LaCie, Seagate's premium brand, recently launched a new external SSD, the LaCie Mobile SSD, which offers up to 2TB of storage space along with USB-C transfer speeds up to 540MB/s.

The LaCie Mobile SSD follows the LaCie Portable SSD, offering a thin, light enclosure that's easily pocketable but still eye catching. LaCie first introduced the Mobile SSD at CES 2019, and it's now available for purchase from Apple.

laciemobilessddesign2
LaCie designed the Mobile SSD with unique "diamond-cut" edges, which look quite nice in person. The Mobile SSD is futuristic but simple, which is appropriate because this is an Apple exclusive product. I'm not sure how important SSD attractiveness is to the average person, but this is certainly the best looking external SSD I've used.

laciemobilessdsize
It's made from a brushed aluminum material that matches well with Apple's MacBooks (especially the Space Gray model), and since it's aluminum, it's light but durable. LaCie says it can withstand drops up to 3 meters, though it's never a good idea to be rough with a data storage device if you can help it.

laciemobilessdcables
The LaCie Mobile is available in 500GB, 1TB, and 2TB capacities, and LaCie sent me the 1TB version to test. It comes with both a USB-C to USB-C cable for use with Apple's most recent Macs and a USB-C to USB-A cable in case you need to use it with older machines that only have USB-A ports. When using a USB-A to USB-C cable, you won't get maximum transfer speeds from the SSD because USB-A doesn't support USB 3.1 Gen 2.

laciemobilessdbottom
There's a single USB-C port at one end where one of the cables can plug in, and with the exception of an LED light so you know when the SSD is in use and a small LaCie logo in one corner, there are no other distinguishing features.

laciemobilessdusbcport
It offers transfer speeds of up to 540MB/s, which is similar to what other brands like Samsung, G-Technology, and Western Digital are offering with their USB-C SSDs.

Using a 2016 MacBook Pro, a USB-C to USB-C cable, and the Blackmagic Disk Speed Test, I saw read speeds of about 525MB/s and write speeds of about 485MB/s.

It wasn't quite hitting target speeds, but it was close, and still quite speedy. I transferred 45GB of photos from the MacBook Pro to the LaCie drive and it took right around four and a half minutes.

laciemobilespeedtest
Transfer speeds will vary based on what other peripherals you have plugged into your Mac and your Mac's overall workload. During testing, the Mobile SSD stayed cool even when transferring a large number of files, but I do want to point out that I heard a slight noise at times when data was transferring.

It wasn't loud enough to be annoying and probably isn't audible over most ambient room noises, but I just happened to be testing in a quiet room at a time when nothing was going on.

The drive comes formatted in exFAT, making it compatible with both Mac and Windows, but it can be reformatted through the Disk Utility feature in macOS. It comes with links for registration and tools to install the LaCie Toolkit software for Mac and Windows.

laciemobilessdmacbookpro
LaCie Toolkit is used for managing the SSD and it can sync files between mirrored folders on your computer and on the Mobile SSD, for automatic file backup purposes. This is not required software to use the SSD.

All of LaCie's products come with a three-year warranty and a three-year Seagate Rescue Data Recovery plan that offers data recovery should the SSD end up failing. There's also a free one-month subscription to Adobe's Creative Cloud All Apps plan included,

Bottom Line

At $270 for the middle tier 1TB model, LaCie's Mobile SSD is more expensive than 1TB SSDs you can get from other brands, so it's probably not going to be the first choice for someone looking for a bargain.

That said, LaCie is a well-known and trusted brand, and the design of this particular model was slick enough that Apple opted to offer it as an exclusive. It also ships with a three-year warranty, which is worth taking into account when it comes to keeping your data safe.

laciemobilesddwithmacbookpro
Aside from the high price tag, I have no complaints about the LaCie Mobile SSD. It's small, it's portable, it looks great, it's speedy, and it performed well in all of my tests. I'm not sure if looks alone make it worth a premium over SSDs that perform similarly, but it's a good product that's worth considering if you need an SSD.

