Deleting individual recordings in Apple's native Voice Memos app for iPhone and iPad is really easy. Launch the app, and in the list of recordings, just tap the one you want to delete, then tap the trash icon.

voice memos
If you want to delete multiple recordings in one go, tap the Edit button in the top-right corner of the screen, then select the recordings that you want to remove. Once you're done selecting recordings, tap the Delete button in the bottom-right corner of the screen.

Change How Long Deleted Recordings Are Kept

Deleted recordings are moved to the Recently Deleted folder, where they’re kept for 30 days by default. To change how long deleted recordings are kept, follow these steps:

  1. Launch the Settings app.
  2. Scroll down and tap Voice Memos.
  3. Under "Voice Memo Settings," tap Clear Deleted.
  4. Select one of the following options: Immediately, After 1 Day, After 7 Days, After 30 Days, or Never.
    settings

Note that in the "Voice Memo Settings" section, you can also adjust the audio quality of recordings. If you're eager to save on storage and don't mind sacrificing a bit of quality, make sure Compressed is selected, rather than Lossless.

Top Stories

m1 mac family

How to Record Your Mac's Screen

Tuesday May 18, 2021 3:41 pm PDT by
If you've ever wanted to record a video of your Mac's screen but don't know quite how to do so, then you've come to the right place. Keep reading to learn how you can record any Mac desktop activity in just a few simple steps. Recording the activity on your Mac's screen can be useful for a number of reasons. For example, if you want to teach someone how to perform a particular function on...
HomePodandMini feature orange

How to Create and Manage Calendar Events on HomePod

Wednesday May 26, 2021 5:01 pm PDT by
There are several commands that Siri can understand on Apple's HomePod and HomePod mini that make it really easy to create and manage your calendar events, which sync to any iOS device signed into the same Apple ID as the smart speaker. As long as you enabled Personal Requests during HomePod setup to let Siri access your messages, reminders, calendars, and more whenever your iOS device is on ...
Translate App Hands On

How to Delete Your Translation History in Apple's Translate App

Monday January 25, 2021 3:57 pm PST by
Apple's built-in Translate app is a useful way to translate to and from supported languages, and also to hold conversations with people who speak different languages. When you've finished with a translation, you may be wondering if there's a way to clear it or to delete your translation history, and the good news is that yes, Apple has a built-in delete function. There is no way to delete ...
Instagram Feature 2

How to Hide Like and View Counts on Instagram Posts

Wednesday May 26, 2021 8:05 am PDT by
Instagram has added new options on the platform that allow users to hide the number of like and view counts of other people's posts, as well as the same counts on their own posts. The new options have been introduced to "depressurize people's experience" on the platform, the Facebook-owned social media company said. Instagram has been testing out the options in several countries since 2019,...
Apple Books Free Books and Audio Books Promo

How to Delete Downloaded Books and Audiobooks on iPhone and iPad

Thursday April 8, 2021 4:54 pm PDT by
If you've downloaded books, audiobooks, or PDFs to the Books app on your iPhone or iPad, it's worth going through them every once in a while. You may find that some of them no longer need to be there, in which case they're just taking up space on your device. The following steps show you how to delete unecessary items from the Books app, which should help free up some valuable storage. Laun...
bigsurmapsguides

How to Clear Your Location History in Apple Maps

Monday March 29, 2021 10:17 am PDT by
When you search a location in Apple Maps on iOS and Mac, the app conveniently remembers your search in case you want to return to it at a later time. However whether for housekeeping or privacy reasons, you can quickly and easily remove your Maps search history at any time. Keep reading to learn how its done. Delete Apple Maps History on iPhone and iPad Launch Apple's Maps app on your...
Whatsapp Feature

How to Review and Delete WhatsApp Media

Thursday April 8, 2021 4:47 pm PDT by
If you're a heavy WhatsApp user and your iPhone is running low on storage, it may be that all the videos, voice messages and photos stored in the app are taking up a hefty amount of space on your device. Fortunately, WhatsApp features a built-in media management tool that can help you identify, select, and bulk delete GIFs, photos, and videos that may be filling up your phone. The tool...
14

iOS 14.5: How to Change Siri's Voice

Thursday April 29, 2021 11:27 am PDT by
In iOS 14.5, Apple introduced two new Siri voices that are available in English, and also added a setup selection option that lets new users choose their preferred ‌Siri‌ voice rather than defaulting to a female voice in the United States. The new voices, which Apple says add more diversity in speech sound and pattern, run voice recordings through Apple's Neural Engine to make them flow...
app store blue banner

How to Reinstall Deleted Apps on iPhone and iPad

Thursday April 8, 2021 4:29 pm PDT by
If you've deleted an app on your iPhone and iPad to save space or because you didn't find the app useful at the time, it's not a one-way street – you can always re-install said app on your device in a few short steps. While there's no section in iOS that exclusively lists "recently deleted" apps as such, you can still find the apps that you've purchased in the past but are no longer...
how to take burst photos iphone 11

How to Delete Redundant Burst Mode Photos on iPhone and iPad

Thursday April 8, 2021 4:37 pm PDT by
Burst Mode refers to when the camera on your iOS device captures a series of photos in rapid succession, at a rate of ten frames per second. It's a great way to shoot an action scene or an unexpected event, since you're always more likely to end up with the picture you were aiming for. Whenever you take a series of burst photos, they automatically appear in the Photo app under the Album name ...