iOS 26: Enable Sensitive Content Warnings for FaceTime - MacRumors
Skip to Content

iOS 26: Enable Sensitive Content Warnings for FaceTime

by

In iOS 26, Apple has extended its Sensitive Content Warning protection to FaceTime video calls. Previously the feature only worked in Contacts, Messages, AirDrop, and shared photo albums. When the feature's enabled, your iPhone uses on-device machine learning to detect nudity during live FaceTime calls and pauses the video feed before displaying potentially sensitive content.

ios 26 facetime sensitive content
The way it works in FaceTime is different to other apps. Rather than simply blurring an image, FaceTime freezes both audio and video when nudity is detected, giving you the option to resume or end the call. All processing happens locally on your device, so Apple never receives indication that nudity was detected and doesn't access your video.

Enabling Sensitive Content Warning for FaceTime

By default, Sensitive Content Warning is turned off for adult accounts. Here's how to enable it:

  1. Open the Settings app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap Privacy & Security.
  3. Scroll down and tap Sensitive Content Warning.
  4. Toggle on Sensitive Content Warning at the top.

ios sensitive content warning facetime

Once you've done that, scroll down to the "App & Service Access" section and make sure the toggle next to FaceTime is turned on. In iOS 26, this replaces the previous "Video Messages" option from earlier iOS versions.

How the Feature Works

When Sensitive Content Warning detects nudity during a FaceTime call, the app immediately pauses both audio and video. You'll then see a warning message and a suggestion to end the call if you're uncomfortable.

From this screen, you can choose to Resume Audio and Video or End Call. The warning only appears the first time nudity is detected during a call – if you choose to continue, you won't receive further warnings during that session.

Communication Safety for Children

For child accounts under 18, Communication Safety provides similar protection but is managed through Screen Time. Parents can enable this in Settings ➝ Screen Time ➝ Communication Safety, where it cannot be disabled without parental permission.

Popular Stories

iPhone Handoff Feature

iOS 27 Introduces New 'iPhone Handoff' Feature

Wednesday September 2, 2026 12:35 pm PDT by
Apple has added a new "iPhone Handoff" feature to iOS 27 that will allow you to switch between two iPhones while using the same phone number on each device. This functionality was briefly mentioned during the WWDC 2026 keynote in June, on a slide that listed hundreds of new features coming in iOS 27 and corresponding software updates, but Apple never shared any further details at the time. ...
Dynamic Island iPhone 18 Pro Feature

iPhone 18 Pro Prices Estimated Ahead of Apple Event Next Week

Thursday September 3, 2026 3:41 am PDT by
Less than a week before Apple debuts new iPhone 18 Pro models, research firm TrendForce has estimated the prices of the devices based on the latest hardware cost environment. TrendForce's price estimates compared to last year's models look like this: Model Starting Price Model Starting Price Change iPhone 17 Pro $1,099 iPhone 18 Pro $...
Apple Foldable Thumb

iPhone Ultra's Very High Price and Features Revealed in New Report

Thursday September 3, 2026 7:33 am PDT by
Ahead of Apple's event on Wednesday, September 9, where it is expected to unveil its first-ever foldable iPhone, Taiwanese research firm TrendForce today outlined the device's estimated price range, features, and some other key details. In the U.S., TrendForce estimated that the foldable iPhone will have a starting price of $2,099 to $2,299 and said the highest-end configurations could...