Review: Mophie's Juice Pack Access Case Gives Your iPhone 11's Already Great Battery Life a Modest Boost

Tuesday November 19, 2019 10:46 AM PST by Mitchel Broussard

Mophie is known for its smartphone battery cases, which provide you with a way to keep an iPhone battery topped off while not having to worry about carrying around a large portable USB battery. Continuing this trend, Mophie recently launched Juice Pack Access cases for the the latest iPhones: iPhone 11, iPhone 11 Pro, and iPhone 11 Pro Max.


I've had a chance to check out the Juice Pack Access case for my iPhone 11 Pro Max for the past few weeks, and if you've ever used an iPhone battery case you'll know what to expect. The Juice Pack Access cases use wireless charging to fuel up your iPhone in lieu of the traditional Lightning connector.

The Juice Pack Access case snaps apart in two pieces like previous Mophie cases, allowing you to slide your iPhone 11 Pro Max into the bottom of the case and then slide the top portion of the case over your iPhone. Assembly is as easy as ever, but the seam between the two pieces of the case is still visible.

Apple's Smart Battery Case for iPhone X (left), Mophie Juice Pack Air for iPhone XS (middle), and Mophie Juice Pack Access for iPhone 11 Pro Max (right)

On the bottom rear of the case you'll find a button that activates the case and tells you how much charge is left in it with Mophie's traditional 4-LED system. While sufficient, this remains one of my least favorite aspect of Mophie's cases, mainly due to how little actual information you're given about the case's charge level. You can go from 4 LEDs to 2 with no indication of how fast the battery dropped between the two or how much is left until it's dead, making it hard to really tell how much battery is left in the case, and to an extent, how much is left for your iPhone.

Instead of direct Lightning charging through a built-in Lightning connector inside of a "chin" on the case's bottom (seen on the Juice Pack Air line), Juice Pack Access cases are entirely open at the bottom and lack a chin. Mophie is able to do this by using wireless charging, so you can not only charge the case and your iPhone by placing them on a Qi-compatible mat, but when out and about the Juice Pack Access itself is wirelessly charging your iPhone.


The Juice Pack Access case for the iPhone 11 Pro Max has a 2,200 mAh battery, which is slightly over half the size of the battery of the iPhone 11 Pro Max at 3,900 mAh. As a note, the Juice Pack Access cases for the iPhone 11 and 11 Pro both have 2,000 mAh batteries, compared to 3,100 mAh and 3,046 mAh batteries in each respective iPhone. This means that the Mophie cases for the iPhone 11 and 11 Pro might prove to be slightly more beneficial than the iPhone 11 Pro Max thanks to the smaller iPhone batteries.

In testing, when I would activate the Mophie case and my iPhone had about 10 percent of battery remaining, I would get my iPhone back up to between 30 and 50 percent (very much depending on how heavy my iPhone usage was during that time). Meanwhile, if I activated the Mophie case first thing in the morning, it kept my iPhone topped off at 100 percent for about five hours.

This aligns with the intended purpose of the case, which is only meant to provide you with a small amount of battery to get you to the end of the day, not fully refill your iPhone 11. As Mophie says on its website, "The juice pack access battery is not designed to charge the phone up to 100% when empty. Rather, it is meant to provide a quick top off to help you get you through your day until you can reach a wireless charging pad or charging outlet."


Because of the already stellar battery of the iPhone 11 Pro Max, Mophie's Juice Pack Access case ended up feeling somewhat unnecessary most days. When I let my iPhone 11 Pro Max die before I activated the case, it took two full days to kill the smartphone with regular, light usage. It was a nice benefit to squeeze out a few more hours from my iPhone, but far from necessary for my personal use.

Due to the small benefit provided by the case, I'm not sure that I'm willing to live with its downsides. This Mophie case adds a noticeable heft to the iPhone 11 Pro Max, resulting in a device that's more unruly to handle when texting or checking email, and more cumbersome to carry around in a pocket. When it's charging it also gets quite warm, which Mophie says is normal (and is typical of wireless charging).


Wireless charging in the Juice Pack Access line also comes with pros and cons. While the overall design of the Juice Pack Access is sleeker thanks to the lack of a chin (and direct access to the Lightning port is nice), wireless charging is aimed more at trickle charging your iPhone over long periods of time. This makes it perfect for placing your iPhone on a Qi mat at night, but less than ideal when you're looking to get a big burst of battery on your iPhone in the middle of a workday.