How to Buy

The 500GB LaCie Mobile SSD is priced at $139.95, while the 1TB model is available for $269.95. LaCie also offers a 2TB Mobile SSD, priced at $499.95. All three models are available from the Apple online store and in Apple retail locations.

Note: LaCie provided MacRumors with a 1TB Mobile SSD for the purpose of this review. No other compensation was received.

Top Rated Comments

trifid Avatar
42 months ago
Too expensive, I’d rather get a Samsung EVO for half the price, 5-year warranty, it’d give me same speeds, and a cheap enclosure from OWC’s garage sale. And it’d be 100% silent. The slick enclosure looks nice but it’s not worth the premium for those “regular” ssd speeds.
Score: 6 Votes (Like | Disagree)
GSPice Avatar
42 months ago
How does an SSD make a noise?
Possibly the Piezoelectric Effect. Not uncommon. Sometimes when a specific voltage is applied certain circuit components they can resonate at an audible frequency, like a buzzing or hissing. In a silent room, it might be noticeably annoying to some.
Score: 4 Votes (Like | Disagree)
jclo Avatar
42 months ago
Julie (not sure your username here), how would you rate the rugged-ness of this drive maybe not compared directly to the LaCie rugged drives but would this be okay loose in a bag among other bits like keys and such? I am looking for a travel drive that I can offload 4K video clips on a 2 week trip (via the MacBook) without fear of it being DOA when I get home or the case being cracked.

Also, looks like I could actually edit in Final Cut with media on this drive w/o having to copy it to the MacBook which is nice.
This really isn't a rugged drive at all because it's all aluminum, but I can't imagine keys would do much more than scratch it a bit. It should be okay in a bag as long as you're not tossing it around too much.
[doublepost=1551816187][/doublepost]
Possibly the Piezoelectric Effect. Not uncommon. Sometimes when a specific voltage is applied certain circuit components they can resonate at an audible frequency, like a buzzing or hissing. In a silent room, it might be noticeably annoying to some.
Yeah, I think this is it. It's similar to that electric whine or hissing kind of sound that I've heard from electronics before. I am admittedly quite sensitive to this noise and it's very slight.
[doublepost=1551816875][/doublepost]
Surely if USB-A refers only to the shape of the connector, it’s not necessarily true to say using it will reduce transfer speeds, unless I am mistaken?
USB 3.1 Gen 2 (or whatever they're calling it now) is USB-C only so you can't get the maximum transfer speeds from this drive with USB-A. I've reworded that part, hopefully that's a bit clearer.
Score: 4 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Spudlicious Avatar
42 months ago
('https://www.macrumors.com/review/lacie-mobile-ssd/')


LaCie, Seagate's premium brand, recently launched a new external SSD, the LaCie Mobile SSD, which offers up to 2TB of storage space along with USB-C transfer speeds up to 540MB/s.

The LaCie Mobile SSD follows the LaCie Portable SSD ('https://www.macrumors.com/review/lacie-portable-ssd/'), offering a thin, light enclosure that's easily pocketable but still eye catching. LaCie first introduced the Mobile SSD at CES 2019, and it's now available for purchase ('https://www.apple.com/us/search/lacie-mobile-ssd?page=1&sel=accessories&src=globalnav') from Apple.



LaCie designed the Mobile SSD with unique "diamond-cut" edges, which look quite nice in person. The Mobile SSD is futuristic but simple, which is appropriate because this is an Apple exclusive product. I'm not sure how important SSD attractiveness is to the average person, but this is certainly the best looking external SSD I've used.



It's made from a brushed aluminum material that matches well with Apple's MacBooks (especially the Space Gray model), and since it's aluminum, it's light but durable. LaCie says it can withstand drops up to 3 meters, though it's never a good idea to be rough with a data storage device if you can help it.



The LaCie Mobile is available in 500GB, 1TB, and 2TB capacities, and LaCie sent me the 1TB version to test. It comes with both a USB-C to USB-C cable for use with Apple's most recent Macs and a USB-C to USB-A cable in case you need to use it with older machines that only have USB-A ports. You will get slower transfer speeds using a USB-A port, of course.



