Got a tip for us? Share it...

iTunes Russia Claims Fake?

CNews.ru had reported that the domains imacintosh.ru and itunes-store.ru displayed "iTunes Store Russia 21.04.2008".

The sites have now been updated with the following (ambitious) information:

iTunes Store Russia Blog - 21.04.2008 (unofficial)
iPhone 3G - 09.06.2008
iTunes 8 - 06.10.2008
iTunes Store Russia - 05.01.2009
iPhone Russia - 11.06.2009

The problem is that the registration of the site belongs to "applerusupport@gmail.com", making it likely to simply be a unaffiliated ("hoax") registration, rather than an arm of Apple or Apple's Russian distributor.

Top Rated Comments

(View all)

50 months ago
Sorry Russia. Maybe you'll get it soon.
Rating: 0 Positives / 0 Negatives
50 months ago
Imacintosh.ru? Itunes-store.ru? It looked suspicious from the very beginning, those weird domain names.

Anyway, what about iTunes Store Poland? Or just iTunes Store EU? ;)
Rating: 0 Positives / 0 Negatives
50 months ago
Any site that comes up.ru keep away from at all costs. They all look highly dodgy. Probaly All Of MP3 in disguise (the site which charges you to buy pirated music!)
Rating: 0 Positives / 0 Negatives
50 months ago
That thing looked totally bogus from the very beginning. It was using the "Welcome to 2007" graphic. Do you really think Apple would rehash a marketing image from over a year ago?
Rating: 0 Positives / 0 Negatives
50 months ago
In Russia iTunes Stores you.
Rating: 0 Positives / 0 Negatives
50 months ago
Interesting: now both imacintosh.ru and itunes-store.ru redirect to http://www.apple.com/ru/itunes/... :confused:
Rating: 0 Positives / 0 Negatives
50 months ago

Probaly All Of MP3 in disguise (the site which charges you to buy pirated music!)

Piracy is defined by each nation's laws. All Of MP3 wasn't piracy under Russian law. The government position has been changing on this recently, but it's not clear that the law has.

Interesting: now both imacintosh.ru and itunes-store.ru redirect to http://www.apple.com/ru/itunes/... :confused:

This is certainly starting to sound amateur. The gmail address tells me all I need to know. I take this current redirect as an attempt to regain some legitimacy.
Rating: 0 Positives / 0 Negatives
50 months ago
http://icondom.ru/ :D :eek:

And a Russian version of MacRumors. Well, sort of: http://appleinsider.ru/
Rating: 0 Positives / 0 Negatives
50 months ago
Probably cybersquatting. Doesn't look as if it paid off, judging from the redirects.
Rating: 0 Positives / 0 Negatives
50 months ago

http://icondom.ru/ :D :eek:

And a Russian version of MacRumors. Well, sort of: http://appleinsider.ru/

Um... Having visited the site, I now find myself wondering what this line means in the lower right corner: "virus by welcometoad"
Rating: 0 Positives / 0 Negatives

[ Read All Comments ]