Elevation Lab's New NightPad 7.5W Wireless Charger is Perfect for Bedtime Use

Elevation Lab, known for its popular line of wired dock options for the iPhone, recently came out with its first wireless charging dock, the NightPad.

The NightPad, which is a 7.5W charger, looks like a lot of other wireless chargers on the market, but there are some premium features to be aware of. It's covered in a soft silicone material that holds the iPhone in place while it's charging, and there's also a raised ring that makes sure the iPhone stays secure.


While the design of the NightPad is simple, that silicone material has such a matte finish that it makes the charging pad look super black, so it does stand out from your average charging pad. There is subtle Elevation Lab branding on the top of the charger, but it can be hard to see just because it's so dark.


Size wise, the NightPad is palm-sized and a little larger than a coaster. As with most wireless chargers this size, you do need to make sure to get the iPhone lined up in the center because if it's off to the side a bit (which can happen -- especially in the dark) it won't charge.


There is no LED on the NightPad at all, which is a deviation from most chargers. This was done so that it can be used in a dark room, and it's a decision that I understand. It's easy enough to tell when the iPhone is charging because there's a buzz when you first put it on the charger.


A 6-foot braided micro-USB cable is included with the NightPad, so this is a great choice if you need a long cable. I don't, so it was a bit of a nuisance, but Elevation Lab does include a velcro cable wrangler to wind up extra cord.


You can purchase the NightPad with or without a power supply, and the version with 15W QC 3.0 power supply is $10 more expensive. 15W+ adapters are required for Apple's faster 7.5W charging, so people without a QC 3.0 power adapter will want to purchase the version that includes it.

If you already have a compatible power adapter, you can use that and get a discount on the NightPad.


In my testing, the NightPad charged at 7.5W as advertised. I drained it to 1 percent battery and then put it on the charger for an hour. With the first test, it charged up to 37 percent, and with the second test, it charged to 39 percent.

That's in line with other 7.5W charging speeds I've seen during the summer, where the indoor temperature is about 74 degrees. Temperature can impact wireless charging speeds quite a lot, so expect to see a lot of variance depending on ambient temperature and other factors.

Elevation Lab says that the NightPad can charge the iPhone 50 percent faster than standard Qi wireless chargers, but that must be in optimal conditions because the NightPad charges the iPhone at the same rates as other 7.5W chargers and the difference between a 7.5W charger and a 5W charger in our experience is not typically 50 percent.


While designed for iPhone, the NightPad will work with other Qi-based devices and it supports Samsung's 10W fast charging.

Wireless charging is no match for wired charging so it's not always ideal when you need a lot of power in a short amount of time, but it's ideal for charging over the course of the day or at night.

I tested the NightPad with a standard Apple silicone case, but Elevation Lab says that it will officially work with cases up to 3mm thick and unofficially, it supports cases up to 6mm thick.

Bottom Line


All of the 7.5W iPhone wireless chargers charge at about the same speed. so choosing one comes down to the features that appeal to you.

The NightPad is a good choice if you're going to use your wireless charger at night, because there's no LED to add extra light pollution to the room.

It offers an appealing pure black color and a silicone base that holds the iPhone in place, plus it has an extra long braided cord. The $40 version is worth it to make sure you get the faster 7.5W charging speeds, and it is competitively priced with other premium chargers on the market.

How to Buy


You can purchase the NightPad from the Elevation Lab website for $39.95 standalone and for $49.95 with a 15W QC 3.0 power supply included.

Top Rated Comments

(View all)
Avatar
17 months ago
I would think the "perfect bedtime charger" would be a slow charger, not a quick charger. If it's bedtime you have hours to charge. No need to ram the charge in there, generate heat, and ultimately shorten battery life.
Rating: 11 Votes
Avatar
17 months ago
Love that there's no LED. Great design choice!
Rating: 4 Votes
Avatar
17 months ago
I think it is better to stick with the Apple store Mophie wireless charger for about the same price.
Rating: 3 Votes
Avatar
17 months ago
No LED is a great feature.
https://xkcd.com/1973/
Rating: 2 Votes
Avatar
17 months ago

I would think the "perfect bedtime charger" would be a slow charger, not a quick charger. If it's bedtime you have hours to charge. No need to ram the charge in there, generate heat, and ultimately shorten battery life.


