The iPhone 6 and the iPhone 6 Plus are Apple's thinnest iPhones yet at 6.9 and 7.1mm, respectively, and these ultra thin devices have spawned a range of super thin cases that aim to offer scratch protection without adding bulk. Of the dozens of featherweight cases on the market, the Scarf case from California case maker Totallee is one of the thinnest you can buy, measuring in at 0.35mm, and it's affordable, at $14.99.

We went hands-on with Totallee's Scarf case for the iPhone 6 Plus and you can see what we thought of it in both the quick video review below and our longer full-length review.

Design

At approximately the thickness of a fingernail, the Scarf is designed not to be noticed -- its primary goal is to blend in with your phone and offer unobtrusive protection. It comes in colors that are designed to match the iPhone casing -- black, gold, white, and light gray. Light gray is a brand new addition to the Scarf lineup, and was conceived to be a better match for the Space Gray iPhone than the previously available black color.

totallee2
The Scarf is made of polypropylene, a lightweight thermoplastic polymer. It is flexible and bendable, so if you crease it forcefully, it can be damaged. The case's flexibility lets it slip easily onto an iPhone. Like most iPhone 6 and 6 Plus cases, the Scarf has cutouts for the rear camera, the power button, the volume button, and the mute switch. It covers the top of the phone, but leaves the bottom open for access to the Lightning port, speaker holes, and headphone port.

Since there are cutouts for the mute switch and volume buttons rather than a single larger opening, the Scarf can make it slightly more difficult to mute and unmute the phone. It is not any harder to access the power button or the volume button though, since those require just a press instead of a switching action.

The Scarf is translucent, so it allows the design elements of the iPhone to show through, and there's no branding, which is another bonus. With the gold, white, and light gray cases, you can clearly see the antenna bands of the iPhone, the iPhone markings, and the iconic Apple logo. With the silver and light gray cases especially, the Scarf is almost undetectable on a phone from a distance.

totallee3

Protection

As thin as it is, the Scarf does not offer drop protection. There's no cushioning to save your phone if it falls from a distance, and because the sides of the case don't come up near the screen with a lip like many thicker iPhone cases, it's also not going to protect the display in any way when it's placed face down on a surface.

What it is useful for is protecting the iPhone from minor scratches and every day wear and tear that might occur when carrying the iPhone around in a pocket or a bag. Combined with a screen protector, your device is going to be relatively safe from scratches, dings, and other cosmetic damage.

At 0.35mm, the Totallee Scarf is not thick enough to offer protection for the protruding rear camera of the iPhone 6 and 6 Plus when placed on a hard surface, so there's going to be some wobble. Measured with a caliper, the iPhone 6 camera protrudes just over 0.75mm from the body, so the Scarf would need to be twice as thick to make the phone flush with the camera.

totalleemontage
In addition to offering scratch protection, the Scarf adds a small bit of extra grip to the iPhone 6 and 6 Plus, making them easier to hold onto. The case feels like a thick plastic, but with some slight texturizing that feels pleasant in the hand (for reference, it feels similar to the plastic of a gallon milk jug).The added grip is nowhere near as much as the Apple-branded silicone iPhone 6 case, but it's enough that it doesn't slip out of a hand quite as easily.

Who's it For?

The Scarf is a case for those of you who are looking for scratch protection to keep your iPhone pristine, but without any added bulk.

It seems almost criminal to add a case to one of the new iPhones due to their extreme thinness and feel in the hand, but the Scarf adds so little extra thickness that it's a nice compromise for people who want the look of an unfettered iPhone with some of the protection of a case.

totalee1

How to Buy

The Scarf can be purchased from the Totallee website for $14.99. It's also available on Amazon at the slightly cheaper price of $12.99.

Top Rated Comments

yaboyac29 Avatar
119 months ago
Why pay $14 when the exact same case is available on eBay for $1
Score: 10 Votes (Like | Disagree)
dannyyankou Avatar
119 months ago
Macrumors authors must love reading people's complaints after putting a lot of time into in depth reviews. :rolleyes:

This looks like a good case. I don't have an iPhone 6, but the reviews for the 5/5s version look good. I'll check it out.
Score: 3 Votes (Like | Disagree)
johnoffthewall3 Avatar
119 months ago
I have owned the Scarf for a few weeks now and like it a lot. I have been an advocate for using you iPhone without any case on. Most cases are just too hideous and covering up my iPhone with something ugly wasn't something I was willing to do. I enjoyed the design of the iPhone too much. But when I got the new iPhone 6 I just felt that I needed something to give some extra grip. I love the iPhone 6 , but boy can it be slippery. So for me it was all about getting something very minimal that makes my iPhone more grippy. Got the Scarf and have been loving it. It's well made. I use the white case, which is actually a frosted semi-transparent case and looks lovely on my space grey iPhone 6. Thinking of getting the light grey one for an even more "invisible" look. My favorite part is that I can still fully enjoy the design of the iPhone.
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Urban Joe Avatar
119 months ago
I doubt this should be described as a case.

