If you're looking for a quick and easy way to transfer your iCloud photos to Google Photos, look no further. Apple now offers a service that's designed to streamline the process of moving your photos and videos to Google's cloud platform. Keep reading to learn how it works and how to get started with it.

First of all, make sure that Apple's iCloud-to-Google ‌Photos‌ transfer service is available in your region. As of writing it is available to customers in Australia, Canada, the European Union, Iceland, Liechtenstein, New Zealand, Norway, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

transfer from icloud to google photos feature2
Apple's service operates by request. That is, you have to ask Apple to transfer your ‌iCloud‌ media to Google ‌Photos‌. Once you've made the transfer request, you'll need to wait while Apple verifies that the request was made by you and then makes the transfer. This can take between three and seven days to complete, according to Apple, so don't get concerned if it isn't finished overnight. Bear in mind though that if you make changes to your ‌iCloud‌ media during the transfer process, those changes may not be reflected in the transfer.

Before you initiate a transfer, it's worth taking the time to consider what kind of media lives in your ‌Photos‌ library and how it's organized. Apple warns that "some content — including shared albums, smart albums, photo stream content, live photos, some metadata, and photos and videos stored in other folders or locations — is not transferred at all."

It's also worth pointing out that transferring photos and videos from iCloud Photos doesn't remove or alter the content you store with Apple – it just sends a copy of your media to Google ‌Photos‌. If you want to delete the photos and videos you have stored on ‌iCloud‌ after you've copied them over, you'll have to do it manually.

What You'll Need

  • Your Apple ID with two-factor authentication enabled.
  • A Google account to use Google ‌Photos‌.
  • Enough storage available on your Google account to accommodate the transferred photos.

How to Request a Transfer of Your iCloud Photos Content

  1. Open a web browser and navigate to privacy.apple.com, then sign in using your ‌Apple ID‌ credentials.
  2. Select Transfer a copy of your data.
    iCloud

  3. The next page will tell you how many pictures and videos will be copied from ‌iCloud Photos‌ and how much storage they require. Click Under "Choose where you'd like to transfer your photos," click the dropdown menu, then select Google Photos.
    iCloud

  4. Use the checkboxes to indicate whether you want to transfer your photos or your videos, or both, then click Continue.
    iCloud

  5. On the next page, confirm that your Google account has the required storage to transfer the selected media by clicking Continue.
  6. Lastly, sign in to your Google account and select the location where you want the files to go.

You'll receive an email from Apple to notify you when the transfer is complete.

Top Stories

Whatsapp Feature

How to Review and Delete WhatsApp Media

Thursday April 8, 2021 4:47 pm PDT by
If you're a heavy WhatsApp user and your iPhone is running low on storage, it may be that all the videos, voice messages and photos stored in the app are taking up a hefty amount of space on your device. Fortunately, WhatsApp features a built-in media management tool that can help you identify, select, and bulk delete GIFs, photos, and videos that may be filling up your phone. The tool...
iphone x macbook hero imessage how to

How to Free Up Space on iPhone and iPad By Storing Messages in iCloud

Thursday April 8, 2021 4:52 pm PDT by
Messages in iCloud, as the name suggests, stores your iMessages in Apple's cloud servers rather than on each of your individual devices, which has a number of benefits. When you receive a message on one device, it shows up on all devices logged into the same iCloud account. Likewise, when you delete messages and conversations they are instantly removed from all your devices. Another...
ios 13 iphone ipad duo

How to Erase Your iPhone or iPad

Thursday April 8, 2021 4:28 pm PDT by
Erasing your iPhone or iPad is a good idea when it comes to selling the device, giving it away, or taking it to a store for repairs. It's also one way to start afresh if your device's storage is nearing full capacity, so it's worth knowing how it's done. Before you erase anything though, you should back up your device, just in case. You can back up your data to iCloud, but we'd advise you...
mac mini macbook pro macbook air m1

How to Erase an M1 Mac

Tuesday March 2, 2021 11:25 am PST by
This article explains how to erase (or format) the built-in startup disk of a Mac with Apple silicon. Note that erasing your Mac permanently deletes all files on it, so follow the backup advice carefully. If you plan to give away, sell, or trade in a Mac, erasing your Mac should be the final step. First, Back Up Your Data Before you do anything, you should back up the files on your Mac. You ...
mail ios app icon

How to Prevent Emails From Tracking You in Apple Mail

Thursday May 13, 2021 11:25 am PDT by
Apple's App Tracking Transparency feature is designed to allow users to opt out of the surreptitious tracking that third-party apps have traditionally relied on for ad targeting purposes. But tracking can go on in your email inbox, too. Unsolicited marketing emails will sometimes know whether you've opened their email, and if so, when you did so. They can even know where you were at the...
m1 mac family

How to Record Your Mac's Screen

Tuesday May 18, 2021 3:41 pm PDT by
If you've ever wanted to record a video of your Mac's screen but don't know quite how to do so, then you've come to the right place. Keep reading to learn how you can record any Mac desktop activity in just a few simple steps. Recording the activity on your Mac's screen can be useful for a number of reasons. For example, if you want to teach someone how to perform a particular function on...
photos icon

How to Back Up Your iPhone Photos

Wednesday May 12, 2021 9:26 am PDT by
Backing up the photos you take on your iPhone might not sound like a thrilling prospect, but it's far from a thankless task. On the contrary, it's a crucial step in ensuring that your most precious pictures are never lost. Plus, once you have a system for backing up your photos in place, you can get on with enjoying taking pictures with your smartphone in the confidence that they're safe. You...
ios 13 iphone ipad duo

How to Back Up Your iPhone or iPad Using iCloud

Tuesday April 6, 2021 3:50 pm PDT by
Creating an iPhone or iPad backup should be routine for most users, as it's a simple procedure and the easiest way to recover your data if your device is replaced, lost, or stolen. There are two types of backup available to iOS users. iCloud backups are encrypted automatically and stored in the cloud, and you can create and use them anywhere with a Wi-Fi connection. By contrast, computer-base...
how to take burst photos iphone 11

How to Delete Redundant Burst Mode Photos on iPhone and iPad

Thursday April 8, 2021 4:37 pm PDT by
Burst Mode refers to when the camera on your iOS device captures a series of photos in rapid succession, at a rate of ten frames per second. It's a great way to shoot an action scene or an unexpected event, since you're always more likely to end up with the picture you were aiming for. Whenever you take a series of burst photos, they automatically appear in the Photo app under the Album name ...
photos icon

How to Delete Large Attachments on iPhone and iPad

Thursday April 8, 2021 4:50 pm PDT by
Apple's iOS mobile operating system includes built-in features that offer suggestions on how you can save space on your iOS device. These space-saving suggestions can help you free up space on your iPhone and iPad when storage space is running low, so it's worth checking in on them from time to time. One of these built-in features encourages you to review large attachments taking up storage in ...