Uber Falls in Line With Settings in iOS 11 That Limit Use of Location Services

Uber has updated its iOS app to fall in line with new options in iOS 11 that let users limit an app's use of location services (via The Verge).

With iOS 11 installed, it's possible to restrict the gathering of location data by any third-party app so that it can only access the device's location status when the app is in use.

Uber has faced criticism in the past for tracking users' location even when they aren't using the service, while offering them only a binary choice of either allowing always-on tracking or turning it off altogether.

Uber had argued that the tracking enhanced rider safety and said it restricted tracking to five minutes following a ride anyway, but many users cited the policy as a privacy concern.


With the latest update however, Uber has highlighted the fact that users can elect to share their location "While Using the App", "Always", or "Never". These options can be found in the Settings app under Privacy -> Location Services -> Uber.

These permissions override any third-party app's settings, which should address users' concerns regarding similar behavior.

Tag: Uber


Top Rated Comments

(View all)
Avatar
13 months ago
They never actually gave us the choice until Apple stepped in. It’s not them who added the location option, it’s Apple.
Uber is arrogant and not customer friendly even in their updates they don’t detail what bugs they’ve fixed or what enhancements they brought to their app it has become just like Facebook.
Rating: 12 Votes
Avatar
13 months ago
Otherwise known as “Uber trying to do a positive PR spin on a decision that they had nothing to do with.”
Rating: 10 Votes
Avatar
13 months ago
I laughed when I saw this.

I stopped using Uber when the app was updated to include all-the-time-tracking. I don't DO anything I need to hide, but if you're going to get the data you need to pay me for it.

What's funny is that - at this point - with all the sh*t we've heard about Uber I can't imagine a scenario where I'd go back to them. I have the perfect combo of Curb for taxis and the combined Gett/Juno service.

And that's really the problem for Uber now isn't it? If I had never removed Uber I would not have looked for alternatives. And now that I have a solution there's no reason to consider Uber again.

I wonder how many other customers they lost over the location issue?
Rating: 7 Votes
Avatar
13 months ago
Good work apple !!
Rating: 7 Votes
Avatar
13 months ago

I laughed when I saw this.

I stopped using Uber when the app was updated to include all-the-time-tracking. I don't DO anything I need to hide, but if you're going to get the data you need to pay me for it.


I uninstalled Uber due to the location tracking issue (and to the fact that I only use it 1-2x per year at most). However, if you want to get paid for your data you shouldn't use services from Facebook, Snapchat, Instagram, Google, Microsoft, and so on. You should also generally stay off the web unless you have severe script blocking, cookie blocking, and use a VPN. Even Apple uses your data and they don't pay you for it. Uber was maybe more egregious in their offenses but many things offered for free come with a cost - the smallest of which might be your data.
Rating: 2 Votes
Avatar
13 months ago

The article is wrong. Uber hasn't changed their app background tracking setting choices. If you're still running iOS 10 or lower, the only settings available to use with the most recent app are STILL Always or Never.

Not true. They changed this about a week ago, and the "only when using" option showed up on iOS 10 as well.
Rating: 1 Votes
Avatar
13 months ago

They never actually gave us the choice until Apple stepped in. It’s not them who added the location option, it’s Apple.
Uber is arrogant and not customer friendly even in their updates they don’t detail what bugs they’ve fixed or what enhancements they brought to their app it has become just like Facebook.


Yah, regarding the lack of app update notes, that is one of the most annoying things with many popular apps. They have this boilerplate text and never change it from update to update. Do they really think users are that dumb or don't care about knowing what has changed? It really is an insult to their users' intelligence.
Rating: 1 Votes
[ Read All Comments ]