Bottom Line

Mophie's Juice Pack Access case is as sturdy and well-designed as any of the company's previous accessories, and for someone looking to own an iPhone 11, 11 Pro, or 11 Pro Max that can truly become a 3 day-long battery powerhouse, it gets the job done.


But, for anyone happy with the battery life of their fresh iPhone 11, an $80 battery case is entirely unnecessary.

How to Buy

Mophie's Juice Pack Access Case for the iPhone 11, iPhone 11 Pro, and iPhone 11 Pro Max can be purchased on Zagg.com for $79.95. With the MacRumors exclusive promo code RUMORS20, you can get the cases at a 20 percent discount for $63.96. They're available in Black, Blush Pink, and (Product)Red.

Note: Mophie provided MacRumors with one Juice Pack Access Case in Black for the purposes of this review, and no other compensation was received. MacRumors is an affiliate partner with some of these vendors. When you click a link and make a purchase, we may receive a small payment, which helps us keep the site running.

Tag: Mophie

Top Rated Comments

(View all)
Avatar
19 weeks ago
When Apple Battery Cases for iPhone XS launched with exclusive USB-PD Lightning tips for fast charging, the new owners of mophie had the idea of going around Apple MFi quality process entirely using standard Qi charging. This also meant they wouldn't have to buy Apple's Lighting tips and pump the profit margin. These moves got the juice pack cases and most of mophie's line up after iPhone 8 kicked out of the Apple Store.

The case line only nets out to 20% extra battery after efficiency losses and that's only when the iPhone battery itself is at or below 20%, when iOS 13 Battery Optimization is most receptive to charging. The wireless charging only transfers to the phone at ~5V1A speed or less when you factor pocket or climate heat.


mophie sees the writing on the wall. In the not too distant future, their company will become irrelevant as iPhone battery life increases over time.


ZAGG, the company that bought mophie and made these poor product decisions, is out of money and up for sale. ('https://nypost.com/2019/08/21/bidding-war-brewing-for-zagg-nations-biggest-seller-of-screen-protectors/')
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Avatar
19 weeks ago
I’ll wait for the Apple one but thanks...
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Avatar
19 weeks ago
I bought these for my Xs and Xr when they were on sale a couple weeks ago. I quickly returned them. Didn't realize that they only have about half the capacity of an actual iPhone battery (don't have the exact stats in front of me), so they couldn't even fully charge a dead iPhone. Also the case was very slick and didn't have a "lip" over the screen.

I bought these for an upcoming Disney trip, hoping we could use them instead of lugging around powerbanks. But after reading Amazon reviews and doing more of my homework, I would still need a powerbank or two. So back they went!
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Avatar
19 weeks ago
Mophie sees the writing on the wall. In the not too distant future, their company will become irrelevant as iPhone battery life increases over time.
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Avatar
19 weeks ago
The apple battery case is nearly twice as expensive, but about twice as good.
[automerge]1574193779[/automerge]


The apple battery case is nearly twice as expensive, but about twice as good.

And yes I know it’s not available yet.
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Avatar
19 weeks ago
I’m glad I got my Juice Pack Air for the X when it went on sale for about $20.

And I still don’t know if it’s worth carrying around the extra weight for 30–45% extra battery. I like going naked.

I have an original X so it may just be compensating for my 85% health battery after 2 years.

The fact there’s no reporting of the battery beyond the LEDs is lame.

But for ~$20 I’ll put up with it when I need it.

Nobody should buy one for 20% off retail. Wait until Zagg liquidates these ?
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)

Top Stories

Seemingly Unreleased Version of Logic Pro X With Live Loops Appears on Apple's Education Site [Updated]

Sunday March 29, 2020 7:23 am PDT by Hartley Charlton
Update: Apple has replaced the Logic Pro X image with an older version. Original story follows. A seemingly unreleased version of Logic Pro X has appeared on Apple's education site, as spotted by a Reddit user. The image from Apple's education products page shows a 16-inch MacBook Pro running Logic Pro X, but with a familiar interface that looks extremely similar to GarageBand's Live Loops ...

Zoom Updates iOS App to Stop Sending Data to Facebook

Friday March 27, 2020 5:35 pm PDT by Juli Clover
Zoom, a video conferencing app that many people are using at the current time to keep in touch with coworkers while working from home, was sending data to Facebook without disclosing the data sharing to customers. As of today, Zoom has updated its iOS app to remove the SDK that was providing data to Facebook through the Login with Facebook feature, according to Motherboard, the site that...

