Video Review: Motorola's VerveOnes Earbuds are Truly Wireless but Come at a Cost

For the past year, I've exclusively used Bluetooth earbuds while out and about. For me, the convenience of not being tethered to my phone outweighs any downside in sound quality, but all the pairs I've owned before haven't been truly wireless; they're always connected with some sort of cable.

These are the VerveOnes from Motorola, and they're the first pair of truly wireless earbuds I've used. In the package you get the two earbuds and a carrying case for charging. It's a simple setup that affords you portability and battery life.


The VerveOnes connect over Bluetooth to each other and to your phone. For the most part, while using them, the connection was strong, but there were instances where some interference was noticeable.

The sound quality is mediocre. There's a decent amount of bass, but the sound is generally muddy with no real depth and the highs have a tendency to clip at higher volumes. These are a pair of earbuds for convenience, not stellar sound.

After a few weeks of testing, it's hard to recommend the VerveOnes. They can be purchased from the VerveLife website for $199, but for that price, the connectivity issues and sound quality make the earbuds a hard sell.



Top Rated Comments

(View all)
Avatar
25 months ago
Wow, a truly negative review from macrumors. Cant remember ever seeing that here before.
Rating: 6 Votes
Avatar
25 months ago

um. thanks (?) Great Mac rumor.

maybe next you could review the new LG wifi washing machine. because, you know, you can connect from your iPhone.

Not sure you know this, but there's a specific mac blog on this website
Rating: 3 Votes
Avatar
25 months ago
I have a pair of Bragi's The Dash. Similar but from what I've seen the Bragi is better in a few areas. Sound is good. They aren't cheap either (mine were $249) but you have to expect that with 1st generation devices like these.
Rating: 2 Votes
Avatar
25 months ago
This concept is wankers.

These things will fall out easily, especially during sport. You could easily lose one of them, and that'll be the end of it. Battery life and overall reception and sound quality being crap are the fatal bullets.

Companies, just add a wire connecting the buds... because they'll be easier to carry around. This isn't the future future.
Rating: 2 Votes
Avatar
25 months ago
Thanks for the review. Informative and to the point. :)
Rating: 2 Votes
Avatar
25 months ago

They can be purchased from the VerveLife website for $199 ('http://verve.life/verve-ones-1.html'), but for that price, the connectivity issues and sound quality make the earbuds a hard sel

No thanks.
Rating: 1 Votes
Avatar
25 months ago
$200.00? Wow. I can think of other higher quality audio then These for half the price.
Rating: 1 Votes
Avatar
25 months ago
um. thanks (?) Great Mac rumor.

maybe next you could review the new LG wifi washing machine. because, you know, you can connect from your iPhone.
Rating: 1 Votes
Avatar
25 months ago

Are wifi headphones are possibility, using a peer to peer connection? Are wifi antennas small enough? How efficient can they be?

I found this link about 802.11ah, which is supposedly lower energy. Not sure how much though, but it mentions wearables in the release, and the spec was finalized before Apple would have certified the iPhone 6SE/7 and AW2, but IDK if it can fit into headphones: http://www.wi-fi.org/news-events/newsroom/wi-fi-alliance-introduces-low-power-long-range-wi-fi-halow

This Wikipedia page says it's a competitor to BT https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IEEE_802.11ah
Rating: 1 Votes
Avatar
25 months ago

um. thanks (?) Great Mac rumor.

maybe next you could review the new LG wifi washing machine. because, you know, you can connect from your iPhone.

Wow...(shakes head)
Rating: 1 Votes
[ Read All Comments ]