iOS 16 Makes It Easier to Share Photos With Family Using New Shared iCloud Library
An iCloud Shared Photo Library can be shared with up to five other people, and each contributor has equal access to add, edit, favorite, caption, and delete shared photos.
To prevent accidentally shared photos, there are smart setup rules that can be implemented. You can opt to share all past photos or just photos from a specific start date. You can also choose to share photos that have only specific people, such as your family members.
Photos can be added to the Shared Library automatically, but there are also options to share based on Bluetooth proximity. Sharing suggestions will continue to pop up in For You as well.
There's a new toggle in the Camera app that lets all the photos you take upload to the Shared Library automatically, so if you're out on vacation with your family, everyone can see vacation photos as soon as they're snapped.
Shared photos will show up in Memories, Featured Photos, and the Photos widget, similar to standard iCloud Library images.
The iCloud Shared Photo Library does not appear to be implemented in the first beta, so support will likely be added in a future beta.