I agree here. I’d get one of these fast chargers for a place like next to my couch so it charges fast when I’m only going to be in one place for an hour or 2 and I’ll be picking it up and checking it. For my bedside? I got a $6 charger on amazon and I figure I’ll wake up with 100% no matter how fast or slow my charger is.
Rating: 2 Votes
Avatar
17 months ago
Can’t believe it’s taken this long for someone to make a Qi charger without an LED. Honestly, they are completely unnecessary; your phone tells you when it’s charging. We don’t need LEDs on normal chargers and there’s been no way I’d have one with an LED next to my bed.
Rating: 2 Votes
Avatar
17 months ago

The phone already tells you whether its charging, right? What's the issue here?

I'd WAY rather have a device that keeps my room dark instead of yet another superfluous LED. Seems like everything I own these days wants to light up a whole room just to tell you it's working.
[doublepost=1532839557][/doublepost]
Thank you. This applies to literally every single other product out there. I, for one, am pretty tired of having to put electrical tape on everything I own just to keep it from lighting up my whole bedroom.

I bought a bunch of stickers (LightDims) from Amazon for this purpose. I found electrical tape doesn’t block enough. They offer 100% and something like 80% for when you do need to be able to check on something. Some of these lights are incredibly bright. My tv has a light when it’s on. I’m looking at the bloody thing! 50” of bright tv, and I need a little green light? Apple dumped lights some time ago, except on the Apple TV which is a shame. Most lights are not needed and the rest should be much dimmer.
Rating: 2 Votes
Avatar
17 months ago

Not a huge fan of the no LED thing. I understand the utility of darkness but a LED can be done in a less obtrusive way that passively lets you see your phone is charging, while not illuminating your room.


The phone already tells you whether its charging, right? What's the issue here?

I'd WAY rather have a device that keeps my room dark instead of yet another superfluous LED. Seems like everything I own these days wants to light up a whole room just to tell you it's working.
[doublepost=1532839557][/doublepost]

Can’t believe it’s taken this long for someone to make a Qi charger without an LED. Honestly, they are completely unnecessary; your phone tells you when it’s charging. We don’t need LEDs on normal chargers and there’s been no way I’d have one with an LED next to my bed.

Thank you. This applies to literally every single other product out there. I, for one, am pretty tired of having to put electrical tape on everything I own just to keep it from lighting up my whole bedroom.
Rating: 1 Votes
Avatar
17 months ago

I bought a bunch of stickers (LightDims) from Amazon for this purpose. I found electrical tape doesn’t block enough. They offer 100% and something like 80% for when you do need to be able to check on something. Some of these lights are incredibly bright. My tv has a light when it’s on. I’m looking at the bloody thing! 50” of bright tv, and I need a little green light? Apple dumped lights some time ago, except on the Apple TV which is a shame. Most lights are not needed and the rest should be much dimmer.


What a sad commentary on the state of product design, though, that there's a market for special stickers to block out over-bright LEDs. The thing that gets me is that even IF a "status LED" is needed (and often these impart no useful information) -- dim red LEDs do the same job and output far, far less light in a darkened room.
[doublepost=1532874759][/doublepost]

When will we have portable wireless charging solution? A charger that can serve the same function as current power bank serves.


Maybe I'm missing something here, but why would you want to carry around a charging puck in addition to the USB wall adapter and cable?

On the other hand, I have seen some countertops in airports that have wireless charging embedded, which makes plenty of sense.
Rating: 1 Votes
Avatar
17 months ago
…Or you go with a $15 Anker charger and use a tiny piece of electrical tape to cover the LED.
Rating: 1 Votes
[ Read All Comments ]