There are dozens if not hundreds of iPhone stands on the market, but every once in awhile, there's one that sets itself apart with a unique form or a rich set of features. The MOS Kick falls into the latter category, offering a stand, screwdriver, bottle opener and tripod connector in a portable package.

Developed by the MOS team that's created several other popular products like the MOS Reach power outlet and the MOS cable organizer, the MOS Kick is made from metal so it can withstand being carried on a backpack or in a pocket.


We went hands-on with a prototype (hence the small bit of rust) of the MOS Kick and found it to be a convenient stand. It works with any smartphone because it includes adjustable silicone pads that hold a device in place. It's able to mount on a tripod with its 1/4" threaded hole, and it has a couple little tools for when you're in a pinch -- a bottle opener and a flat head screwdriver.

Since it's all metal, it's heavy enough to hold an iPhone up on any surface, and when attached to something like a GorillaPod, it's usable in a wide range of situations. On the downside, the MOS Kick is priced a bit high, but it's a handy way to take advantage of some of the iPhone's camera features that require the phone to be still, like time-lapse.

The MOS Kick can be purchased from the MOS website for $24.95.

Top Rated Comments

jclo Avatar
91 months ago
Will MacRumors divulge how much money they're making on these ads disguised as reviews?

Zero. $0. Not any. None. We receive zero money from reviews. This is a review, not an "ad disguised as a review." We don't do paid posts on MacRumors. Period.
Score: 18 Votes (Like | Disagree)
rocknblogger Avatar
91 months ago
Will MacRumors divulge how much money they're making on these ads disguised as reviews?
I don't understand why people like you continually question Macrumors' integrity. When I see a review article the last thing I think of "Oh this must be a paid for ad". I actually appreciate when they do publish reviews. It helps me make a better educated decision. Or at the very least do some more research on a product that I otherwise may not have even know existed.

Maybe you should find a different rumors site where everyone just sings kumbaya and praises Apple like a God and only publishes glowing reviews of Apple products.:rolleyes:
Score: 10 Votes (Like | Disagree)
jclo Avatar
91 months ago
Maybe they make money from affiliate links? Who knows, there has to be some type of motivation behind these, the increase in reviews and stupid how to posts have been a recent phenomenon.

----------



Regardless, any conflict of interest should be declared up front to avoid any bias in information.

It's a rumours site right? Now it's a review and how to site. Lolz. I think the front page has gone down in recent times but the forums are as colourful as ever.

How tos and reviews are relatively new, yes, but the only motivation is providing more content that a wider range of people might find useful to attract new readers. We do disclose when posts have affiliate links (see our Buyer's Guide posts).

Our front page content hasn't changed (reviews and how tos only go on the iOS/Mac blogs).
Score: 8 Votes (Like | Disagree)
RalfTheDog Avatar
91 months ago
It's a sign that readership has decreased with more and more similar websites popping up that have fresher layouts and earlier information (note how a lot of the front-page items are regurgitations of rumors already reported elsewhere or articles about other people's articles).

I've seen others complaining about how-to articles about the simplest things (the type of stuff that people visiting rumor/fan sites would already know). Also, watch for more moderators' warnings now that you said something negative about the site :) .
Rule of thumb:

If you don't like a type of post, don't read it. If MR started posting reviews of left handed banjo tuners, I would not read those reviews. This would not diminish my enjoyment of their right handed banjo tuner reviews.
Score: 6 Votes (Like | Disagree)
rocknblogger Avatar
91 months ago
Maybe they make money from affiliate links? Who knows, there has to be some type of motivation behind these, the increase in reviews and stupid how to posts have been a recent phenomenon.

----------



Regardless, any conflict of interest should be declared up front to avoid any bias in information.

It's a rumours site right? Now it's a review and how to site. Lolz. I think the front page has gone down in recent times but the forums are as colourful as ever.

Rumors is just a part of what this site is. It's a tech site that is Apple focused. And it's been that way for a long time now. As far as I see a review of a product is not a conflict interest so why mention it to begin with.

