Case Logic Video Review: Hands-On With the Ibira MacBook Backpack

Case Logic is known its line of backpacks, cases, and other storage accessories, all of which are priced affordably, making it quite popular with people looking for inexpensive but quality solutions for carrying around their devices.

We met up with Case Logic at CES this year, where the company had a large booth showcasing all of its products, including the Ibira backpack, one of its newest offerings. We went hands-on with the Ibira backpack in our latest video review, so check it out to see what we thought.


The Ibira is a lightweight, slim backpack but we were impressed with what it was able to hold. We fit in a MacBook, an iPad, an Apple keyboard, an iPhone, several chargers and accessories, a water bottle, and several notebooks. Build wise, the backpack is made of a high quality material that feels like it will stand up to heavy usage, but the straps were a bit too thin and could use more padding to be comfortable.

Case Logic's Ibira Backpack is available in black and anthracite from the Case Logic website for $29.99.



Top Rated Comments

(View all)
Avatar
54 months ago
its a book bag.................. There's nothing unique about it. I could go to Marshalls and find a dozen of these for 15 bucks.
Rating: 8 Votes
Avatar
54 months ago

Did you watch the video? It can hold a MacBook & an iPad, I've never seen a bag that can do that before...


i hope you are joking.
Rating: 8 Votes
Avatar
54 months ago
This 'review' is basically an advertisement for a cheap, unimpressive backpack...why would MacRumors post this?
Rating: 5 Votes
Avatar
54 months ago
"Feels like it will repel water relatively well."

Does it repel water or not?
Rating: 4 Votes
Avatar
54 months ago

its a book bag.................. There's nothing unique about it. I could go to Marshalls and find a dozen of these for 15 bucks.


Did you watch the video? It can hold a MacBook & an iPad, I've never seen a bag that can do that before...
Rating: 3 Votes
Avatar
54 months ago

It's an article for nerds by nerds. The laptop iPad and keyboard are all easy for us to picture so we can get a feeling of size. It doesn't recommend you carry that equipment, it's an example of how much you can get in the bag.


And if it was included in the buyers guide these posts would be a nice new addition to MacRumors. They are just thrown onto page two, of which it doesn't really belong. That is were I have a problem with this. Now, lets say in a month I want to find a new pack. What do I do with this? It wasn't posted where I expected it to be. It doesn't compare to other similar product, and it has no easily referenced text, beyond the name of the pack, to search for it later.

If MacRumors wants to start doing product reviews I totally support it, as I think it adds value to the site. I would even go so far as to say that these ad-icles are still useful for making a purchase, but they have to do more than make a youtube video.

Here are my suggestions MR:
1. Make a new section called Product Reviews, or add a subsection to the buyers guide.

2. Include a transcript of the video to make it easier to search.

3. Don't give away or return the product, but rather keep it and use it to regularly update the review. For example, if a new MacBook comes out, update the review of this pack to let people know how the new device fits in it. While it would be nice to have you update every review for every new product released, at least do so for Apple branded products.

4. Don't post a review and then leave it to die, but keep adding to it. Compare it to other similar products that are newer, or to newer models by the same company.

5. Do some actual investigative reviewing. Don't tell us it *seems* water resistant. Put a water detector in each pocket (http://www.mn-net.com/tabid/10460/default.aspx) and spray it with a hose, or submerge it in the sink to see how it stands up to various levels of abuse.

6. Be forthright and honest about how you heard of and acquired the product. Did they send it to you to review? Tell us. Did Amazon simply recommend it to you? Do you know someone who bought it?

7. If companies really want you to review their product ask them to send you a coupon to buy one from a retailer. That way the you can verify that the model you tested is exactly the same as the one your readers would purchase.

8. Clearly mark the copy that the company sends as well as your review. There should always be copy, even if it is simply the marketing written on the box, or tag.

9. Set a standard time scale for re-reviews. That way we know if your advice is based on first impressions, or actual use.

10. If you're going to team up with Amazon as a way to make additional revenue, I encourage you to take advantage of the verified purchase tag they include with their reviews. Let MacRumors users tag their review on Amazon with something like "MacRumors Reviewed", and then update the review on MacRumors with "verified reader feedback".
Rating: 3 Votes
Avatar
54 months ago
Why would anyone want to carry a keyboard and a note book at the same time with a laptop which has built in keyboard and can type note?

If I carry that much stuff, I got to rethink the way I work!
Rating: 3 Votes
Avatar
54 months ago
"Can hold pretty much anything"

Cool, which pocket can I store my horse in?:p
Rating: 2 Votes
Avatar
54 months ago

Did you watch the video? It can hold a MacBook & an iPad, I've never seen a bag that can do that before...


I have an under armor book bag and a cheap book bag each of which can hold my MacBook air, my iPad, three books, and a box of cereal. Most book bags can do that. It's just a book bag man. Don't fall for the hype. Just because they label it a computer bag and not a book bag does not mean it's not a book bag.
Rating: 2 Votes
Avatar
54 months ago

"Feels like it will repel water relatively well."

Does it repel water or not?


Seconded.

I have a north face backpack which costs about 4 times as much. I've had it for a few years and it shows no signs of wearing down. It's nylon so it's actually waterproof. Well worth the money.

If I'm carrying $3000 of equipment I need to know if it's completely waterproof. I don't need to save $80 on a cheap bag if I get caught in the rain and my stuff gets ruined
Rating: 2 Votes
[ Read All Comments ]