Apple Expanding 10-Minute 'Everyone' AirDrop Limit to All Users With iOS 16.2 - MacRumors
Skip to Content

Apple Expanding 10-Minute 'Everyone' AirDrop Limit to All Users With iOS 16.2

With the launch of iOS 16.2, Apple is expanding an AirDrop limitation that was introduced in China with the launch of iOS 16.1.1. Going forward, AirDrop will be primarily restricted to Contacts Only, and the option to turn on AirDrop for "Everyone" will be limited to 10 minutes.

AirDrop Everyone For 10 Minutes
Right now, AirDrop has three options: "Receiving Off," "Contacts Only," and "Everyone." The current "Everyone" option allows users to receive files and photos from all other iPhone users that are in close proximity using AirDrop, but in iOS 16.2, it is changing to "Everyone for 10 Minutes."

With the change, "Everyone" can still be enabled to allow users to receive content from anyone, but it will switch off after a 10 minute period, reverting to "Contacts Only." The tweak will require users to explicitly activate AirDrop to receive files and photos from strangers.

Apple allegedly made this change in China in the iOS 16.1.1 update after protestors in the country used AirDrop to spread anti-government material. Apple said that the feature was actually introduced in an effort to cut down on spam content spread in crowded areas like malls and airports.

Note: Due to the political or social nature of the discussion regarding this topic, the discussion thread is located in our Political News forum. All forum members and site visitors are welcome to read and follow the thread, but posting is limited to forum members with at least 100 posts.

Tag: AirDrop
Related Forum: iOS 16

Popular Stories

Apple Event Logo

Apple Unveiled Four New Products Today

Tuesday August 25, 2026 8:39 am PDT by
Apple today unveiled a new Mac mini with M6 and M5 Pro chip options, a new Mac Studio with M5 Max and M5 Ultra chip options, a new version of the Polishing Cloth with a lower price, and updated Magic Keyboards for Macs. To learn more about these products, read our coverage below: Apple Announces New Mac Mini With M6 and M5 Pro Chips and More Apple Unveils New Mac Studio With M5 Max and M5...
apple magic keyboard with glyphs 2026 refresh

Apple Quietly Refreshes Magic Keyboards

Tuesday August 25, 2026 7:22 am PDT by
Apple today quietly introduced updated Magic Keyboard models with revised U.S. English key labeling. On the new keyboards, the tab, caps lock, shift, return, and delete keycaps are labeled with glyphs rather than edge text. On the full-size models with a numeric keypad, the change goes further, with the home, page up, page down, end, clear, and enter keys also swapping their text labels for...
iPhone 18 Pro Dark Cherry Feature

iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone Ultra: When Will Apple Event Be Announced?

Monday August 24, 2026 6:45 am PDT by
It is now late August, meaning that Apple's annual iPhone event is just around the corner. Below, we take a look at when the event might be held this year. This September, Apple is expected to unveil the iPhone 18 Pro, iPhone 18 Pro Max, and an all-new foldable iPhone that will reportedly be named the iPhone Ultra. The regular iPhone 18, a lower-end iPhone 18e, and the iPhone Air 2 are not...

Top Rated Comments

49 months ago
I guess it worked so well for suppression in China, they're gonna expand it to the world.

Otherwise, why not leave the option for "everyone" like it's been since the beginning.

You can always add the time limit as an "option".
Score: 45 Votes (Like | Disagree)
appleguy123 Avatar
49 months ago
I prefer to leave mine on for convenience. I’ve never had anything bad happen ever. Annoying that this convenient feature is being taken away.
Score: 35 Votes (Like | Disagree)
49 months ago
this is so annoying . why not leave an always on option ? typical apple
Score: 34 Votes (Like | Disagree)
49 months ago

People would set it to everyone then, complain and sue Apple when they receive porn,graphic images and spam
i get that . still annoying, for me at least. having to enable it everytime i want a student to send me a file is annoying
Score: 14 Votes (Like | Disagree)
supremedesigner Avatar
49 months ago
This 10 minutes limitation is dumb. How about:

* Off
* Contact Only
* 10 Minutes Only
* Forever

It worked so well for suppression in China so they're gonna expand it globally.



Attachment Image
Score: 12 Votes (Like | Disagree)
49 months ago
Ok? What if I want it set to Everyone all the time? Don't remove the option, just add a 4th option for Everyone for 10 minutes. It's not like you can only allow 3 options, Apple.
Score: 8 Votes (Like | Disagree)