 13” matches with the $2399 version of the 16” and the $1999 version matches with the $2799 16”.

The difference in cost is $600 and $800, respectively. That’s a huge delta for most users who are simply going to buy what Apple offers without adding BTO options.

For $600, I get 2 more cores, a larger display, a discrete GPU, better microphones and speakers. That’s it. For $600. Which may be of value to some, but not others. The price delta is not insignificant.

For $800, I get 4 more cores, a larger display, a more powerful discrete GPU, better microphones and speakers. That’s it. For $800. That is no small drop in the bucket.

You are being incredibly disingenuous when you state the 13” MacBook Pro goes to $3500 with upgrades, but don’t give me the price for the corresponding 16” model as though I wouldnt want to upgrade it as well. By the way, the price difference between a loaded 13” and an equivalent 6-core is still $400 and between the loaded 13” and the 8-core is $600.

It would be nice if the editors writing these so-called “reviews” actually thought about what they are writing and that they work for MACrumors and not PCPeopleWhoSecretlyWorkAtMacRumors. Even if you think the 16” is a better value, stating it in an objective manner would go a long way from the lazy writing I see here. The rest of the review is just a mess and could use a pass by a decent editor.
Score: 36 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Avatar
4 weeks ago


The Macbook Air has been known to have cooling issues due to some weirdness about the placement of a heat pipe or something (I'm not that hardware savvy, you'd have to google it up or search on the forums) that makes it under perform when doing some heavy tasks. The Pro would be better for heavy users instead.

There is no heat pipe between the MBAs CPU and the fan, that’s the problem. I don’t know what idiot engineer at Apple thought that was acceptable engineering, but it isn’t. Hitting the T-Junction doing anything more than basic stuff is either intentional sabotage to push people to the iPad Pro or to the 13” MacBook Pro OR its just lazy engineering. Once upon a time, users would buy a MacBook Air and as their workflow evolved, they found out it was way more capable than initially thought and they began creating wonderful things. Apple still hasn’t gotten the MBA back to its glory days, but I digress.


bezels are still thick. Apple is smoking crack when they say any of their products are edge to edge.

No, its the Thin Bezel Cult™ that is smoking crack. We’re not talking 2012-215 MBA bezels, these are fine and serve a purpose. Well, they serve two, one of which is to annoy the hell out of the Thin Bezel Cult™, which I’m popping popcorn now to enjoy heads popping everywhere.
Score: 18 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Avatar
4 weeks ago


Can you open it up? See if SSD is removable? I still have hope.

SSD hasn’t been removable for 5 years. Let it go.
Score: 13 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Avatar
4 weeks ago
I humbly submit my anecdotal postulation that the Thin Bezel Cult™ acolytes are the very same people who whine constantly that their laptop is for serious work and that it is not a fashion statement or an art piece and that Apple is spending too much time on the look of their computers.

Agree or Disagree?


If something happens to my motherboard I lose all my data! Yay!

Thats why you make sure and have a backup strategy to preserve your data...because that S*** can happen to anybody at any time, under any circumstances. RIGHT? Say right.
Score: 13 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Avatar
4 weeks ago


I humbly submit my anecdotal postulation that the Thin Bezel Cult™ acolytes are the very same people who whine constantly that their laptop is for serious work and that it is not a fashion statement or an art piece and that Apple is spending too much time on the look of their computers.

Agree or Disagree?

I do wonder what percentage of bezel-haters actually hate the bezel through free will, and how many are socially programmed to just hate bezels. I love my 10.5" iPad Pro coz I can hold it comfortably without my thumbs covering the screen, and I love my MacBook bezels as I can adjust the screen angle without getting my fingers all over the screen.
Score: 10 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Avatar
4 weeks ago


I do wonder what percentage of bezel-haters actually hate the bezel through free will, and how many are socially programmed to just hate bezels. I love my 10.5" iPad Pro coz I can hold it comfortably without my thumbs covering the screen, and I love my MacBook bezels as I can adjust the screen angle without getting my fingers all over the screen.

Its a marketing bullet point to make people think they have this cutting edge device and that bezels mean “old tech”. I mean, Apple does it too, they just look better doing it. Heres my anecdotal experience:

A former coworker bought the 12” iPad Pro and first, I couldn’t pick the damn thing up without scraping the naked aluminum across his desk because they have square edges, second, I could not hold the thing securely without my fingers being in the way. I love the design, but I bought the 2017 12.9” 512GB when B and H had them on blowout. I still want an 11” Pro, but I am ambivalent about the both the edges and the no bezels.