Apple Suppliers Worried About iPhone Demand, Production Ramp-Up for New iPhones Reportedly Postponed

Friday March 27, 2020 5:56 pm PDT by Juli Clover
Most of the factories in China that supply devices and components to Apple are back to churning out products, but Apple suppliers are said to be worried about how much demand there will be for the current iPhone models and the new iPhones expected in the fall. According to Reuters, a senior official at one of Apple's major supply companies said that orders for quarter ending in March are...

2020 iPad Pro Teardown Provides Closer Look at LiDAR Scanner and Confirms Incremental Update

Saturday March 28, 2020 9:56 am PDT by Hartley Charlton
iFixit today shared a video teardown of the new iPad Pro, which Apple unveiled earlier this month. iFixit found that most of the internals of the 2020 iPad Pro are the same as the 2018 model, confirming that the device is a relatively incremental update. The most notable new feature seen inside the new iPad Pro was the LiDAR scanner, which measures the distance to surrounding objects up...

Apple Watch Series 6 Could Feature Touch ID Fingerprint Sensor, Pulse Oximetry and Sleep Tracking Support

Friday March 27, 2020 11:28 am PDT by Juli Clover
The upcoming Apple Watch Series 6 set to be released this fall could include a Touch ID fingerprint sensor built into the crown of the device, according to Israeli site The Verifier, which cites "senior sources" who have worked with its staff for a "number of years" as the source of the rumor. It's not clear how the alleged Touch ID fingerprint sensor would be implemented, as the Digital...

Bloomberg: Apple's 5G iPhone Still on Schedule for Fall Launch, But Future Products Could Be Delayed

Monday March 30, 2020 2:40 am PDT by Tim Hardwick
Apple's 5G iPhone is still on track to launch within the company's typical annual fall release schedule, according to a new Bloomberg report on filed on Monday. Signs are that Apple's Chinese-centric manufacturing -- of which Hon Hai is the linchpin -- is slowly getting back on track. The next iPhones with 5G wireless capabilities remain on schedule to launch in the fall, partly because mass...

Kuo: Apple to Launch Several Macs With Arm-Based Processors in 2021, USB4 Support Coming to Macs in 2022

Thursday March 26, 2020 8:19 pm PDT by Joe Rossignol
Apple plans to launch several Mac notebooks and desktop computers with its own custom designed Arm-based processors in 2021, analyst Ming-Chi Kuo said today in a research note obtained by MacRumors. Kuo believes that Arm-based processors will significantly enhance the competitive advantage of the Mac lineup, allow Apple to refresh its Mac models without relying on Intel's processor roadmap,...

Top Stories: Hands-On With 2020 iPad Pro and MacBook Air, iOS and iPadOS 13.4 Released, iPhone 12 Delay?

Saturday March 28, 2020 6:00 am PDT by MacRumors Staff
After last week's flurry of product launches, Apple's new iPad Pro and MacBook Air have started to make their way into consumers' hands, and we've gone hands-on with both of them this week. Apple this week also released iOS and iPadOS 13.4 (as well as macOS, watchOS, and tvOS updates) with a number of new features and improvements. Subscribe to the MacRumors YouTube channel for more videos. ...

Deals: Huge Refurbished iPhone Sale Discounts iPhone 7, 8, X, XR, and XS (From $120)

Friday March 27, 2020 5:47 am PDT by Mitchel Broussard
Woot is back today with a big sale on refurbished iPhones, including markdowns on the iPhone 7, iPhone 7 Plus, iPhone 8, iPhone 8 Plus, iPhone X, iPhone XR, iPhone XS, and iPhone XS Max. Note: MacRumors is an affiliate partner with Woot. When you click a link and make a purchase, we may receive a small payment, which helps us keep the site running. As with every Woot purchase, those...

Apple Releases ProRes RAW Beta for Windows

Monday March 30, 2020 9:33 am PDT by Juli Clover
Apple today released ProRes RAW for Windows in a beta capacity (via Mark Gurman), with the software designed to allow ProRes RAW and ProRes RAW HQ video files to be watched in compatible applications on Windows machines. According to Apple, the software will let the files be played within several Adobe apps: Adobe After Effects (Beta) Adobe Media Encocder (Beta) Adobe Premiere...