Video Review: The MOS Kick is a Versatile Stand for Your iPhone

There are dozens if not hundreds of iPhone stands on the market, but every once in awhile, there's one that sets itself apart with a unique form or a rich set of features. The MOS Kick falls into the latter category, offering a stand, screwdriver, bottle opener and tripod connector in a portable package.

Developed by the MOS team that's created several other popular products like the MOS Reach power outlet and the MOS cable organizer, the MOS Kick is made from metal so it can withstand being carried on a backpack or in a pocket.


We went hands-on with a prototype (hence the small bit of rust) of the MOS Kick and found it to be a convenient stand. It works with any smartphone because it includes adjustable silicone pads that hold a device in place. It's able to mount on a tripod with its 1/4" threaded hole, and it has a couple little tools for when you're in a pinch -- a bottle opener and a flat head screwdriver.

Since it's all metal, it's heavy enough to hold an iPhone up on any surface, and when attached to something like a GorillaPod, it's usable in a wide range of situations. On the downside, the MOS Kick is priced a bit high, but it's a handy way to take advantage of some of the iPhone's camera features that require the phone to be still, like time-lapse.

The MOS Kick can be purchased from the MOS website for $24.95.



Top Rated Comments

(View all)
Avatar
56 months ago

Will MacRumors divulge how much money they're making on these ads disguised as reviews?


Zero. $0. Not any. None. We receive zero money from reviews. This is a review, not an "ad disguised as a review." We don't do paid posts on MacRumors. Period.
Rating: 18 Votes
Avatar
56 months ago

Will MacRumors divulge how much money they're making on these ads disguised as reviews?


I don't understand why people like you continually question Macrumors' integrity. When I see a review article the last thing I think of "Oh this must be a paid for ad". I actually appreciate when they do publish reviews. It helps me make a better educated decision. Or at the very least do some more research on a product that I otherwise may not have even know existed.

Maybe you should find a different rumors site where everyone just sings kumbaya and praises Apple like a God and only publishes glowing reviews of Apple products.:rolleyes:
Rating: 10 Votes
Avatar
55 months ago

Maybe they make money from affiliate links? Who knows, there has to be some type of motivation behind these, the increase in reviews and stupid how to posts have been a recent phenomenon.

----------



Regardless, any conflict of interest should be declared up front to avoid any bias in information.

It's a rumours site right? Now it's a review and how to site. Lolz. I think the front page has gone down in recent times but the forums are as colourful as ever.


How tos and reviews are relatively new, yes, but the only motivation is providing more content that a wider range of people might find useful to attract new readers. We do disclose when posts have affiliate links (see our Buyer's Guide posts).

Our front page content hasn't changed (reviews and how tos only go on the iOS/Mac blogs).
Rating: 8 Votes
Avatar
55 months ago

Maybe they make money from affiliate links? Who knows, there has to be some type of motivation behind these, the increase in reviews and stupid how to posts have been a recent phenomenon.

----------



Regardless, any conflict of interest should be declared up front to avoid any bias in information.

It's a rumours site right? Now it's a review and how to site. Lolz. I think the front page has gone down in recent times but the forums are as colourful as ever.


Rumors is just a part of what this site is. It's a tech site that is Apple focused. And it's been that way for a long time now. As far as I see a review of a product is not a conflict interest so why mention it to begin with.

I personally don't read or comment on anything that doesn't interest me. More people should try that as it works remarkably well and allows one to focus on things that they are interested in. Maybe then we'll get less asinine comments like the one I originally replied to.

As for the MOS Kick...it's definitely something that's going to find a spot in my camera bag. It's a very nice little tool to have. I never heard of these guys before but looks like I'll be ordering a few of their products.
Rating: 6 Votes
Avatar
55 months ago

It's a sign that readership has decreased with more and more similar websites popping up that have fresher layouts and earlier information (note how a lot of the front-page items are regurgitations of rumors already reported elsewhere or articles about other people's articles).

I've seen others complaining about how-to articles about the simplest things (the type of stuff that people visiting rumor/fan sites would already know). Also, watch for more moderators' warnings now that you said something negative about the site :) .


Rule of thumb:

If you don't like a type of post, don't read it. If MR started posting reviews of left handed banjo tuners, I would not read those reviews. This would not diminish my enjoyment of their right handed banjo tuner reviews.
Rating: 6 Votes
Avatar
55 months ago
I, for one, like the reviews. As one poster noted earlier, it gives info and insight on products I may (or may not) find useful. Please keep it up. After all, as another poster noted, we only have to read the stuff that interests us. This one interested me while others may not. My choice. I like choice.

As for the poster complaining about Macrumors usually posting rumours by others, and implying they're last to hear anything; that doesn't bother me at all. Who really needs to know the latest rumour 5 seconds after its posted? I don't. The same day will do. I get all the info I want, without having to follow 15 different sites. Macrumors can follow those sites for me. I have better things to do.
Rating: 4 Votes
Avatar
55 months ago
This thing is actually pretty cool though I'm unsure about 25$, it would be an insta buy if it was 15$
Rating: 1 Votes
Avatar
55 months ago
$25 is expensive?? For a solid metal multipurpose stand that works with any iPhone? Seems cheap to me...

On the other hand, how tight do you have to screw it to get a good grip, what are the chances of it sliding out, and what are the chances of some idiot tightening it too much and doing some damage?
Rating: 1 Votes
Avatar
55 months ago
Seems like a solid product, I'd definitely be interested in that. Now if only MacRumors would recommend an Ambidextrous Banjo Tuner to fulfill all my needs.
Rating: 1 Votes
Avatar
55 months ago

Maybe they make money from affiliate links? Who knows, there has to be some type of motivation behind these, the increase in reviews and stupid how to posts have been a recent phenomenon.

----------



Regardless, any conflict of interest should be declared up front to avoid any bias in information.

It's a rumours site right? Now it's a review and how to site. Lolz. I think the front page has gone down in recent times but the forums are as colourful as ever.


It's a sign that readership has decreased with more and more similar websites popping up that have fresher layouts and earlier information (note how a lot of the front-page items are regurgitations of rumors already reported elsewhere or articles about other people's articles).

I've seen others complaining about how-to articles about the simplest things (the type of stuff that people visiting rumor/fan sites would already know). Also, watch for more moderators' warnings now that you said something negative about the site :) .
Rating: 1 Votes
[ Read All Comments ]