It's more like a scratch shield...a cover at best.
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
johnoffthewall3 Avatar
118 months ago
I'm thinking about getting this, I was wondering does the case still allow for the curve feeling of the edges of the screen? I had the leather case for mine and I've too it off but since I wear jeans and have the gold version it's best if I have a cover for the antenna bands. I really want to keep that curve feeling when swiping though.


The case is very thin, much thinner than the leather case. It only grabs the iPhone on the edges and does not cover up the curved glass. It pretty much covers the aluminum part and only extends a fraction of mm beyond that. It's very precisely made. It's amazing how firmly it stays on considering how thin and non-interfering it is. So, yes, you will retain the feel of the curved screen you are looking for. I've had the case for some months now and it's by far my favorite. Really well made.
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)
YoitsTmac Avatar
119 months ago
I was shocked when I saw this, because I've had this case for a while. As a long time owner, I have to say the case is so thin that the camera is not protected from being placed on a table. The paint or coating is so thin, it's slowly rubbed off, and I'm extremely careful with my phone. I also have to say, the phone is so thin that you actually do notice the added thickness pretty well, so I remove it when I'm home, where its carpeted. Constant removal begins to warp the case
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)

Popular Stories

apple tv 4k yellow bg feature

When to Expect a New Apple TV to Launch

Tuesday April 9, 2024 8:30 am PDT by
It has been nearly a year and a half since the current Apple TV was released, so the device is becoming due for a hardware upgrade. Below, we recap rumors about the next Apple TV, including potential features and launch timing. The current model is the third-generation Apple TV 4K, announced in October 2022. Key new features compared to the previous model from 2021 include a faster A15...
iPhone 16 Camera Lozenge 2 Colors

iPhone 16 Plus Rumored to Come in These 7 Colors

Wednesday April 10, 2024 3:52 am PDT by
Apple's iPhone 16 Plus may come in seven colors that either build upon the existing five colors in the standard iPhone 15 lineup or recast them in a new finish, based on a new rumor out of China. According to the Weibo-based leaker Fixed focus digital, Apple's upcoming larger 6.7-inch iPhone 16 Plus model will come in the following colors, compared to the colors currently available for the...
iPhone 16 Pro Sizes Feature

Alleged iPhone 16 Battery Details Show Smaller Capacity for One Model

Tuesday April 9, 2024 3:46 am PDT by
Apple's upcoming iPhone 16 lineup will feature bigger battery capacities compared to previous-generation models with the exception of the iPhone 16 Plus, which will have a smaller battery than its predecessor. That's according to the Chinese Weibo-based leaker OvO Baby Sauce OvO, a relatively new source of supply chain leaks with an as-yet unproven track record for accuracy. The iPhone 16 ...
apple silicon feature joeblue

Macs to Get AI-Focused M4 Chips Starting in Late 2024

Thursday April 11, 2024 10:10 am PDT by
Apple will begin updating its Mac lineup with M4 chips in late 2024, according to Bloomberg's Mark Gurman. The M4 chip will be focused on improving performance for artificial intelligence capabilities. Last year, Apple introduced the M3, M3 Pro, and M3 Max chips all at once in October, so it's possible we could see the M4 lineup come during the same time frame. Gurman says that the entire...
M3 iPad Feature 3

Apple Event for New iPads Still Considered 'Unlikely' Following Delays

Tuesday April 9, 2024 6:37 am PDT by
Apple is "unlikely" to hold an event to announce new iPad Pro and iPad Air models, according to sources cited by Taiwanese supply chain publication DigiTimes. Bloomberg's Mark Gurman already said Apple was not planning to hold an event for the new iPads, but he made this claim back in early March, before it was reported that the devices were postponed due to manufacturing delays. With the...
iOS 18 WWDC 24 Feature 2

iOS 18 May Feature All-New 'Safari Browsing Assistant'

Wednesday April 10, 2024 6:11 am PDT by
iOS 18 will apparently feature a new Safari browsing assistant, according to backend code on Apple's servers discovered by Nicolás Álvarez. MacRumors contributor Aaron Perris confirmed that the code exists, but not many details are known at this time. Álvarez said it seems like the browsing assistant will use iCloud Private Relay's infrastructure to send relevant data to Apple in a...