I personally don't read or comment on anything that doesn't interest me. More people should try that as it works remarkably well and allows one to focus on things that they are interested in. Maybe then we'll get less asinine comments like the one I originally replied to.

As for the MOS Kick...it's definitely something that's going to find a spot in my camera bag. It's a very nice little tool to have. I never heard of these guys before but looks like I'll be ordering a few of their products.
Score: 6 Votes (Like | Disagree)
canman4PM Avatar
91 months ago
I, for one, like the reviews. As one poster noted earlier, it gives info and insight on products I may (or may not) find useful. Please keep it up. After all, as another poster noted, we only have to read the stuff that interests us. This one interested me while others may not. My choice. I like choice.

As for the poster complaining about Macrumors usually posting rumours by others, and implying they're last to hear anything; that doesn't bother me at all. Who really needs to know the latest rumour 5 seconds after its posted? I don't. The same day will do. I get all the info I want, without having to follow 15 different sites. Macrumors can follow those sites for me. I have better things to do.
Score: 4 Votes (Like | Disagree)

Popular Stories

apple ar headset concept 1

Apple's Headset Said to Feature 14 Cameras Enabling Lifelike Avatars, Jony Ive Has Remained Involved With Design

Friday May 20, 2022 6:50 am PDT by
Earlier this week, The Information's Wayne Ma outlined struggles that Apple has faced during the development of its long-rumored AR/VR headset. Now, in a follow-up report, he has shared several additional details about the wearable device. Apple headset render created by Ian Zelbo based on The Information reporting For starters, one of the headset's marquee features is said to be lifelike...
iPhone 14 Purple Lineup Feature

Will the iPhone 14 Be a Disappointment?

Saturday May 21, 2022 9:00 am PDT by
With around four months to go before Apple is expected to unveil the iPhone 14 lineup, the overwhelming majority of rumors related to the new devices so far have focused on the iPhone 14 Pro, rather than the standard iPhone 14 – leading to questions about how different the iPhone 14 will actually be from its predecessor, the iPhone 13. The iPhone 14 Pro and iPhone 14 Pro Max are expected...
sony headphones 1

Sony's New WH-1000XM5 Headphones vs. Apple's AirPods Max

Friday May 20, 2022 12:18 pm PDT by
Sony this week came out with an updated version of its popular over-ear noise canceling headphones, so we picked up a pair to compare them to the AirPods Max to see which headphones are better and whether it's worth buying the $400 WH-1000XM5 from Sony over Apple's $549 AirPods Max. Subscribe to the MacRumors YouTube channel for more videos. First of all, the AirPods Max win out when it comes ...
studio display 3

Apple's Rumored 27-Inch Mini-LED Display Now Said to Launch in October

Friday May 20, 2022 8:07 am PDT by
Apple now plans to release a new 27-inch display with mini-LED backlighting in October due to the Shanghai lockdown, which has resulted in production of the display being delayed, according to display industry consultant Ross Young. In a tweet, Young said Apple is in the process of moving production of the display from Quanta Computer to a different supplier and/or location, resulting in a...
HomePodandMini feature green

Kuo: Apple to Release New HomePod in Late 2022 or Early 2023

Friday May 20, 2022 8:55 am PDT by
Apple is working on an updated version of the HomePod that could come in the fourth quarter of 2022 or the first quarter of 2023, according to Apple analyst Ming-Chi Kuo. Kuo says that there "may not be much innovation in hardware design" for the new HomePod, and there is no word on what size the device will be and if it will be a HomePod mini successor or a larger speaker. Apple would ...
airtag purple

Best Apple Deals of the Week: Save on AirTag, AirPods 3, and iPads

Friday May 20, 2022 8:01 am PDT by
Solid markdowns on the AirTag, AirPods 3, and a few iPad models were introduced this week, and below you'll find all of the best deals of the past few days that are still available to purchase. AirTag Note: MacRumors is an affiliate partner with some of these vendors. When you click a link and make a purchase, we may receive a small payment, which helps us keep the site running. What's the...