There's a single USB-C port at one end where one of the cables can plug in, and with the exception of an LED light so you know when the SSD is in use and a small LaCie logo in one corner, there are no other distinguishing features.



It offers transfer speeds of up to 540MB/s, which is similar to what other brands like Samsung, G-Technology, and Western Digital are offering with their USB-C SSDs.

Using a 2016 MacBook Pro and the Blackmagic Disk Speed Test, I saw read speeds of about 525MB/s and write speeds of about 485MB/s.

It wasn't quite hitting target speeds, but it was close, and still quite speedy. I transferred 45GB of photos from the MacBook Pro to the LaCie drive and it took right around four and a half minutes.



Transfer speeds will vary based on what other peripherals you have plugged into your Mac and your Mac's overall workload. During testing, the Mobile SSD stayed cool even when transferring a large number of files, but I do want to point out that I heard a slight noise at times when data was transferring.

It wasn't loud enough to be annoying and probably isn't audible over most ambient room noises, but I just happened to be testing in a quiet room at a time when nothing was going on.

The drive comes formatted in exFAT, making it compatible with both Mac and Windows, but it can be reformatted through the Disk Utility feature in macOS. It comes with links for registration and tools to install the LaCie Toolkit software for Mac and Windows.



LaCie Toolkit is used for managing the SSD and it can sync files between mirrored folders on your computer and on the Mobile SSD, for automatic file backup purposes. This is not required software to use the SSD.

All of LaCie's products come with a three-year warranty and a three-year Seagate Rescue Data Recovery plan that offers data recovery should the SSD end up failing. There's also a free one-month subscription to Adobe's Creative Cloud All Apps plan ('https://www.adobe.com/creativecloud/catalog/desktop.html') included,

Bottom Line

At $270 for the middle tier 1TB model, LaCie's Mobile SSD is more expensive than 1TB SSDs you can get from other brands, so it's probably not going to be the first choice for someone looking for a bargain.

That said, LaCie is a well-known and trusted brand, and the design of this particular model was slick enough that Apple opted to offer it as an exclusive. It also ships with a three-year warranty, which is worth taking into account when it comes to keeping your data safe.



Aside from the high price tag, I have no complaints about the LaCie Mobile SSD. It's small, it's portable, it looks great, it's speedy, and it performed well in all of my tests. I'm not sure if looks alone make it worth a premium over SSDs that perform similarly, but it's a good product that's worth considering if you need an SSD.

How to Buy

The 500GB LaCie Mobile SSD is priced at $139.95, while the 1TB model is available for $269.95. LaCie also offers a 2TB Mobile SSD, priced at $499.95. All three models are available from the Apple online store ('https://www.apple.com/us/search/lacie-mobile-ssd?page=1&sel=accessories&src=globalnav') and in Apple retail locations.

Note: LaCie provided MacRumors with a 1TB Mobile SSD for the purpose of this review. No other compensation was received.

Article Link: Review: LaCie's New 'Mobile SSD' Features Fast Transfer Speeds and an Attractive Design ('https://www.macrumors.com/review/lacie-mobile-ssd/')
How does an SSD make a noise?
Score: 4 Votes (Like | Disagree)
ignatius345 Avatar
42 months ago
Too expensive, I’d rather get a Samsung EVO for half the price, 5-year warranty, it’d give me same speeds, and a cheap enclosure from OWC’s garage sale. And it’d be 100% silent. The slick enclosure looks nice but it’s not worth the premium for those “regular” ssd speeds.
That's exactly what I just did for a grand total under $150 to update my external media drive. Next up: my Final Cut editing drive, but I need 2TB for that -- waiting for prices to come down a bit further though.

I've owned LaCie externals before and they were fine but absolutely not worth the "design tax".
Score: 3 Votes (Like | Disagree)
upandown Avatar
42 months ago
T5 and Sandisc Extreme form factor is about half of this drive.

