How to Turn Off 'Shared With You' on Mac - MacRumors
Skip to Content

How to Turn Off 'Shared With You' on Mac

by

In macOS Monterey, Apple introduced a feature called Shared with You that takes content you've received in Messages and makes it available in the relevant app on your Mac. So when a friend shares content with you, such as a link to a news story or TV show, that content will show up in a dedicated Shared with You section in the corresponding app.

monterey shared with you
If you don't want content that's been shared with you in Messages appearing elsewhere on your Mac, you can disable Shared with You completely. Alternatively, you can turn it off for specific message conversations, or you can disable it just for specific apps. Keep reading to learn how.

How to Disable Shared With You for a Messages Thread

You may want to prevent content shared by a particular person in Messages from appearing in other apps, in which case you can turn it off for individual conversations. Here's how.

  1. In the Messages app, select a conversation thread.
  2. Click the info (the circled "i") button in the top-right corner of the Messages window.
  3. Click to uncheck the box next to Show in Shared With You.
    messages

How to Hide Shared With You in a Specific App

If you don't want Shared with You content to appear in a certain app, you can disable it for just that app. For example, you may not want webpage links shared with you in Messages appearing in Safari. Here's how to control Shared with You for particular apps on your Mac.

  1. In the Messages app, click Messages -> Preferences... in the menu bar.
    messages

  2. Select the Shared with You preference tab.
  3. Click to uncheck the box next to the app that you want to turn off Shared With You content for.
    messages

Tip: If it's Safari you don't want shared content to appear in, you can actually turn it off in Safari. Open a new Safari tab to view your Start Page, then click the customize button in the bottom-right corner of the window and uncheck the box next to Shared with You.
safari

How to Disable Shared With You Completely

  1. In the Messages app, click Messages -> Preferences... in the menu bar.
    messages

  2. Select the Shared with You preference tab.
  3. Click the Turn Off... button to disable the feature for all content and apps.
    messages

Did you know Shared with You is also a feature of iOS 15? Check out our Messages guide for all the details.

Related Forum: macOS Monterey

Popular Stories

iPhone 18 Pro Dark Cherry Feature

iPhone 18 Pro Reportedly Starts With 256GB of Storage

Thursday September 3, 2026 9:22 am PDT by
While the iPhone 17 Pro has double the base storage compared to the iPhone 16 Pro, there will apparently be no further increase this year. Taiwanese research firm TrendForce today again reported that the iPhone 18 Pro models will start with 256GB of storage, like the iPhone 17 Pro models. Minimum storage capacities by model:iPhone 16 Pro: 128GB iPhone 17 Pro: 256GB iPhone 18 Pro...
Dynamic Island iPhone 18 Pro Feature

iPhone 18 Pro Prices Estimated Ahead of Apple Event Next Week

Thursday September 3, 2026 3:41 am PDT by
Less than a week before Apple debuts new iPhone 18 Pro models, research firm TrendForce has estimated the prices of the devices based on the latest hardware cost environment. TrendForce's price estimates compared to last year's models look like this: Model Starting Price Model Starting Price Change iPhone 17 Pro $1,099 iPhone 18 Pro $...
iPhone Handoff Feature

iOS 27 Introduces New 'iPhone Handoff' Feature

Wednesday September 2, 2026 12:35 pm PDT by
Apple has added a new "iPhone Handoff" feature to iOS 27 that will allow you to switch between two iPhones while using the same phone number on each device. This functionality was briefly mentioned during the WWDC 2026 keynote in June, on a slide that listed hundreds of new features coming in iOS 27 and corresponding software updates, but Apple never shared any further details at the time. ...