All of Apple's Macs come with Preview, the powerful file viewer that's built into macOS. Preview is the default app that opens up whenever you double-click an image or a PDF, and features several annotation tools for you to use when working with these file types.

The most obvious and oft-used markup tools include things like arrows, lines, ovals, rectangles, and text, but in this article we're highlighting what is arguably one of the more under-appreciated of Preview's annotation options: the Loupe tool.

how to use the preview loupe tool
The Loupe tool is useful if you want to zoom in on certain areas in an image or document for the purposes of clarity or to bring attention to something in particular.

2 loupe markup icon
You can access the Loupe tool by selecting Tools -> Annotate -> Loupe from the Preview menu bar, or by enabling the Markup toolbar and then clicking the bottom right icon in the Shape menu.

3 magnify loupe
Once you've added a loupe to your image, you can easily increase or decrease its magnification level by dragging the green circle along the loupe's circumference.

4 make loupe larger
Similarly using your mouse, drag the blue circle outwards or towards the center of the loupe to expand or contract the area of magnification.

You can add multiple loupes to the same image or document, and even have them overlap to zoom in on an area that's already magnified.

5 loupe last
Additionally, if you arrange two loupes so that one is stacked on top of or behind the other, you can right-click (or Ctrl-click) them to rearrange their order using the contextual menu options Bring Forward, Bring to Front, Send Backward and Send to Back.

You can easily delete a selected loupe with the Delete key, just remember that the Loupe is an annotation tool rather than a simple zoom function, so if you save or export the file with a loupe still in use then it becomes a permanent feature of that image or document.

Top Rated Comments

allygill Avatar
49 months ago
Now we just need the feature built into Apple Photos like it used to be in Aperture!
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
jonnysods Avatar
49 months ago
Funny enough I just noticed this tool yesterday and I use Preview constantly!



Yeah, it's incredibly powerful, and so nicely integrated into the OS, you don't have to think about "What app do I need to use?" for so many tasks. Daily I do a screen shot, review, email, annotate type workflow for UI work.
One thing I've used it for extensively the past year is resizing and reducing file sizes in bulk for web design.

I'm also screen shorting hundreds of things a day it seems. And with the video capture feature that I just discovered in Mojave I've ditched other apps and just started to use the OS.

MacOS is just so flipping awesome.
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Scooz Avatar
49 months ago
The visual highlighting of that loupe tool result needs an overhaul with some love (and mabye some shadow and distortion if you want that). It‘s not always immediately understandable for the viewer that you used a loupe to highlight something.

The car example works somehow, but there are other cases with less perspective where it just looks weird. Like a black hole in a static image of space and stars, where you can‘t immediately say what‘s going on. Gets better when adding arrows, but still, some UI designer should give it some more thought.

More frame and shifting options might also help.
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
KazKam Avatar
49 months ago
Preview truly is the under-appreciated, yet indispensable, step-child of Mac OS. I take it for granted until I have to use a computer (Windows o_O) that doesn't have anything close to it.

I think my favorite thing about it is that it (along with QT) open damn near anything which means I don't have to open Photoshop, Excel, or other dedicated apps, with all their overhead, just to read or look at something. Love it.
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)
jonnysods Avatar
49 months ago
Wow this is cool I didn't know preview had that zoom tool! Preview is a highly underrated feature of MacOS.
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)

Popular Stories

top stories 2jul2022

Top Stories: M2 MacBook Air Release Date, New HomePod Rumor, and More

Saturday July 2, 2022 6:00 am PDT by
The M2 MacBook Pro has started making its way into customers' hands and we're learning more about how it performs in a variety of situations, but all eyes are really on the upcoming M2 MacBook Air which has seen a complete redesign and should be arriving in a couple of weeks. Other top stories this week included a host of product rumors including additional M2 and even M3 Macs, an updated...
Mac Studio IO

Apple Begins Selling Refurbished Mac Studio Models

Thursday June 30, 2022 7:42 pm PDT by
Apple today began selling refurbished Mac Studio models for the first time in the United States, Canada, and select European countries, such as Belgium, Germany, Ireland, Spain, Switzerland, the Netherlands, and the United Kingdom. In the United States, two refurbished Mac Studio configurations are currently available, including one with the M1 Max chip (10-core CPU and 24-core GPU) for...
macbook air m2

Exclusive: Apple Plans to Launch MacBook Air With M2 Chip on July 15

Wednesday June 29, 2022 5:23 pm PDT by
The redesigned MacBook Air with the all-new M2 Apple silicon chip will be available for customers starting Friday, July 15, MacRumors has learned from a retail source. The new MacBook Air was announced and previewed during WWDC earlier this month, with Apple stating availability will begin in July. The MacBook Air features a redesigned body that is thinner and lighter than the previous...
13 inch macbook pro m2 mock feature 2

M2 MacBook Pro Much Slower Than Previous Model

Friday July 1, 2022 2:24 am PDT by
Apple's new 13-inch MacBook Pro with the M2 chip features a significantly slower SSD compared to the previous model, resulting in poorer performance in some workflows, it has been discovered. Specifically, it has been found that the $1,299 base model with 256GB of storage has significantly slower SSD read and write speeds compared to the equivalent previous-generation 13-inch MacBook Pro....