They are also less expensive with the same IO specs.
Score: 3 Votes (Like | Disagree)

Popular Stories

14 16 inch 2021 mbps back to back feature orange

Five Things You Still Can't Do With a MacBook Pro

Wednesday May 11, 2022 11:16 am PDT by
It's been over 200 days since Apple debuted its redesigned MacBook Pro lineup. Offered in 14-inch and 16-inch display sizes, the new-look MacBooks wowed Apple fans and creative pros alike with their powerful custom Apple silicon, mini-LED screen, and multiple connectivity options. But there are still some things you can't do with a MacBook Pro. Here are five features some Mac users are still...
RIP iPod Feature

RIP iPod: A Look Back at Apple's Iconic Music Player Over the Years

Friday May 13, 2022 2:25 pm PDT by
Apple earlier this week announced the discontinuation of the iPod touch, and because it was the last iPod still available for purchase, its sunsetting effectively marks the end of the entire iPod lineup. To send the iPod on its way, we thought it would be fun to take a look back at some of the most notable iPod releases over the last 21 years. Original iPod (2001) Introduced in October...
sony

Sony Unveils Redesigned WH-1000XM5 Headphones With Improved Noise Cancelation

Thursday May 12, 2022 9:26 am PDT by
Sony's flagship WH-1000XM4 noise-canceling headphones have been among the best on the market for some time, and today Sony announced its fifth-generation WH-1000XM5 headphones, boasting a new design and several improvements over the previous model. The redesigned headphones replace the shrouded arms that swivel on the XM4's with an exposed arm that has a single contact point at the earcups,...
iOS 16 mock for article

Which Devices Will iOS 16 and iPadOS 16 Support?

Thursday May 12, 2022 7:29 am PDT by
While there are as yet no concrete rumors related to which devices iOS 16 and iPadOS 16 will support, the discontinuation of the iPod touch earlier this week may be an indication that as many as nine devices could be about to lose support for Apple's upcoming operating systems. iOS and iPadOS 13, 14, and 15 support all of the same devices, with the iPhone 6S and iPhone 6S Plus,...
apple mac ipad watch trade in

Apple Launches Limited-Time Bonus Trade-In Credit for iPhone, iPad, Mac, and Apple Watch in Many Countries

Wednesday May 11, 2022 5:14 am PDT by
Apple has launched a special limited-time offer for iPhone, Apple Watch, Mac, and iPad trade-in that offers customers additional credit when trading in their only device for a new one. The offer is being run in several countries including the US, UK, Germany, Spain, Italy, South Korea, Japan, Taiwan, China, India, and France. In the UK, Apple is offering up to £50 of extra trade-in credit...
iPhone 14 Purple Feature

Full Range of iPhone 14 Color Options Revealed by Purported Leak From China

Wednesday May 11, 2022 2:20 am PDT by
The iPhone 14 and iPhone 14 Pro models will be available in a refreshed range of color options, including an all-new purple color, according to a recent rumor. The claim comes from a post on Chinese social media site Weibo by an unverified source and purports to reveal the full range of color options for Apple's upcoming iPhone 14 and iPhone 14 Pro models. Compared to the selection of color...
AirPods Pro Firmware Feature

Apple Releases New 4E71 Firmware for AirPods, AirPods Max and AirPods Pro

Tuesday May 10, 2022 12:06 pm PDT by
Apple today released a new 4E71 firmware update for the AirPods 2, AirPods Max, and AirPods Pro, up from the 4C165 firmware that was released back in December. Apple has also released new 4E71 firmware for the AirPods 3, up from the 4C170 firmware that was released in January. Apple does not offer information on what's included in refreshed firmware updates for the AirPods‌, so we don't...
Universal Control Colored Feature

Universal Control No Longer in Beta in macOS Monterey 12.4 and iPadOS 15.5

Thursday May 12, 2022 12:51 pm PDT by
Universal Control is no longer a "beta" feature, with the beta labeling removed in the macOS Monterey 12.4 and iPadOS 15.5 release candidate versions that were seeded to developers and public beta testers earlier today. Apple in March released Universal Control as part of macOS Monterey 12.3 and iPadOS 15.4, and since launch, it has had a beta label as Apple has worked to iron out bugs and...