The iPhone 6 and the iPhone 6 Plus are Apple's thinnest iPhones yet at 6.9 and 7.1mm, respectively, and these ultra thin devices have spawned a range of super thin cases that aim to offer scratch protection without adding bulk. Of the dozens of featherweight cases on the market, the Scarf case from California case maker Totallee is one of the thinnest you can buy, measuring in at 0.35mm, and it's affordable, at $14.99.

We went hands-on with Totallee's Scarf case for the iPhone 6 Plus and you can see what we thought of it in both the quick video review below and our longer full-length review.

Design

At approximately the thickness of a fingernail, the Scarf is designed not to be noticed -- its primary goal is to blend in with your phone and offer unobtrusive protection. It comes in colors that are designed to match the iPhone casing -- black, gold, white, and light gray. Light gray is a brand new addition to the Scarf lineup, and was conceived to be a better match for the Space Gray iPhone than the previously available black color.

totallee2
The Scarf is made of polypropylene, a lightweight thermoplastic polymer. It is flexible and bendable, so if you crease it forcefully, it can be damaged. The case's flexibility lets it slip easily onto an iPhone. Like most iPhone 6 and 6 Plus cases, the Scarf has cutouts for the rear camera, the power button, the volume button, and the mute switch. It covers the top of the phone, but leaves the bottom open for access to the Lightning port, speaker holes, and headphone port.

Since there are cutouts for the mute switch and volume buttons rather than a single larger opening, the Scarf can make it slightly more difficult to mute and unmute the phone. It is not any harder to access the power button or the volume button though, since those require just a press instead of a switching action.

The Scarf is translucent, so it allows the design elements of the iPhone to show through, and there's no branding, which is another bonus. With the gold, white, and light gray cases, you can clearly see the antenna bands of the iPhone, the iPhone markings, and the iconic Apple logo. With the silver and light gray cases especially, the Scarf is almost undetectable on a phone from a distance.

totallee3

Protection

As thin as it is, the Scarf does not offer drop protection. There's no cushioning to save your phone if it falls from a distance, and because the sides of the case don't come up near the screen with a lip like many thicker iPhone cases, it's also not going to protect the display in any way when it's placed face down on a surface.

What it is useful for is protecting the iPhone from minor scratches and every day wear and tear that might occur when carrying the iPhone around in a pocket or a bag. Combined with a screen protector, your device is going to be relatively safe from scratches, dings, and other cosmetic damage.

At 0.35mm, the Totallee Scarf is not thick enough to offer protection for the protruding rear camera of the iPhone 6 and 6 Plus when placed on a hard surface, so there's going to be some wobble. Measured with a caliper, the iPhone 6 camera protrudes just over 0.75mm from the body, so the Scarf would need to be twice as thick to make the phone flush with the camera.

totalleemontage
In addition to offering scratch protection, the Scarf adds a small bit of extra grip to the iPhone 6 and 6 Plus, making them easier to hold onto. The case feels like a thick plastic, but with some slight texturizing that feels pleasant in the hand (for reference, it feels similar to the plastic of a gallon milk jug).The added grip is nowhere near as much as the Apple-branded silicone iPhone 6 case, but it's enough that it doesn't slip out of a hand quite as easily.

Who's it For?

The Scarf is a case for those of you who are looking for scratch protection to keep your iPhone pristine, but without any added bulk.

It seems almost criminal to add a case to one of the new iPhones due to their extreme thinness and feel in the hand, but the Scarf adds so little extra thickness that it's a nice compromise for people who want the look of an unfettered iPhone with some of the protection of a case.

totalee1

How to Buy

The Scarf can be purchased from the Totallee website for $14.99. It's also available on Amazon at the slightly cheaper price of $12.99.

Top Rated Comments

yaboyac29 Avatar
104 months ago
Why pay $14 when the exact same case is available on eBay for $1
Score: 10 Votes (Like | Disagree)
dannyyankou Avatar
104 months ago
Macrumors authors must love reading people's complaints after putting a lot of time into in depth reviews. :rolleyes:

This looks like a good case. I don't have an iPhone 6, but the reviews for the 5/5s version look good. I'll check it out.
Score: 3 Votes (Like | Disagree)
johnoffthewall3 Avatar
104 months ago
I have owned the Scarf for a few weeks now and like it a lot. I have been an advocate for using you iPhone without any case on. Most cases are just too hideous and covering up my iPhone with something ugly wasn't something I was willing to do. I enjoyed the design of the iPhone too much. But when I got the new iPhone 6 I just felt that I needed something to give some extra grip. I love the iPhone 6 , but boy can it be slippery. So for me it was all about getting something very minimal that makes my iPhone more grippy. Got the Scarf and have been loving it. It's well made. I use the white case, which is actually a frosted semi-transparent case and looks lovely on my space grey iPhone 6. Thinking of getting the light grey one for an even more "invisible" look. My favorite part is that I can still fully enjoy the design of the iPhone.
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Urban Joe Avatar
104 months ago
I doubt this should be described as a case.

