Netflix is Finally Letting You Turn Off Those Annoying Autoplay Previews - MacRumors
Skip to Content

Netflix is Finally Letting You Turn Off Those Annoying Autoplay Previews

by

Netflix today announced the launch of a new toggle that will let Netflix users turn off autoplay previews, which has been a controversial Netflix feature for years now.

When browsing through Netflix, the service is designed to play previews of the content that you stop on, which usually includes a trailer. Until today, Netflix has offered no option to turn these previews off.

netflixautoplay
As of now, though, you can disable them by opening up Netflix, selecting your profile, selecting Playback Settings and toggling off "Autoplay previews while browsing on all devices."


Changing the setting will prevent content from playing while you swap through different shows and movies. The setting will need to be enabled on a per-profile basis as it is not account wide.

Tag: Netflix

Top Rated Comments

twistedpixel8 Avatar
86 months ago

Now where is my god damn „already watched“ button
I’d also like a button for “I started watching but it was ****. Stop bugging me to finish watching it.”
Score: 12 Votes (Like | Disagree)
MisterSavage Avatar
86 months ago
I couldn't turn this feature off fast enough when I heard about this.
Score: 7 Votes (Like | Disagree)
itsmilo Avatar
86 months ago
Now where is my god damn „already watched“ button
Score: 6 Votes (Like | Disagree)
iBreatheApple Avatar
86 months ago
I actually prefer this and for years I wished content had trailers. Conversely, I hate it when clicking on a show for the first time auto starts the first episode.
Score: 5 Votes (Like | Disagree)
randolorian Avatar
86 months ago
This was so annoying that I found myself avoiding Netflix. Maybe I won't cancel now. ;-)
Score: 5 Votes (Like | Disagree)
MisterSavage Avatar
86 months ago

I’d also like a button for “I started watching but it was ****. Stop bugging me to finish watching it.”
I literally just finished looking up how to do this. You have to do it from a web browser. Go into the menu, select "viewing activity", and then hit the circle with a line through it next to the item you don't care about. They say within 24 hours they'll stop suggesting you finish watching it.
Score: 4 Votes (Like | Disagree)

Popular Stories

iPhone Handoff Feature

iOS 27 Introduces New 'iPhone Handoff' Feature

Wednesday September 2, 2026 12:35 pm PDT by
Apple has added a new "iPhone Handoff" feature to iOS 27 that will allow you to switch between two iPhones while using the same phone number on each device. This functionality was briefly mentioned during the WWDC 2026 keynote in June, on a slide that listed hundreds of new features coming in iOS 27 and corresponding software updates, but Apple never shared any further details at the time. ...
Apple Watch Ultra 2 Black Titanium

New Apple Watch Series 12 and Apple Watch Ultra 4 Features Revealed

Sunday August 30, 2026 7:54 am PDT by
Bloomberg's Mark Gurman today further outlined what to expect from the Apple Watch Series 12 and Apple Watch Ultra 4 set to be unveiled on September 9. While it was initially rumored that Touch ID may be coming to the Apple Watch this year, Gurman reiterated that he does not expect the Series 12 or Ultra 4 to have any major design changes compared to the current Series 11 and Ultra 3 models. ...
John Ternus and Rainbow Countour Apple Logo

Apple Just Made a Very Controversial Decision on New CEO's First Day

Wednesday September 2, 2026 6:31 am PDT by
Apple's former hardware engineering chief John Ternus became its CEO on Tuesday, and the company made a controversial decision on his very first day in charge. As of Tuesday, Apple Maps users in the U.S. see the name "Lake America" instead of Lake Ontario for the Great Lake that straddles the New York—Ontario border. Apple made this change after the U.S. Geographic Names Information...