I know at some point my 2017 is going to have to be replaced, but I much prefer the meaty bezels that allow me to carry it securely and not smudge the screen and the tapered edges that allow me to actually pick the damn thing up when its not in a case.
Score: 10 Votes (Like | Disagree)

Top Stories

Apple Doubles the Price of RAM Upgrade on Entry-Level 13-Inch MacBook Pro

Saturday May 30, 2020 4:00 pm PDT by
Apple today doubled the price for upgrading the RAM on the entry-level 13-inch MacBook Pro, with customers in the United States now being charged $200 to move from 8GB to 16GB compared to the previous $100 upgrade price. Similar increases are seen in other countries, such as moving from €125 to €250 in Germany and from £100 to £200 in the United Kingdom. Current pricing on RAM upgrade for ...

8 Mac Tips and Tricks You Might Not Know

Friday May 29, 2020 12:36 pm PDT by
There are tons of hidden features and shortcuts for Macs that Apple has built into macOS over the years, ranging from shortcuts to keyboard commands to other little hacks to make Mac usage just a bit simpler. In our latest YouTube video, we highlighted several of these tips and tricks, and some of them might just be new to you. Subscribe to the MacRumors YouTube channel for more videos. Tr...

Apple Begins Selling Refurbished iPhone XR Models

Thursday May 28, 2020 9:50 pm PDT by
Apple today began selling certified refurbished iPhone XR models in select colors and capacities for the first time in the United States. Refurbished iPhone XR models are priced at a roughly 16 percent discount compared to current pricing on brand-new units, knocking $100–120 off of the regular price. In addition to the 64GB and 128GB capacities matching current brand-new iPhone XR models, ...

Top Stories: macOS 10.15.5, New Powerbeats Pro Colors, iPhone 12 and 13 Rumors, and More

Saturday May 30, 2020 6:00 am PDT by
This week saw an interesting mix of news and rumors on the Apple front, led by the release of macOS 10.15.5, which brings a new battery health feature to newer Mac notebooks, while we also saw the official announcement of new colors for the Powerbeats Pro earphones. On the rumor front, we heard a few tidbits about not just this year's iPhone 12 but also next year's iPhone, while we saw...

Powerbeats Pro Debut in Four New Colors: Spring Yellow, Cloud Pink, Lava Red, and Glacier Blue

Friday May 29, 2020 10:00 am PDT by
Following a couple of leaks in recent weeks, Beats today is officially announcing four new colors for its Powerbeats Pro wireless earphones: Spring Yellow, Cloud Pink, Lava Red, and Glacier Blue. The new earphones will go on sale June 9 and sell for the same $249.95 price as the existing color options. Aside from the colors, the new Powerbeats Pro models are otherwise identical to the...

Apple Releases macOS Catalina 10.15.5 With Battery Health Management Features, Fix for Finder Freezing

Tuesday May 26, 2020 1:59 pm PDT by
Apple today released macOS Catalina 10.15.5, the fifth update to the macOS Catalina operating system that was released in October 2019. macOS Catalina 10.15.5 comes two months after the launch of macOS Catalina 10.15.4, which introduced Screen Time Communication Limits. macOS Catalina 10.15.5 is a free update that can be downloaded from the Mac App Store using the Update feature in the...

Apple Making It Harder to Avoid Nagging macOS Update Notifications

Thursday May 28, 2020 8:13 am PDT by
With the release of macOS Catalina 10.15.5 and related security updates for macOS Mojave and High Sierra earlier this week, Apple is making it more difficult for users to ignore available software updates and remain on their current operating system versions. Included in the release notes for macOS Catalina 10.15.5 is the following:- Major new releases of macOS are no longer hidden when...

Leaker Shares Details on 'iPhone 13' Camera [Updated]

Wednesday May 27, 2020 4:27 pm PDT by
The next-generation iPhone 12 lineup coming in fall 2020 isn't out yet, but Fudge (@choco_bit), a leaker who sometimes shares information on upcoming Apple devices, today offered up details on what Apple has in store for the 2021 iPhone 13's camera setup. A simple design drawing depicts a device with a four camera array, which Fudge claims will have the following features: 64-megapixel...

More Photos and Video of Apple's Redesigned Leather Loop Watch Band Surface

Thursday May 28, 2020 10:50 am PDT by
Images of a new version of the Leather Loop that Apple appears to have in development surfaced yesterday, and today, Vietnamese site Tinhte.vn has shared additional photos and videos that give us a clearer picture of what to expect from the new band. The bands come in colors that include red, hot pink, blue, black, and brown, with some of the bands featuring different colored accents at the...

Tile Writes to EU Accusing Apple of Abuse of Power

Friday May 29, 2020 4:29 am PDT by
Bluetooth accessory maker Tile has written to the European Union accusing Apple of abuse of power and of illegally favoring its own products. According to a report by Financial Times, in a letter sent on Tuesday to the European Commissioner for Competition, the accessory maker said that Apple is making it harder for users to use Tile products on iPhone because it has its own rival Find My...