It's more like a scratch shield...a cover at best.
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
johnoffthewall3 Avatar
103 months ago
I'm thinking about getting this, I was wondering does the case still allow for the curve feeling of the edges of the screen? I had the leather case for mine and I've too it off but since I wear jeans and have the gold version it's best if I have a cover for the antenna bands. I really want to keep that curve feeling when swiping though.


The case is very thin, much thinner than the leather case. It only grabs the iPhone on the edges and does not cover up the curved glass. It pretty much covers the aluminum part and only extends a fraction of mm beyond that. It's very precisely made. It's amazing how firmly it stays on considering how thin and non-interfering it is. So, yes, you will retain the feel of the curved screen you are looking for. I've had the case for some months now and it's by far my favorite. Really well made.
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)
YoitsTmac Avatar
104 months ago
I was shocked when I saw this, because I've had this case for a while. As a long time owner, I have to say the case is so thin that the camera is not protected from being placed on a table. The paint or coating is so thin, it's slowly rubbed off, and I'm extremely careful with my phone. I also have to say, the phone is so thin that you actually do notice the added thickness pretty well, so I remove it when I'm home, where its carpeted. Constant removal begins to warp the case
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)

Popular Stories

dewey airtag

Report Highlights Danger of Using AirTags for Tracking Dogs

Monday January 30, 2023 1:45 pm PST by
AirTags may be a convenient way for tracking dogs that might get off leash or otherwise lost, but there are dangers associated with the practice, as outlined by a report from The Wall Street Journal. At 1.26 inches in diameter, AirTags are able to fit easily on a dog's collar, but that size also makes the tracking devices small enough to swallow, at least for a medium to large-sized dog, and ...
General iOS 16 Feature Yellow

Five New iOS Features Coming to Your iPhone Later This Year

Tuesday January 31, 2023 11:58 am PST by
Apple has previously announced several upcoming iOS features that are expected to be added to the iPhone this year. Some of the features could be introduced with iOS 16.4, which should enter beta testing soon, while others will arrive later in the year. Below, we have recapped five new iOS features that are expected to launch in 2023, such as an Apple Pay Later financing option for purchases ...
Apple Silicon Teal Feature

The Next Big Apple Silicon Device May Not Be a Mac or iPad

Wednesday February 1, 2023 3:57 am PST by
Apple's next device with an Apple silicon chip may not be a Mac or an iPad, but rather an advanced external display, according to recent reports. The display, which is rumored to arrive this year, is expected to sit somewhere between the $1,599 Studio Display and the $4,999 Pro Display XDR – but more exact information about the device's positioning and price point is as yet unknown. While ...
Multi Display CarPlay 1

Apple Launching All-New CarPlay Experience Later This Year With These 5 Features

Sunday January 29, 2023 10:15 am PST by
In June 2022, Apple previewed the next generation of CarPlay, promising deeper integration with vehicle functions like A/C and FM radio, support for multiple displays across the dashboard, personalization options, and more. Apple says the first vehicles with support for the next-generation CarPlay experience will be announced in late 2023, with committed automakers including Acura, Audi,...
MKBHD HomePod 2 White Ring Stain

New HomePod Can Still Stain Some Wooden Surfaces

Tuesday January 31, 2023 8:29 am PST by
When the original HomePod launched in 2018, it was discovered that the speaker can leave white rings on some wooden surfaces. Now, well-known YouTuber Marques Brownlee has confirmed that the issue persists to a lesser extent with the new HomePod. In a side-by-side test, he showed that the white second-generation HomePod left a white ring on the wooden surface that he placed the speaker on,...
HomePod 2 White and Midnight Feature Purple Blue

Apple Explains Why HomePod Was Released Again, Wi-Fi 4 Limitation, and More

Thursday February 2, 2023 7:57 am PST by
Apple's VP of hardware engineering Matthew Costello and product marketing employee Alice Chan recently spoke with Men's Journal and TechCrunch about the new second-generation HomePod in wide-ranging interviews about the smart speaker. Apple discontinued the original full-size HomePod in March 2021 after multiple reports indicated that sales of the speaker were lackluster, but Chan told Men's ...