Uber to Pull Feature Allowing Riders to Be Tracked for Five Minutes After a Trip
Aug 29, 2017 12:43 am PDT by Juli Clover
In an effort to better protect user privacy and improve its image, Uber has decided to remove a background GPS tracking feature that allows riders to be tracked for up to five minutes after a ride ends, reports Reuters.

Uber is expected to announce the privacy change starting on Tuesday, with the update expected to roll out to iPhone users this week. The same update will be made to Android devices in the future.


The feature, which was first introduced in late 2016, has garnered a lot of criticism from Uber users. When location tracking is enabled for the Uber app (and location services is required for the app to properly function) Uber is able to collect location data from the time of a trip request through five minutes after the trip ends, even when the app is in the background.

Uber says it planned to use the extra location data to improve pickups, drop-offs, customer service, and to enhance customer service, but the company claims the post-trip tracking feature was never actually turned on for iPhone users.

In an interview with Reuters, Uber chief security officer Joe Sullivan said the update is unrelated to recent internal turmoil within the company, which saw Uber CEO Travis Kalanick ousted from the company.
"We've been building through the turmoil and challenges because we already had our mandate," said Sullivan, who is a member of the executive leadership team that has been co-running Uber since Kalanick left in June.
Sullivan went on to say that the company should not have asked Uber users for more information without providing details on the value of the feature. Should Uber re-enable the feature in the future, he says the company will let customers opt in and better explain why the feature is useful.

According to Sullivan, Uber is committed to user privacy, but has suffered from a "lack of expertise." Additional changes to improve privacy, security, and transparency at Uber are said to be in the works and coming in future updates.

Tag: Uber

Top Rated Comments

(View all)

25 weeks ago
Isn't this just Uber trying to get ahead of the fact that IOS 11 will force apps to accept the option of location availability only while in use?

Smells like pure opportunistic PR to me.
Rating: 19 Votes
25 weeks ago
Boooo! You try to make it look like you're doing the right thing but the new iOS will give the user the ability to stop this!

With iOS 11 Uber doesn't get to make that decision. The new location services forces this by allowing the user to decide if the App can track your location after you exit the App.
Rating: 7 Votes
25 weeks ago
I see no use "to improve pickups, drop-offs, customer service, and to enhance customer service" for 5 minutes after you've paid and left.
Rating: 3 Votes
25 weeks ago
Kinda late now since many people dumped Uber and switched to alternatives like Lyft when this "feature" was first announced.
Still, I guess it's better late than never though...
Rating: 2 Votes
25 weeks ago
Too little too late. They have all the info now so anytime you go somewhere they know what building you are going in. Nosey b'stards!
Rating: 2 Votes
25 weeks ago
The only thing that Uber wants to protect is their bottom line - they don’t care about drivers or customers as long as the maximize their own profits
Rating: 2 Votes
25 weeks ago
I completely stopped using Uber because of their business practices.
Lyft every time and exactly the same ride service.
Rating: 2 Votes
25 weeks ago

Isn't this just Uber trying to get ahead of the fact that IOS 11 will force apps to accept the option of location availability only while in use?

Smells like pure opportunistic PR to me.

Absolutely Spot-On
Uber turned all the initial goodwill into bad-will with that one **ck move!
Rating: 2 Votes

[ Read All Comments ]
Newer Article Older Article